We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal relaxation retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Karma Kayak

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gili Trawangan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Karma Kayak
Save Saved
You added Karma Kayak to your Saves list
Northbeach | Gili Trawangan, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Ideal relaxation retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Fantastic beach front resort with good snorkeling right on the door step. Rooms were basic but comfortable. Food at Karma Kayak was brilliant. It's the sort of place where you can sit back and relax without leaving for days.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    31
    13
    3
    6
See reviews for
11
74
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cobble hill bc canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Had 3 night stay and really enjoyed great bungalow and lots to eat for breakfast. We snorkelled righ in fron of the hotel and saw a turtle! Nice pool and all of the staff were very friendly. Did not have any trouble with mosquitoes and they said they had spray if we did. We rented bikes and took them to town or just walked. Gili T was great but I would not have wanted to stay in the center of town. Nice hike up to the lookout point as well.

Room Tip: Air con nice to have
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
china
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

it is so amazing place~Gili Trawangan so beatiful~ sea is glorious ,so much and cute fishs~snorking is so funny!This is a quiet place,all staff are friendly and kind,The bed is very comfortable,Service is very considerate!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Situated on the north side away from the crowd, about 25 mins by horse cart. Upon opening the room door, we were shocked to see so many mosquitoes flying around and on the walls. Owner helped by getting a can of mosquitoe repellent to spray at them. Room was basic with no TV or telephone, bathroom shower had low water pressure. Was told that there was a nice reef 150m from the shore, but had no chance to do any snorkelling as the sea was rough when we were there. Only good thing was that the manager Mr Noel was very understanding when we cut short our stay as we would rather donate blood for a good cause instead of feeding the mosquitoes. Sad to say that when we were there the whole area was infested with mosquitoes.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Java, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights to get a little break from busy life and we got it at Karma Kayak!
It's located that great that you don't want to leave the place. The rooms are nice and cozy, i loved the bathroom. The most delicious at Karma Kayak is there beach, where you can relax in the big sit bags, where you don't want to get out of and want to spend the whole day, you only need to move sometimes because otherwise you will be grilled meet. But you can enjoy from breakfast until late night! From nice breakfast, to nice lunch sandwiches, to nice tapas to fill your stomach with. It's owned by Astrid and Grace, two lovely Dutch women, who make your stay very pleasant (also with help from their Dutch Managers).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Beautiful location. Quiet side away from "the main strip". Direct access to the best snorkeling on the island.
*partiers beware* a long walk from town, or a Rp60,000 horse buggy.

Noel and the other staff are awesome. Noel creats the perfect fun & relaxing atmosphere with music and was very helpful & accommodating.
Great set up to eat and lounge on the beach.

CONS:
-Good breakfast/lunch, but dinner menu needs work.
-strong sulfur, rotten egg odor from the bathroom. Stinks!
-Rp60,000 to rent the hotels snorkel masks. Go into town and rent good quality masks AND fins for Rp25-40,000!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bleadon, UK
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed at Karma Kayak for four nights in March. We had hoped to have four days of snorkelling and kayaking around this lovely island. Unfortunately Mother Nature had other ideas and we had four days of storms during which Neptune made claims to the island and tried his hardest to reclaim Karma Kayak.
Our bungalow was roomy, pretty minimalist (no wardrobes) and immaculate. Nowhere else in Indonesia did we stay in such well maintained accommodation. The staff were attentive and helpful. Breakfasts were taken poolside (or beachside when weather permitted).
Karma Kayak specialises in Tapas food so there's plenty to satisfy and stimulate the appetite at lunch or evening.
We had hoped to canoe around the island but the rough seas prevented this. Instead we beach-combed for hours ( Gili T is the ultimate flotsom graveyard for flip-flops) and swam in the waves.
The resort is on the north side of the island, well away from the main town strip. It's a delightful 20 minute coastal walk or horse-drawn cart ride into the main tourist drag with all the usual facilities /ATMs/ restaurants and bars. The staff will call a taxi (horse-drawn) for you, but sometimes it can be a bit of a wait if the taxi service is busy or there's a storm blowing.
Gili T is a small island and you'll soon get to know everyone and they'll get to know you.

Room Tip: We travelled by fast boat (Marlin) from Padangbai in Bali and booked returns which we couldn't u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Karma Kayak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karma Kayak

Address: Northbeach | Gili Trawangan, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 98 Specialty lodging in Gili Trawangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can find Karma Kayak on the quiet and tranquil northern part of Gili Trawangan. Away from the crowds and busy main part.We offer bungalows, a restaurant and a relaxed hangout for the day to anyone who wants to escape everyday life and is looking for the ultimate island experience.Come around for Sunset and a Sangria or just to enjoy a chilled out day at the beach.Our main focus are tapas but due to many requests we now also serve baguettes and salads for lunch and main courses for dinner. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Karma Kayak Hotel Lombok
Karma Kayak Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karma Kayak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.