We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bale Sampan Bungalows

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Bale Sampan Bungalows to your Saves list
Bale Sampan Bungalows
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Gili Trawangan, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 101 Gili Trawangan B&B and Inns
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Right on the white sands of Gili Trawangan, this hotel has it all. Perfectly decorated rooms if not a little bland, a beautiful bathroom and delicious breakfast included. Right in the thick of it all and very helpful staff. Very useful to have their own beach loungers as well. A very enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    78
    20
    6
    3
See reviews for
27
103
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

we recently spent 3 nights at bale sampan and had a wonderful time - the rooms are very spacious with a tv, good A/C and fan, great outdoor bathroom with freshwater showers (not easy to find on gili) that were always hot with good water pressure!
the location is right on the beach (as are all of the gili hotels) complete with sun loungers, close enough to all the restaurants and little shops but never too noisy! also has a great cafe with fresh baguettes amongst other things (at great prices)... included breakfast is also really good, choice of either fry-up, muesli with fruit and yoghurt or pancakes so you're not restricted. the best thing we personally found at bale sampan is the staff - everyone is lovely and makes an effort to remember your name and organise the best price for anything you like (snorkelling, paddle boarding, bicycle hire). rudi in particular is extremely helpful and friendly, we really enjoyed meeting him.
the only minor issues were that the floors always seemed somewhat sandy - i think being in gili this is somewhat unavoidable, and we did see them effectively clean the rooms regularly. also there is a small freshwater swimming pool that doesn't look great (and i do like a nice pool to cool down in) but we didn't even care given the incredible beach on the doorstep - we think they would be better off not even bothering with the pool! we did hear other hotels were cheaper and just as nice, but we didn't feel we were significantly overpaying for what we got - we did get a good deal through agoda.
i would be happy to stay at bale sampan again; highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Right in the life of Gili Trawangan, but with bungalows isolated from the agitation of the main street. Location is a good compromise between quietness (it's 5 minutes away from the most agitated places), and interest (it's still in the very interesting parts of Trawangan). Staff is really nice and shows a lot of dedication to make your stay comfortable. One of the rare fresh-water pools on the island, an it does make a difference when you have the basic life comfort of an island.

On the down sides, the only things not to like are related to the island way-of-life, that you have to agree with if you wish to stay in Trawangan anyway: some power outages (even though the hotel has a generator to cover for them, some still happen), not always hot water, and a lovely mosque praying loudly all day and that includes the 5am prayer (and you can't escape it: there are 2 mosques on the tiny island!)

Room Tip: If you can, ask to be as far away from the reception as possible. There are 10 bungalows anyway, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

This was my second visit to Bale Sampan, I had stayed here a year ago and as i was so happy with it last time that i chose to stay again.

I wasnt disappointed at all, it was just how i remembered it. Great place, situated about 5/10 minutes walk north of the pier, which is a little bit quieter although still in the thick of things. Staff again were great, really couldnt do enough for you. Rooms are good, with air con, safe, wardrobe and outdoor bathrooms with hot water shower.

There were a couple of additions since my last visit, TV in the room (which was nice but didnt really use it) and free wifi which was really useful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Beach front location, very friendly and helpful staff. Good to have hot fresh water showers, (as not every on the island does) and breakfast included in the price. The fresh water pool is a good place to finish off your day whether you have been diving or lazing on the beach. Beach towels are included for your stay.
At lunch time the freshly prepared baguettes are a good choice.
Easy access to the busier end of town if you wish but far enough along the main street to sleep at night. Plenty of places to eat at night, lots of choice.
The island is a beautiful place to holiday with diving, snorkeling, kayaking and paddle boarding available very near to Bale Sampan. Or you could just lay on the beach and enjoy the view to the next island.
A walk/cycle around the island is a must to show the contrast in the coast lines.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

friendly and welcoming staff
excellent forniture in the bungalow
if you have some problem they know how to solve it.
probably the rates are too high or the Gili standard...but at least it was very nice. just in front at the beach with some private umbrellas and beds but not so much for all the guests.
very close to the nightlife but not so close, so you can rest during the night!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I have mixed feelings about my ten-day-stay at Balé Sampan. The room is excellent (I would not call it 'basic' as some other reviewers do): a very comfortable bed with good linens and good pillows, two big closets, a tv with dvdplayer, aircon and good lighting. Nice looking as well, with (working!) bedlamps and some woodpanneling and spotless white walls. I would not recommend staying in these rooms with three persons, because an extra bed would make it a very cramped room, but with a maximum of two people it is roomy enough.  The partly outside bathroom is nothing special, but perfectly adequate. I stayed in one of the two rooms at the pool and thus had seaview and could hear the sea at all times (except when the mosque took over, see below).
The terrace outside my room was spacey. To bad though they only provide a daybed to sit/hang on. I was alone, so for me this was ok, but if you are with two people it would be nice to have one or two chairs and a small table as well. The breakfast, which many other reviews rave about, is in my opinion just ok. The coffee is good, the other breakfastitems are pretty standard (except for the yoghurt and muesli here, so if you're into that, you may be happy) and not better then what I had at other places in Indonesia. Not worse either. The staff is usually friendly, but could also behave quite proccupied with other things and would be quite slow or unattentive at those times. Furthermore it bothered me some that some of them would switch from exulting friendliness to that preoccupied uninterest in no time. It made the contact feel somewhat artificial... The same goes for the owners: there are 5 of them, I believe and I saw 3 of them, amongst whom only one bothered to introduce herselve. They would give me the standard 'how are you today?', but never actually made contact. So if you are looking for a warm and welcoming environment, this is not it. If you just want plain friendliness, this place is fine. 
The beach in front of Balé Sampan is ok. It could be cleaner (there are a lot of cigarette buds in the sand) and some of the sunbeds appear to be nearing their end. And, contrary to what other reviews stated, there were not nearly enough of them! Partly because some of them may have deceased already and partly because Balé Sampan now has ten bungalows (and about eight sunbeds left). The stretch of beach is quite narrow as well, and a lot of people that are not staying here, also make use of it, so it felt quite overcrowded. Bear in mind I was there in the Peak season, though! 
Last, but not least: as other reviews mention, this place is very close to a mosque. Normally that would not bother me, I usually get used to the calls-for-prayer pretty soon. Part of my stay was in the Ramadan though and then it is really quite overbearing: the singing in the evening could go on for hours and hours, with other people then the imam participating, really loud and intrusive. There was an extra call atbthree in the morning that lasted quite long as well. And even after the Ramadan there would be a short call at three in the night, next to the usual very early morning call (5 at the time I was there). So all in all I did feel that the mosque was a bit to much!
Summarized: mixed feelings. Certainly not bad, but not very good and certainly not really warm and welcoming either. 

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bale Sampan Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bale Sampan Bungalows

Address: Gili Trawangan, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 101 B&Bs / Inns in Gili Trawangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bale Sampan Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Bale Sampan Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bale Sampan Bungalows Hotel Gili Trawangan
Bale Sampan Hotel
Bale Sampan Bungalows Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bale Sampan Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.