We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Karma Kayak

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Karma Kayak to your Saves list
Karma Kayak
Northbeach | Gili Trawangan, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Amsterdam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Lovely, clean room at a great location. Quiet but walking / cycling distance to harbour and other restaurants. Breakfast is very nice and can be enjoyed at the beach or your own room/terrace till 11.00. Great reef for snorkling in front of hotel and possibility to see turtles if you're lucky!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    40
    15
    5
    7
See reviews for
13
86
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Karma Kayak, is a fairy tail. What a dream location. After a long trip we arrived at the hotel. We where so glad that we pre-booked this stay. Everything was full. All the other people where disappointed that the hotel was already booked.
We had a great room at the seaside. First we had a very nice welcome of the manager Sandra.
The room was very clean and the bed slept really good. We where said that we didn't booked longer. We also had dinner for two night. Normally we would like to try more restaurants. But now we where for 2 nights so relaxed at the beach that we deside tot stay in the relax modus and enjoy the Spanish Tapas. It was the most beautifull sunset ever. The staff is really nice. And animator Noelle was also really nice. He showed my husband the seaturtle. What a great experience. We had no problems with the payment. We payed in advance, and had no problem at all.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

We were already staying on Gili T when we cycled up to see if we could book a kayak session (they no longer run them) but thought the place looked so good that we decided to stay. 

The location is in the north and quiet part of the island - a good 30 minute walk from the main strip but that's exactly what we wanted. And it felt like our own little bit of heaven for the three days we stayed. We did walk to the main part of the island twice from here and it was a pleasant stroll - we even walked back one night after going for drinks and it was fine. If you don't want to do this though, they have a decent restaurant selling tapas and there is a fab Indonesian restaurant close by. 

The room (India) was so beautiful. Infact the whole place has been expertly architecturally designed. And came with a nice outdoor space to chill out in. The beach front bar was great especially around sun set and the pool was a godsend in the heat. The location was also fab for snorkelling and we saw some giant turtles not far from shore. 

It was the most expensive place we stayed - at 550,000 RP per night for a room with a fan. But it was definitely worth it for the memories. Come here if you want to completely chill out, maybe not if you want to party!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We arrived on september 12th for 4 nights. KK is located up in the North part of the island. If you want to stay in a more remote and quiet area, away from the very busy "strip" with all the bars and restaurants (which means "and a whole lot of noise" and many many more people) this is the place to be! As there are no motorized vehicles on the island, you will have to take the cidomo (horse and cart) which now costs 60.000 RP from the arrival around the strip to go up North to KK. We enjoyed 4 days of just walking out of our room, having a good breakfast right on the beach and a few steps to snorkel away in the beautiful sea. KK has a great relaxing atmosphere with well trained friendly staff and some of them speak English. The owners Astrid & Grace and their managers can help you with all your questions. We had a room with our own private verandah/porch where they have a chair, table and a kind of canape where you can stretch out on and enjoy resting, reading and a glass of wine. The room is minimalistic decorwise, you will find a nice decorated 4 poster bed with 2 little nighttables next to it and an open small closet in the corner, with a safe. They have window shades and that's it, no paintings or Lombok decor.There is free wifi at the whole complex including the beach. We've visited GT many times before staying at different hotels and always had internet issues many times lasting for days. The internet connection is superb here! Now the food: they have a good selection of different kinds of food, from fresh salads to sateh as from spagetti to fresh baked baquettes, to even tapas. Around the time the sun is going to go down, the staff (re)organize on the beach tables and chairs, beanbags as well as sunloungers and lanterns, so you can have a good view of the sun going down, with a nice drink and good tasteful food. If the view is clear you can see Bali and the vulcano in the background. Get your sunlounger, table or beanbag in time as a lot of people come up north to watch the sun go down at KK. They also have a nice swimmingpool, a small library where you will be able to find a good book in your language and magazines. Fyi: they do not provide beachtowels. However, when you stay 2 nights or longer they will provide you with a sarong you get to keep, so if you want your own beachtowel you will have to bring your own.They do not provide any soap or shampoo in the bath/shower, but in need you can ask them.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Staff ( local) amazing always attentive to your needs and very very accomodating. Young chef and his girlfriend manager from the Netherlands are also very welcoming and very good towards clients. I'm afraid we can't say this about the two owners referred too in previous reviews as the " two scary ladies". Ladies! You must/need to remove yourselves from the front office operations of this place... One has a hard time smiling and the other one talks loudly on the phone all day...it takes away from the magical grounds and amazing working staff. Your good at concept and systems stick to that.
Food was good small tapas is a good idea, sunsets are spectacular, rooms are well designed and clean. The on the house sarong is a nice touch. There is a way to get hot water ecologically !!!! That's my only negative comment on the facilities.

Room Tip: Ge the beach BBQ
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed in the Karma Kayak for (just) three nights and had a great time. When you want to get away from the crowds on the harbor, this place is just perfect.
We enjoyed the sunset every evening on this great beach. Also by day the beach location is very relaxed and great for chilling.
We walked to the main area of trawangan every day, which was not that far.
The food is amazing, especially when you are travelling in indonesia for a long time and you want to eat something different then rice :).
We would definitely come back!

Room Tip: Villa Greece
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

the 2 dutch lady s made something very nice , the rooms are great , the staff friendly and the tapa s amazing with the sunset , the sleepquality is verry good , one of the most quiet places at trawagan

Room Tip: all the rooms are very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Karma Kayak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karma Kayak

Address: Northbeach | Gili Trawangan, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 121 Specialty Lodging in Gili Trawangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can find Karma Kayak on the quiet and tranquil northern part of Gili Trawangan. Away from the crowds and busy main part.We offer bungalows, a restaurant and a relaxed hangout for the day to anyone who wants to escape everyday life and is looking for the ultimate island experience.Come around for Sunset and a Sangria or just to enjoy a chilled out day at the beach.Our main focus are tapas but due to many requests we now also serve baguettes and salads for lunch and main courses for dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Karma Kayak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karma Kayak Hotel Lombok
Karma Kayak Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karma Kayak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.