We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pondok Santi Estate

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Pondok Santi Estate to your Saves list
Pondok Santi Estate
3.0 of 5 Ranch   |   Gili Trawangan, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A delightful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

It is located in a wonderful environment, with 6 gorgeous bungalows, a great staff and lovely managers. Very relaxing, the perfect retreat. The breakfast is prepared fresh.
We especially enjoyed the sunset cruise. We can highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgie_Newton, Manager at Pondok Santi Estate, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you Marga 2222 for taking the time to write a review. It means a lot to us all at Pondok Santi to hear how our guests have enjoyed their holiday. Glad you enjoyed the Sunset Cruise( it is one of my favorites also!) also glad you enjoyed the fresh fruit and breakfasts.
Hope we see you again one day!
Kind regards from Georgie Baz and all the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    10
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
89
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

If you stay at Pondok Santi, you are buying a dream! A wooden hut, coconut trees, beautiful beach, friendly staffs (i dont consider them staffs, they are my friends), lovely breakfast, peaceful, quite (but sometimes u might hear a gecko with his funny sounds), birds flying freely, bathroom outside your room, hammocks, beer bintang by the beach that is PERFECT!

Oh how i miss Pondok Santi and the TEAM.

We will DEFINATELY come back! 10days is not enough!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgie1903, General Manager at Pondok Santi Estate, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you Abby for your review written from your heart. It was a treat to have you both here. You certainly became a friend of everyone and thank you for the delicious meal you cooked for us all. Your smile was contagious and I laugh when I think of the fun and happiness you generated. The Staff will always remember you and hope you can return one day.
Love and Best wishes from Georgie and Baz and all your staff FRIENDS!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I have been visiting the Gilli Islands for nearly 15 years, Gilli T being my favourite. The Island has changed over the years and the main stripe is like visiting Ibiza ! What a delight to find Pondok Santi located approx 330m from the downtown action. There are only 6 bungalows, which give the feeling of being in Indonesia and not a standard hotel anywhere.The bungalows are situated in a coconut plantation with 300m of beach frontage. The decor and comfort I enjoyed combined with the modern outdoor bathroom with fresh water which I preferred cold and invigorating in this hot climate.
The breakfast of freshly cut tropical fruit followed by a choice of eggs cooked as you like or the delicious freshly made banana pancake was looked forward to as was the company of the other guests sharing restaurant recommendations.
When not relaxing with a book in one of the outdoor barrugas(not spelt like this) and having a fresh watermelon juice delivered, the opportunity to go on a snorkelling trip or sunset cruise on the Princess Margaux which is a unique boat exclusively available to us guests was all part of the unique hospitality offered here.

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same and stand alone, thrilled there was one available !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgie_Newton, Manager at Pondok Santi Estate, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Hello Louiseqt, thank you for your review and compliments. We are happy that you enjoyed your Pondok Santi Experience, in our Indonesian styled bungalows. It is nice to go home feeling you have had a taste of " authentic Indonesian style".
We hope you will return as does our boat captain for some more laughter and fun on Princess !
It was a pleasure to have you stay.
Thank you from Georgie and Baz and all the staff who look forward to your yearly visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

My Wife and I stayed for four days at the Pondok Santi Estate for our honeymoon. We read the reviews on tripadvisor and booked accordingly. What this hotel lacks in luxury it makes up for in friendliness of the manager and staff. The outdoor bathrooms were amazing though the hot water ran out very quickly, when it worked at all. The 14 staff were extremely nice though we felt they spent more time looking after the huge grounds than specifically making sure the guests were looked after. For two out of the four days we stayed the complimentary tea and coffee wasn't put out for us. We ended up eating breakfast outside of the hotel most of the time as the choice of only fruit and eggs was very limited. We also preferred the privacy of breakfast for two rather than sitting with all the other guests at the same table. For the high price tag of these huts we were surprised that they charged extra for another egg at breakfast! The rooms were always immaculately cleaned the towels fluffy and soaps nice smelling. The wooden blinds at night became see through so my wife had to change in the outdoor bathroom the whole time. Curtains needed perhaps? Power cuts were daily though we could hear the music from the other hotels which was strange. Unlike many other guests unfortunately we did not sleep well in the huts as the beds were hard and the pillows even harder. A thin sheet is provided which is adequate if no air conditioning is switched on but we froze when it was switched on! There was little to no hanging space in the huts which meant you are living out of a suitcase. I guess the disappointments were more obvious to us as we had been staying in similarly priced hotels in Bali (200 to 300 USD per night) which offered much more comfort and personal service than Pondok Santi did. We were surprised to have to rent bikes to get around the island when for some reason we thought the hotel would provide them...it would have been a nice touch? Their private beach is amazing, though on our first day we went around it picking up the litter. Also, it is not possible to swim on this beach as it is a long stretch of coral. A plunge pool at Pondok Santi would be very welcome. There is no pool. As a new Kiwi owned and run hotel the managers do try hard to get things to work and to make the guests feel happy and comfortable. We believe that it won't be long before they get some better systems in place (such as electric showers and not battery operated ones) and perhaps dedicate a member of staff to each hut to make sure that all of the guests' needs are met. There are only six huts after all. On Gili Trawangan luxury hotels are springing up all over the place and the ones that are there offer pools, restaurants and many other creature comforts that you would expect at this price point. What you will not get from these other luxury hotels is a private beach and a hut with a beautiful outdoor bathroom. Overall... Gucci camping without the Gucci unfortunately.

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgie1903, General Manager at Pondok Santi Estate, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you Russell for your review and comments.We went straight to your bungalow and checked the hot water and found there to be no problem at all and plenty of it, so wished you had told us at the time and we could have helped you with it.
I have spoken with the house staff re your veranda tray and we have implemented a new routine to ensure this does not happen again.
We have 6 different choices on our breakfast menu, we are sorry you did not find something to suit or mention it to us as we would be happy to accommodate your needs and certainly there is NO charge for an extra egg if you require 3.
I have taken on board your comments about the curtains and will be dealing to that accordingly.
Oh there was a blanket folded in the top of your wardrobe, sorry you did not see that , we will be more diligent in our greeting and showing routine.
We have thought about renting bikes, but due to being small with only 6 bungalows and everyones needs different i.e. tall , short some want mountain bikes , some with child carriers it is impossible to satisfy everyones needs. We do give advice on where to rent them and how much you should pay and most guests enjoy the adventure of getting amongst the locals and finding their own wheels.
I am sorry you experienced low tides while you were here, that is beyond our control. We have been having lovely swims all this week in beautiful clear water at our beach.
However I am glad you enjoyed the frangipani love hearts the staff put on your bed to greet you and I have a lovely photo of you both at the big breakfast table enjoying a coconut drink one of our staff willingly climbed the coconut palm to get.I hope the antitoxins helped all your allergies.I will try my skills at getting the photo from my phone to the PSE Facebook for you!
Best wishes
from Georgie Baz and the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

A gorgeous property with wonderful attentive staff there to make your stay perfect. Sunset cruise on the amazing boat was an absolute treat. Out of the hustle and bustle but a 2 min ride to restaurants, market etc.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgie_Newton, Manager at Pondok Santi Estate, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Thank you for your review Happy Kelly,
We are glad you enjoyed your stay here .It is always a pleasure for us to watch guests relaxing and enjoying the sunset cruise and the swim from the boat in the beautiful clear reef water. the staff enjoyed your interaction and fun you had with them.
Thank you for coming over and sharing our paradise.
Georgie Baz and Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aschaffenburg, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

me, my partner and our little one year old stayed at pondok santi for 1 week - if only we could've stayed longer! it was the absolute dream of a holiday: georgie and baz as the best hosts, loveliest staff you can imagine (they love babies and sometimes i haven't seen my daughter for an hour to find her later with the gardener or office girl - lovely to have a bit of extra relaxing time ;-)). the staff is also happy to babysit if you fancy a romantic candlelight dinner with only your partner. pondok santi seems to attract a great mix of people which we really enjoyed talking to on the big breakfast table. the sunset cruises were absolutely divine with a few drinks and a glimpse of the other gilis and the sunset!
travelling as a family we found the location of pondok santi perfect, so nice and quiet you can't hear the noise of the nightlife from the busy stretch of the island however if you want to be in it, it's only a 5 minute bike ride away and the sunset bar is even closer.
thanks georgie and baz and all your amazing staff for making us feel so welcome and at home!!
we will be back!

Room Tip: there is only 6 bungalows, so book early, you don't wanna miss out. the bungalows are similar w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgie_Newton, Manager at Pondok Santi Estate, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Hello and thank you for your review and compliments.
We ALL enjoyed having you with us so much. Little Saphira put joy into all our lives and it was fun to watch her being so loved by the staff, and that you enjoyed and appreciated your breaks.
We look forward to your return and more sunset cruises!
best wishes for your move into your new home.
Georgie, Baz and Pondok Santi staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

I stayed at Pondok Santi for four nights, with my boyfriend and his two teenage boys. We all really loved staying here, the bungalows are really lovely, the rooms are decorated in a traditional way, the beds are very comfy, the outdoor bathrooms are gorgeous, a decent shower and all mod cons, nice and spacious too. Quite a few mozzies though so don't forget your spray and plug ins!

The five bungalows are situated in a huge garden, which means peace and quiet within the accommodation, very relaxing. There is a beach right across the road, with sun loungers for pondok santi guests only. The sand is white, and the water is crystal clear and warm, great for swimming and snorkeling. The main beach on the island is heaving, so we were very happy to have our own quiet beach, and so close to the accommodation.

The breakfast is delicious, perfectly cooked eggs, fresh juices, nice coffee etc.

But what really makes pondok santi truly special is Georgie and co. The management are so welcoming and made us feel right at home, Georgie and Baz are such lovely people, no one could not like staying at pondok santi. the local staff were great too, very helpful.

The resort has it's own boat for a sunset cruise, we had so much fun with them and the other guests on the boat trip, definitely a must!

I cannot stress enough how great the management and staff are, and how they made our stay at pondok santi unforgettable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgie_Newton, Manager at Pondok Santi Estate, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Oh thank you Louise, we are so happy you enjoyed your stay at Pondok Santi.I still laugh when I think about that amazing experience on our Sunset Cruise! I am glad you were there to share it with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pondok Santi Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pondok Santi Estate

Address: Gili Trawangan, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 121 Specialty Lodging in Gili Trawangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pondok Santi Estate 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pondok Santi Estate is an 8-hectare property, making it one of the largest and most manicured pieces of land on the island and only a 5-minute walk to the main restaurants, cafes and bars. Large open grass areas, day beds, Palm and Frangipani Trees are scattered throughout the property allowing you to find your own piece of paradise. The beauty of Pondok Santi is the share size of the grounds and small number of bungalows available. This is by far the most unique and natural eco friendly property on the island. The Estate houses 6 quaint one-bedroom one-bathroom Balinese bungalows positioned within 20m of the beach. Each Bungalow has an outdoor covered front deck, day bed overlooking the gardens, queen size bed, air conditioned, complete with a beautiful traditional outdoor bathroom. Princess Margaux was designed and hand built in neighboring Lombok Island. The traditional outrigger boat can comfortably accommodate 20 people, has a downstairs and upstairs level, built in ice boxes, an MP3 music system, toilet and an oversize day bed for those romantic or sunset cruises. The boat is very special and is the perfect boat for cruising around Gili Trawangan or Island hoping. The boat is exclusive to Pondok Santi and can be rented anytime demand permitting. Due to the small number of rooms available, bookings in advance are highly recommended. We look forward to making your holiday to Gili Trawangan the most amazing island experience you have ever had. Georgie & Baz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Pondok Santi Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pondok Santi Estate Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pondok Santi Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.