We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Become a part of Nino's perfect little village.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Secret Garden

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gili Trawangan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Secret Garden
Beach Street, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 92 Gili Trawangan B&B and Inns
Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Become a part of Nino's perfect little village.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2009

Me and my girlfriend stayed at this village comprised of 6 colour themed rooms for almost a week. The price was perfect for our travel budget but it could be that it's just a bit too expensive for really low budgets. Excellent room standard with new tiles everywhere and nice interior as well. Really good atmosphere in this little "hideout village" , (as if the Gili islands weren't enough of a hideout in themselves), makes you feel at home with the friendly hotel boss Nino from Siciliy :)

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    77
    37
    5
    8
    2
See reviews for
5
62
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

I booked the room because of the good review in tripadvisor. A nice surprise for us when Nino, the owner, picked us up when we got off from the ferry. Unfortunately, he ran out of rooms (which he didn't tell us in advance) but he arranged another accomodation nearby. The second night we moved in to Trinacria, and Nino kindly arranged to transport out luggage while we went out to the beach. The room was large, with 2 queen size beds, probably to compensate for the night we had to spend in the other lodging. It was very clean, cool and had distinct personal style with bold colors (red, blue and purple seem to be Nino's favorites). Theme-patterned glass is also used for windows, lamp hoods, bathroom tiles and wood-paneled room partition. Safety box and DVD player are also available (hundreds of DVDs are available from the front desk), but normal TV programs are not available. In short, the room feels very cozy and welcoming when you go back at night. There are not many rooms and they are situated around a small central garden, where there are winding pathways circling bougainvilleas plots. At one end you have the open, small dining place where European sports club flags decorate the ceilings. The design is also thoughtful with a tap in front of every room to wash feet, which are usually dirty from beach sand and road dirt when you get back at night. Too bad it's not as strategically located as those on the main road, which face the beach directly. You need around 3 mins walk from the main road (but at least the location is central, so it's still close to the restaurants and the beach). At night it can be very dark that you can't see the road to the hotel clearly (particular danger with horse dung).

We decided to extend another night at Trinacria, and we had to move to another smaller room for a couple (due to peak season). It turned out that each room had different theme and was named differently. However, there is some consistency in style and we are equally happy with this one.

There are few options for made-to-order breakfast (included in the room price), and we have only tried pancakes and omelette. Both are acceptable though not fantastic. Nino is always there at breakfast time, micro-managing his staff or minding his book-keeping or playing with his toddler daughter, and always chatting with all his guests. At any time of the day, you are likely to find him around the hotel (with chao chao as his signature regards). He has been generous too, by offering free laundry for us (few pieces only). The staff are also nice and helpful.

The room rate is not considered cheap given the location, but you may have different opinion if you prefer a quieter space a bit farther away from the crowd.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

As most hotels on Gili Trawangan don't have fresh water, and the ones that do cost a fortune, Trinacria Oro was the best deal by far. Impeccable rooms and baths with fresh water, breakfast and tea with buscuits included in price. The owner Nino offered pasta to the guests more than once while I was there (4 nights). TV and DVD with no cable or wifii. It's about 500 meters from the pier and less than 100 from some of the most spectacular beaches in the world. I could say that in three months of traveling south east Asia this was one of the best deals. 24 hour security, fridge in the room, beautiful garden.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2009

Just down the road from some of the best snorkeling on the island is something a little different from the endless rundown bungalows. Each room opens onto the small lush communal garden. Breakfast is served in the open air dining area - eggs, fresh fruit, bread etc. all part of the cost. Afternoon tea is also provided free of charge. If you wish Nino will also cook up heaping dishes of excellent Italian fare for lunch or dinner. The rooms are clean, A/C works, TV/DVD/safe in each unit - the style though is somewhat eclectic. The staff are incredibly friendly and will help you if you need to do anything from laundry to booking your ferry back to the mainland. The place is basic, but very comfortable and can't be beaten for the price.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nederland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2008

Arriving after sunset it is not easy to seek out a good place on Gili Trawangan. I just happened to have my guardian angel with me, she directed me to this lovely oasis, just off the busy and noisy beachfront. The owner, Nino from Sicily, Italy, and his lovely wife Sri are only happy if you are too. His rooms have everything you could wish for, laaaarge towels, sweet water, bidet, hot and cold shower, dvd player and lots of dvd's to choose from, all free of charge, excellent mattrass, I could go on and on. The breakfast-buffet is legendary. His superb staff is more than willing to grill or fry your fish or prawns. I wanted to go to the north, but from there it is not easy to go to shops, ATM or internet café, and the rooms there (Karma Kayak) just were a rip off, so after 2 nights I came back, and again I had a lovely time at Trinacria. Marvellous snorkeling places and amazing sunrises. Felt part of the family. I said arrivederci with pain in my heart.

  • Liked — Hospitality
  • Disliked — Could not leave
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Secret Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Garden

Address: Beach Street, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Gili Trawangan
Also Known As:
Secret Garden Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Secret Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Secret Garden to your Saves list