We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost wonderful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Karma Kayak

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Karma Kayak to your Saves list
Karma Kayak
Northbeach | Gili Trawangan, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Beavercreek, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Almost wonderful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We booked an initial 4 nights and returned at the end of our trip for another week. The managers, Sandra and Noel try very hard to run a happy and efficient place in a challenging environment. They were very honest about the construction noise nearby (there is construction everywhere on the island!). The staff is very well trained and work hard to keep an upbeat vibe. The rooms are spacious and clean, but could use some brighter lights. Privacy was not an issue. For the room rate it would have been nice to have toiletries (in refillable containers) and some daily water provided in the room. The complimentary sarongs are nice, but daily towel replacement would have been welcome (without request). The outside patio was a real plus. The provided breakfast was always fantastic, lots of great Lombok coffee, fresh fruit and shakes, and pancakes to dream about. At night the beach restaurant was perfect, and Noel's culinary creations fun, tasty and reasonably priced. Snorkeling was great, many turtles and schools of fish. Bring flip-flops or Crocs to get into the water, (though some are provided for free) as getting into the water at any place on the island usually involves sharp dead coral pieces in the surf. We recommend getting to this part of the island soon, before more resorts open and change the cool vibe.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    48
    16
    5
    8
See reviews for
17
98
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
umhlanga
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

This was our second trip to Indonesia all the way from South Africa. 2years ago we stayed at Karma Kayak for 5 nights and in the centre of town for another 4nights. We loved peaceful Karma Kayak so much that this time we stayed for 8 nights. It was just as special as we remember. Some of the staff have changed but they are equally friendly and efficient. The Dutch owners are very hands on and very friendly. The managers are happy to help and offer advice, and even cooked up a fish that my husband caught and it was absolutely delicious! The food is generally great, with the menu offering tasty tapas or main courses.
Snorkeling was superb, seeing turtles every few days as well as eels, beautiful box fish, angel fish, parrots, butterflies and trigger fish - all right off the beach out front. sunsets are not to be missed-magnificent! It really is a little piece of heaven.
It is located away from the hustle and bustle of the main town, but it's well worth the 30minute walk. It feels like you have peace and quiet away from the crowds.
Rooms are clean, big and adequate, although some new pillows would be nice. Air-conditioning is a must, and the cold shower welcome after a day in the sun or sitting at the new pool.
We can't recommend Karma Kayak enough. If relaxation is what you're after, you will find it here!
We will be back!

Room Tip: Air-conditioning is a must! If you plan to snorkel a few times, consider bringing your own gear (m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

The place is a bit outside of all the bars and restaurants. If you prefer to be in the middle of it you need to walk 20 min to the centre, take a bike or horse car. We enjoyed that Karma Kayak is more quiet. The beach is really nice although due to the corals it is a bit difficult to swim. The pool makes up for that. The rooms are very nice and clean. And the walk to the beach is 30-40m. Breakfast is served at the beach (or on your terrace). The breakfast we had there was the best on the trip: pamcakes, fruits, fresh fruit juice... Also the tapas are delicious. The management and owner is Dutch. They are very helpful. I recommend to ask them for the nearby spa of another resort. They offer really good massages.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, België
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Upon arrival we were brought to this relax and quiet and beatiful spot on Gili Trawangan. Very friendly personnel as well the people running the place (Dutch).

Super snorkelling starting 300 meters towards the centre until you arrive in front of Karma Kayak ! All the organized snorkel trips stop here .. So big Advantage to have this for Free :-) just go in the water and enjoy the aquarium ! People running the Place had Many Many good tips and organized a hassle free trip returning to Lombok. Nice atmospere Chill music nice swimming pool ... Go there !!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Karma kayak is the perfect relaxation retreat for a romantic couple holiday.
Secluded on the north side of the island the location is so beautiful and one of the best spot for the sun set. The staff is lovely and very helpful. The pool and the beach are gorgeous and breakfast is served on the beach.The rooms are lovely but there is no hot water or mosquito net. The restaurant is set on the beach and is super romantic ....just a shame the food is not fantastic.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

My girlfriend and I recently stayed at Karma Kayak for 4 days. This hotel is located on the northwest coast of Gili T out of the way from the huge nightly partying and closer to the seclusion that we were seeking. The beach front restaurant is idyllic and is perfect for all meals. The free breakfast is delicious and consists of two eggs, toast, fresh juice, fruits, and coffee. The staff is extremely helpful and color coded based on English knowledge. (Green being the English speaking staff and blue knowing only a bit) The hotel also offers sea kayaking and snorkeling.

The rooms are comfortable and large. They have exceptional porches where one can rest in between sunbathing and a jaunt to town. The bed is large and the bathroom is well designed.

The last and most fantastic aspect of Karma Kayak is the nightly sunset that you can view from a table on the beach. The sun illuminates the sea and the mountains of Bali seem to rise out of the water. Well worth being a bit outside of the main strip!

Room Tip: Get an A/C room, it's worth it after a long, hot day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Fantastic beach front resort with good snorkeling right on the door step. Rooms were basic but comfortable. Food at Karma Kayak was brilliant. It's the sort of place where you can sit back and relax without leaving for days.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
0.0 mi away
Oceano Jambuluwuk Resort
Oceano Jambuluwuk Resort
#17 of 23 in Gili Trawangan
3.5 of 5 stars 170 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gili Hideaway
Gili Hideaway
#17 of 130 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 stars 314 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gili Eco Villas
Gili Eco Villas
#8 of 130 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 stars 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Corner Hideaway
Corner Hideaway
#36 of 130 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 stars 31 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wilson's Retreat
Wilson's Retreat
#5 of 130 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 stars 159 reviews
0.6 mi away
Flush Bungalows
Flush Bungalows
#52 of 130 in Gili Trawangan
4.0 of 5 stars 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karma Kayak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karma Kayak

Address: Northbeach | Gili Trawangan, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 130 Specialty Lodging in Gili Trawangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can find Karma Kayak on the quiet and tranquil northern part of Gili Trawangan. Away from the crowds and busy main part.We offer bungalows, a restaurant and a relaxed hangout for the day to anyone who wants to escape everyday life and is looking for the ultimate island experience.Come around for Sunset and a Sangria or just to enjoy a chilled out day at the beach.Our main focus are tapas but due to many requests we now also serve baguettes and salads for lunch and main courses for dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Karma Kayak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karma Kayak Hotel Lombok
Karma Kayak Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karma Kayak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.