We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kokomo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ko-Ko-Mo Resort

Save Saved
You added Ko-Ko-Mo Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ko-Ko-Mo Resort
South Beach, West Nusa Tenggara 83355, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 92 Gili Trawangan B&B and Inns
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
“Kokomo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I have just returned home from one of the amazing places. Kokomo on gili trawangan was superb from the moment our horse and cart arrived outside Kokomo. We where welcomed by a few of the friendliest staff. Within minutes of arriving we had been checked in to our villa. Words cannot describe the attention to detail. The villa was a 2 bedroom villa with its own private pool.Every detail of the villa was perfect. The swimming towels had been beautifully folded with the most stunning flowers wrapped on the sides of the towel. We where looked after by the most hospitable man Junaidi. Nothing was to much trouble for him. He booked us boat trips, golf trips and was truly amazing.
The resort has a first class restaurant where we ate almost every day. The desert was the best part of my day every day. I think the finest desert i have ever eaten was fallen chocolate cake. We could not fault any meal. Each meal looked like it was " fit for a king" A few nights a week the restaurant has a live singer who sings light music. She was amazing. The staff at the restaurant and resort always smiling and just unbelievable. We spent 5 days in paradise and we will definitely be back. Thanks Junaidi and your wonderful staff for making our 5 day vacation special.
Jonathan

Room Tip: We stayed in a villa called Cempaka
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    220
    48
    18
    5
    3
See reviews for
68
130
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Traveled with two other families to Gili T. It's quite a trek to get there: Lombok airport, 2 hr drive to south coast, and a boat trip to Gili, but it is worth it. Booked a one bedroom villa with plunge pool. The villa is enclosed by high walls that give you total privacy. The plunge pool was perfect for my daughter: cool, 2 sq meter and not too deep. The room is the only enclosed, A/C part. It has a door to a large outdoor bathroom - well appointed. The room opens up to the terrace via patio doors. The terrace has an eating area, a couple of comfy chairs and sideboard w mini fridge. This area is under the extended roof - so rain & sun protected. The rest of the enclosure had two deck chairs and greenery. A short 30 second walk to the private beachfront & restaurant area. Food was varied, a bit pricey, but delicious. The staff was lovely and helpful with requests.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Stayed in the 3 bedroom Villa Pingu for 3 nights, my husband and myself and our 3 older teenagers. What an amazing experience!! Gili Trawangan is so quaint and unusual, and extremely laid back, the minute you step off the boat you feel relaxed. Villa Pingu is beautiful - so light and white and open - and outdoors. The pool is lovely and cold, and the airconditioning in the bedrooms is a welcome break from the sometimes oppressive heat outside. The staff at Kokomo are fantastic and nothing was too much trouble. It rained some of the time we were there and because of the outdoor nature of the living area, the kitchen floor tiles got wet and slippery. After each rain shower, a smiling guy from housekeeping would appear with a mop and bucket to dry the floor. The restaurant/room service staff were also great, and delivered our breakfast promptly and always with a beaming smile to the gazebo in the garden of our villa. We ate at the Beachhouse Restaurant (seafood buffet) and that was fantastic. We hired bicycles and rode around the island - great fun. Overall we enjoyed every minute of our stay at Gili Trawangan (and Kokomo), the only negative being we couldn't stay longer!

Room Tip: Villa Pingu was the best - right on the beachfront with views of the sea from upstairs and downstair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stayed in the man 3 bedroom villa with huge pool. Shared with another family but still big enough with 4 bedrooms and upstairs downstairs.
Complete privacy and right on the beach side.
Food at the resort was very good and the staff catered to our kids many different needs with no problems.
Good location and right at the end of the main drag so not so crowded.
1 negative is the surfers beach bar next door which has random loud parties but they do warn you in advance.
Lots of other restaurants on the main drag to choose from and only a 5-10 min amble down the road.
All in all a very relaxing beach holiday with kids and family.
Gili T. can also be a hot spot for youngsters and those looking for good diving and experience.
Would recommend Manta Divers, very thorough yet relaxed in what they do, decent equipment and Dive boats and nice bunch of staff.

Room Tip: If you have 3 families with a kid or 2 each, then recommend getting the Villa Penyu, 4 bedrooms upst...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

I really wanted to love ko-ko-mo, but we were disappointed. We stayed for three nights in Villa Hijau. Upon arrival, the room looked nice but there were a few things that were disappointing:

- the jacuzzi (hijau has jacuzzi jets in the dipping pool) was broken. They were fixed the same day, but as one of the most expensive places on Gili T you would expect more.

- two times when we got the key to our room from reception the keys wouldn't work, so we had to wait for multiple people to be called to get the master keys to get into our room.

- the manager was constantly trying to upsell us and got irritated when we booked things on our own. His prices were ridiculous - 200,000 more for a snorkel trip than what you can get from local boats. And, when we had to take a car to the Lombok airport since the ferries were not running he tried to charge us 800,000 rupiah for a car, which is 4x the rate of a taxi. The nice female manager told us not to do that and take a taxi thankfully, but he was very pushy about it.

- there was construction every morning starting at 7:45 am, hammering and chainsaws from the building of the restaurant next door. Not the fault of ko-ko-mo, but it was not fun to wake up to that every morning. You could not have sat at the Villa all day to relax with that noise. If you are thinking of staying here ask about the construction and if it is still ongoing.

- we were on a return fast ferry that was cancelled. The hotel did try to call our room when they found out, but we were out to dinner, and the next morning they did not try again to let us know. They could have left a note on our door or in the room. They could have called in the morning before our checkout time to let us know. If we had known earlier we could have had more alternative options to get back to Bali. Anywhere else we stayed would have gone the extra mile to let us know our transportation had been cancelled.

The location for Gili T is perfect as it is close to the action but you can't hear the music from the bars. But, as the most expensive place we stayed on a 2+ week trip in south east Asia, we wanted it to be amazing and it wasn't. The room, service, and overall experience here just doesn't justify the price.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindaHE, Owner at Ko-Ko-Mo Resort, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thank you for your review, and some valid points you have made. Just to update you on some of your points after a thorough discussion with all involved staff:

We do apologise for the problem with the Jacuzzi but on speaking to the staff we had just had a check-out and the staff admit to not having checked the functioning and so are very sorry for the inconvenience but we're glad we managed to sort the problem out immediately

In terms of our keys - due to the humidity and being so close to the sea, there does tend to be corrosion and rusting. Again, problems that are promptly resolved by our maintenance team, but are unfortunately unavoidable as anything metal does rust quickly on the island

The difference in pricing you were quoted for snorkel trips was because we always recommend the glass bottom which is Rp200,000 extra, for a fuller experience. This can be avoided by taking a normal boat - but you miss seeing the variety of underwater life

The price you were quoted for your group to get to the airport included the speedboat transfers to Lombok and the 2 hour drive to the airport. Alternatives are possible by going with a public boat and taxis but our guests tend to use our transfer system due to ease, reliability, and comfort

Please note - Effendi is not a manager, he is our reservation operator. Also we do not have a female manager so can only assume you meant one of our male managers. We have spoken in length to all management and staff to try to get to the bottom of your issues. Unfortunately Effendi is not rude, just perhaps lacks some of the warmth of the other staff - and he will be receiving further training. Our real manager, Junaidi is amazingly warm and helpful - it's a shame you didn't get to meet him

We do apologise for building noise, unfortunately it is beyond our control, however the restaurant next door is now completed

Fast boat cancellation notifications will now be given to all rooms. They are rarely cancelled, but we fully intend to improve our system of informing guests if the Harbourmaster shuts the service due to weather conditions. Thanks for bringing this point to our attention

In terms of the semi outdoor bathrooms - you were unfortunately on the island during a super heavy and very rare storm, where conditions were virtually cyclonic. We do try to keep the bathrooms as dry as possible during these periods, with staff frequently entering to dry the wet areas. Again, unfortunately a by-product of a design which, for 99% of the year works as a charming reflection of Bali bathrooms, can mean a little more water than normal

We have not identified the smell you mentioned and can only think it was maybe linked to the construction next door of the restaurant

We apologise about mini bar but often with checkouts/ins there can be confusion, which is why we always ask people to check their bills

The late cleaning, like the wet bathroom floor, was due to huge rainfall and all rooms were being recleaned - all during a big hurricane type storm which caused disruption and confusion generally

Re our costs. In many responses I have explained that we follow the local legal procedure which is to charge 21% extra - 10% service 11% government costs. We operate legally. 10% goes to all staff as Indonesian wages are low so our staff get the bonus we believe they deserve. Finally, like all businesses, we are legally liable to pay these fees - we choose to follow the system

I'm sorry to be so blunt here but there is no chance any of our staff tell guests to drink out of the tap which is why we give 3 aqua bottles to each person per day. The staff themselves don't drink the tapwater and all understand the reasons not to. So int his instance there must have been a total breakdown of communication

Again, many thanks for you review

Ko-ko-mo management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Overall, my husband and I really enjoyed our 5 night stay at Ko-Ko-Mo. We stayed in Villa Asoka, which we chose for the pool size. We loved the pool and the Villa was very spacious. I would recommend this Villa if you are planning on doing some sun-baking :) The location was great (couldn't get much better actually, right on the edge of where it gets quiet and walking distance - very close but not right in it - to the busy strip). The restaurant at the front was a great spot to sit and stare at the ocean every morning at breakfast.

However, for the price we did expect a little more. This was my 9th trip to Bali/Lombok. I have stayed in some super cheap dingy little places, and some absolutely amazing, couldn't-fault-a-thing places (eg. Maca Villas Seminyak and Komaneka in Ubud). This was the most I have ever paid for accommodation in Indo, and was not - by any means - the best.
If the price was lower I probably wouldn't complain, but since it was quite high there was a few things that they could improve on to meet the standards of Villas and resorts slightly cheaper than Ko-Ko-Mo.

- The bathrooms were constantly wet, dirty (as in the floor - muddy - you couldn't go barefoot) and really quite smelly.

- the staff lacked that "can-do", friendly attitude that leaves you feeling special and looked after. This wasn't all of them, there were a few very friendly staff members, but for the most part we were a little let down. Especially after staying in Amed, Seminyak and Ubud where the staff were incredible. It was just little things that left you feeling like you were getting in the way of their day and what they had to do. They also seemed constantly confused by anything you asked, even when done in indonesian. Particularly the reception staff and the manager Effendi.

We found the manager especially unfriendly and quite cold. When we checked-out there was a large charge for the minibar on our first day which was definitely not us (about 360 thousand Rp) and we hadn't even touched the minibar and weren't able to check into our room until quite late in the afternoon as they didn't finish cleaning it until 3pm. When we told him, rather than apologise, he tired to make us feel bad by threatening to make the staff pay if we weren't paying. This was quite shocking and not how you expect to be treated when you are spending over $300 a night.
- Also, be wary of the ++21% on top of your room rate, it added nearly an extra $100 per night to the rate that was agreed to with the staff before we came. Ended up being an extra $500 on the bill!!

- The room service was VERY slow. Sometimes up to an hour or more. we gave up on ordering food to the room and just ate at the restaurant if we had to (ie. breakfast).

- The restaurant's food was of an inconsistent quality. This included the breakfast. You could order the same thing for breakfast the next day and it would taste completely different.
We ordered some desert one night, a chocolate fondant, and it was - I don't even know what it was! It was inedible. As if something had burnt, exploded, and turned to mush. We had a laugh and we took it to the kitchen and they said that "yes, they know it was not right because the oven is not working properly", we were confused why they would even send it to us? It tasted worse than it looked.

- On our trip back we met a couple on the boat who were both very sick from drinking the tap water which the Ko-Ko-Mo staff told them numerous times the could drink. I was so confused, knowing tap water in Indo is a no-no. This didn't happen to us but added to our lack of faith in the staff at Ko-Ko-Mo.

Overall a nice spot on an amazing island, would definitely go back to Gili Trawangan but probably wouldn't stay at Ko-Ko-Mo again. Mainly just because of the staff.

Room Tip: If Pool-time and Sun is important - Villa Asoka ticks both boxes - gets sun throughout the day. Has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Superb to say the least!!!

It was my first trip to the Gili islands and getting no international brand of hotel was a big concern as it was my honeymoon. Yet based on trip advisor and my communication with the Ko Ko Mo resort i went ahead and booked the 1 bed villa there. I was assured by Max and Effendi that i would have no complains. Well they truly lived up to their word. It was a brillinat experience. Right from the time we were picked up from the Lombok airport to the private boat and to my villa - It was supreme. My planning to surprise my wife, as I had planned with max, was executed to perfection. The villa was beautifully decorated and the honeymoon cake was amazing. The staff was at the top of service each moment, thanks to Max, Effendi and June again. I was well guided and everything i required was arranged at the resort itself. The food was very good and resort was maintained in a excellent condition. My wife and i enjoyed the Gilis and Ko Ko Mo resort was the icing on the cake. Kudos Ko Ko Mo!

Room Tip: The whole resort is an amazing place :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ko-Ko-Mo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ko-Ko-Mo Resort

Address: South Beach, West Nusa Tenggara 83355, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Gili Trawangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A chic, contemporary oasis at the end of the bustling strip of Gili Trawangan, ko-ko-mo provides a quality that is specific to the resort - from the innovative beachfront dining and relaxation and 5 star Menu to the elegant, private architecturally designed villas. The the staff at ko-ko-mo will assist you by booking activities and transport as well as providing a sophisticated and professional service in the restaurant and villas. ko-ko-mo Gili Trawangan Resort....Get there fast....then take it slow ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Ko-Ko-Mo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ko-Ko-Mo Hotel Gili Trawangan
Ko-Ko-Mo Resort Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ko-Ko-Mo Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.