We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Karma Kayak

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gili Trawangan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Karma Kayak
Save Saved
You added Karma Kayak to your Saves list
Northbeach | Gili Trawangan, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
umhlanga
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Paradise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

This was our second trip to Indonesia all the way from South Africa. 2years ago we stayed at Karma Kayak for 5 nights and in the centre of town for another 4nights. We loved peaceful Karma Kayak so much that this time we stayed for 8 nights. It was just as special as we remember. Some of the staff have changed but they are equally friendly and efficient. The Dutch owners are very hands on and very friendly. The managers are happy to help and offer advice, and even cooked up a fish that my husband caught and it was absolutely delicious! The food is generally great, with the menu offering tasty tapas or main courses.
Snorkeling was superb, seeing turtles every few days as well as eels, beautiful box fish, angel fish, parrots, butterflies and trigger fish - all right off the beach out front. sunsets are not to be missed-magnificent! It really is a little piece of heaven.
It is located away from the hustle and bustle of the main town, but it's well worth the 30minute walk. It feels like you have peace and quiet away from the crowds.
Rooms are clean, big and adequate, although some new pillows would be nice. Air-conditioning is a must, and the cold shower welcome after a day in the sun or sitting at the new pool.
We can't recommend Karma Kayak enough. If relaxation is what you're after, you will find it here!
We will be back!

Room Tip: Air-conditioning is a must! If you plan to snorkel a few times, consider bringing your own gear (m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    34
    15
    5
    7
See reviews for
11
80
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

The place is a bit outside of all the bars and restaurants. If you prefer to be in the middle of it you need to walk 20 min to the centre, take a bike or horse car. We enjoyed that Karma Kayak is more quiet. The beach is really nice although due to the corals it is a bit difficult to swim. The pool makes up for that. The rooms are very nice and clean. And the walk to the beach is 30-40m. Breakfast is served at the beach (or on your terrace). The breakfast we had there was the best on the trip: pamcakes, fruits, fresh fruit juice... Also the tapas are delicious. The management and owner is Dutch. They are very helpful. I recommend to ask them for the nearby spa of another resort. They offer really good massages.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, België
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Upon arrival we were brought to this relax and quiet and beatiful spot on Gili Trawangan. Very friendly personnel as well the people running the place (Dutch).

Super snorkelling starting 300 meters towards the centre until you arrive in front of Karma Kayak ! All the organized snorkel trips stop here .. So big Advantage to have this for Free :-) just go in the water and enjoy the aquarium ! People running the Place had Many Many good tips and organized a hassle free trip returning to Lombok. Nice atmospere Chill music nice swimming pool ... Go there !!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Karma kayak is the perfect relaxation retreat for a romantic couple holiday.
Secluded on the north side of the island the location is so beautiful and one of the best spot for the sun set. The staff is lovely and very helpful. The pool and the beach are gorgeous and breakfast is served on the beach.The rooms are lovely but there is no hot water or mosquito net. The restaurant is set on the beach and is super romantic ....just a shame the food is not fantastic.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

My girlfriend and I recently stayed at Karma Kayak for 4 days. This hotel is located on the northwest coast of Gili T out of the way from the huge nightly partying and closer to the seclusion that we were seeking. The beach front restaurant is idyllic and is perfect for all meals. The free breakfast is delicious and consists of two eggs, toast, fresh juice, fruits, and coffee. The staff is extremely helpful and color coded based on English knowledge. (Green being the English speaking staff and blue knowing only a bit) The hotel also offers sea kayaking and snorkeling.

The rooms are comfortable and large. They have exceptional porches where one can rest in between sunbathing and a jaunt to town. The bed is large and the bathroom is well designed.

The last and most fantastic aspect of Karma Kayak is the nightly sunset that you can view from a table on the beach. The sun illuminates the sea and the mountains of Bali seem to rise out of the water. Well worth being a bit outside of the main strip!

Room Tip: Get an A/C room, it's worth it after a long, hot day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Fantastic beach front resort with good snorkeling right on the door step. Rooms were basic but comfortable. Food at Karma Kayak was brilliant. It's the sort of place where you can sit back and relax without leaving for days.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cobble hill bc canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Had 3 night stay and really enjoyed great bungalow and lots to eat for breakfast. We snorkelled righ in fron of the hotel and saw a turtle! Nice pool and all of the staff were very friendly. Did not have any trouble with mosquitoes and they said they had spray if we did. We rented bikes and took them to town or just walked. Gili T was great but I would not have wanted to stay in the center of town. Nice hike up to the lookout point as well.

Room Tip: Air con nice to have
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Karma Kayak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karma Kayak

Address: Northbeach | Gili Trawangan, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 103 Specialty Lodging in Gili Trawangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can find Karma Kayak on the quiet and tranquil northern part of Gili Trawangan. Away from the crowds and busy main part.We offer bungalows, a restaurant and a relaxed hangout for the day to anyone who wants to escape everyday life and is looking for the ultimate island experience.Come around for Sunset and a Sangria or just to enjoy a chilled out day at the beach.Our main focus are tapas but due to many requests we now also serve baguettes and salads for lunch and main courses for dinner. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Karma Kayak Hotel Lombok
Karma Kayak Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karma Kayak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.