We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blu d'aMare

Save Saved
You added Blu d'aMare to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blu d'aMare
lungomare, West Nusa Tenggara 006285888, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 92 Gili Trawangan B&B and Inns
NYC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I decided to stay at Blu d'aMare because of all of the great reviews here, and I was not disappointed. Everything that reviewers have said about Sandra and her family being warm and welcoming is very true. They were always kind and helpful, and it really felt like I was in their home instead of an impersonal hotel or guest house. Contrary to what some people expressed in previous reviews, I found everyone on staff to be nice and did not encounter any rudeness. The cottages are basic but spacious, lovely and very clean. The bread that they bake daily is simple but to die for! I must have eaten six loaves of it on my own! I ate at the restaurant as well and really enjoyed it.

The beach directly in front (reserved for guests of Blu d'aMare) has incredible snorkeling! I saw a variety of brightly colored fish and turtles during each of the three days that I went snorkeling. You can a snorkel and fins right next door, and also a bike. There is an excellent dive shop called Mango right next door as well and there is also a shop where you can buy water, snacks and other items. It was nice to be located within a 10-15 minute walk from the main busy area of the island but still in an area that is not isolated (as it is surrounded by other b&b's and restaurants).

I can't really understand the negative comments about this place considering that it's a mid-range option and NOT a luxury or high end place. If you're looking for those kinds of amenities, then this is not the place for you. However, I often stay at pricey boutique and luxury hotels around the world and I was perfectly comfortable with my stay here. I would certainly return and recommend this place to family/friends!

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    85
    24
    3
    2
    4
See reviews for
14
62
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Good location, excellent service , tasty food , very helpful staff, clean and cosy bungalows ...
Everything is set to make us feel welcome and at ease .. So what's else !! Nothing to ask more !!

Loved it !! Special thanks to Abu ;)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in Bungalow nr. 4. After reading the positive reviews on TA we decided to book blu d'aMare for a few days. The bungalow is lovely and the location is perfect. The breakfast is ok but not so special. The lady who served the breakfast was very moody. On our first day she asked what we wanted for breakfast. We asked what choices they had. She just said 'same as every day'. Not so hospitable!! The days after she acted the same, seems she had some bad night's rests or so..
We also tried their restaurant for dinner, and again we were very disappointed. We both ordered the king prawns, and they were too well-done and dry.
All in all we were very disappointed in the service and food, so for us the proportion price/quality is very bad, not worth the money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a week at Blu d'amare and loved it. Host Sandra is incredibly warm and welcoming and was so nice when I got the dates wrong! The breakfast is delicious and (as Sandra rather charmingly puts it) 'very complete'. The restaurant has knock out Italian pastas for lunch and dinner, although we did need to make a reservation to get a table outside at dinner.
Our little hut (number 1) was very charming and the canopied bed was lovely. We made great use of the little balcony and had a very relaxing evening with a litre of the house vino tinto and our books. My only very slight reservation was you can't shut the bathroom door when you are in the bathroom, some kind of latch would be really helpful.
Great place, highly recommended!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regensburg
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

This place is just wonderful. The bungalow is amazing and with it the open air bathroom and the teracce with its comfortable couch.
The place is located less than 10min walk from the speedboat arrival. You dont need a cidomo its a nice walk. The bungalow itself is spacious with a big bed, mosquito net and all you need. They provide also water on arrival. The open air bathroom is lovely and also big. Everything is very clean and was cleaned wonderful every day. The teracce with the couch and the lovely little garden was my favourite place to sit for hours and read. The gardener is a young boy and he does a wonderful job, so the plants and flowers give the place a lovely touch. Breakfast is also wonderful and big! The beach and sunbeds is just reserved for hotelguests and this is great! I enjoyed my stay here so much and totally recommend it to you!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Blu d'aMare is situated towards the end of the main street of Gili T, away from the harbour and more party-focussed end of the island. It is a family run business with four antique and individually decorated rooms, a restaurant at the front and a private beach for guests only. Five seconds from the sea, you really could not wish for a more perfect setting. The emphasis here is on great service and high quality cooking with fresh ingredients. The breakfasts were gigantic (enough to see you through to supper we were told) with the banana pancakes a particular highlight. The coffee was the best we had anywhere in Bali. If you remember to reserve in advance you can dine on the beach in the evening, under the stars, the waves lapping the shore. We stayed here in Ramadan so Gili T was quieter than it usually is, which suited us perfectly. You can dine more cheaply on the island, but in our experience the quality and execution of the cooking was head and shoulders above everything else.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

The food was very delicious and extremely fresh. The buschetta and carpaccio is very tasty. We went there a few times and really enjoyed the good quality food. Unfortunately a reservation needs to be made mosty one day in advance.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Blu d'aMare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blu d'aMare

Address: lungomare, West Nusa Tenggara 006285888, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Gili Trawangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your holiday in original, unique accomodation antique javanese wooden house, with private garden and delicious real italian food. Direct on the beach. Italian management, in every room AC, fan, sweet and hot water on the bathroom. Mini bar,Safety box. Special honeymoon dinner on the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Blu d'aMare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blu d`Amare Hotel Gili Trawangan
Blu D'aMare Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blu d'aMare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.