We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite good overall” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Luce d'Alma Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Luce d'Alma Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Luce d'Alma Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gili trawangan, West Nusa Tenggara 83352, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 19 hotels in Gili Trawangan
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Quite good overall”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

The Hotel is out of the way but the provision of free bikes was very much appreciated. The owner was a charismatic and very friendly man who made all his guests feel very welcome. Our room was spacious and very well finished but the Loungers outside our Patio Doors were permanently in shade which was a pity. The staff were all excellent and could not do enough for us.

Being an active person, I was looking forward to using the Fitness Centre but it was very poor overall. The room was drab and lacked any mirrors, the equipment was old and there was basically no free weights at all. It would have at least needed a range of dumbells and an extra bench to entice me to use it at all.

Being an Italian run Hotel you would have expected the food and Coffee to be top rate. The morning Coffee and Tea were however undrinkable as they were so weak. The Omelette was very tasty but the Toast was so bad that I felt like I was eating Cardboard. It would also have been nice to have some Muesli on offer for the guests. The breakfast was so disappointing that my wife and I resorted to cycling down to a local coffee shop to pay for decent real Coffee and Cereal!

Overall this is a great Hotel and with some minor changes it could be so much better.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has sun at the back beside the pool as half the rooms are in shade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    270
    75
    23
    8
    5
See reviews for
48
243
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jyllinge, Denmark
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

The hotel has very large rooms with separate beedroom and living room. The staff at the hotel is very nice and serviceminded and the owner is very attentative of the guests feeling welcome. However there are also several downsides. First of all is the location of the hotel. The hotel is located in the middle of the island away from the beach and restaurants. To get to the beach you have to ride some very poor bikes through completely dark roads full of holes and garbage. We thought that the remote location of the hotel would mean that the hotel would be quiet. This is however not the case, as a mosque is located quite close to the hotel which means, that you hear the exstremely loud call to prayer 5-6 times a day starting at around 4am. Also the hotel is starting to show signs of wear and tear and is in need of a heavy makeover if the hotel shall live up to its 4 star rating. Last of all the food at the hotel is not very good and the coffee for breakfeast is next to undrinkable.

Room Tip: If you like the sun be sure to book a room on the sunny side of the pool, as the terrasses for the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I have just stayed at the hotel for 6 nights, travelling with my boyfriend.
We thought the hotel was beautiful and the 80m pool backing onto each of the rooms was awesome. The staff are very friendly and always willing to help. This hotel is excellent for couples wanting to spend some quality time together.

The location is pretty good, easy walking distance down to the beach, where the hotel has a beach bar with free couches and umbrellas, though it does have an unfortunate tendency to play techno music.

For those wanting to explore a little further afield, free bikes and locks are available from reception. These allow you to easily get out and about on the island, and it only takes around 1 hour to cycle round it completely.

All in all we had a fantastic stay,and will definitely becoming back in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Great place to stay, especially when you love swimming. The 80m pool is excellent..!! The rooms are big, clean and nice decorated. The hotel is inland, so you have to use one of the free bicycles to go to the beach, but we didn't mind as the location is really quite and away from the party scene. And they do have their own beach club at the beach.. The staff is really great, so is the Italian owner Lucio. I can really recommend this resort!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed at Luce D'Alma for 2 nights during our honeymoon while in Indonesia and we were blown away by the kindness of the staff and the beautiful accomodation. The rooms are beautiful and spacious and the pool was such a treat. It was truly romantic and a great place to unwind. We weren't certain about staying on Gili T due to previous reviews of the island indicating that it was a 'party' island - but in all honesty, Luce D'Alma is away from the hustle bustle that we enjoyed the serenity of the island with quick visits in to the bar or restaurants for the evening which made for a perfect mix.

The owner was very helpful in giving us honest advice about the surroundings and getting back to bali and there were free bikes to get around the island.

Breakfast was plentiful and they even treated us to a beautiful honeymoon cake upon our arrival. We are certainly looking forward to returning to the Gilis and to Luce d'alma in the near future! Thank you.

Room Tip: Book early as it fills up! Don't forget your swim trunks for a beautiful midnight dip!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Things you should know:

- once you get the off the boat, be prepared to find, rent and then ride a bicycle through a village for 20+ min to find this place

- I believe this hotel is one of the very few on the island which has fresh water showers! the pool is salt water and very long

- As soon as I saw the tub in the room I wanted to relax in it, but alas, the water came out so slowly, by the time it filled 30% of the tub, the water was already room temperature...

- they have fantastic home made pasta and lasagna noodles! Very nice breakfast options :)

- the rooms are huge!

- the bed has only 1 sheet. I wish they provided blankets. I would highly recommend investing in new mattresses as I had a sore neck after sleeping there...I couldnt really get comfortable in the night

- I do not recommend the spa. the foot bath is cold, the spa table I can feel the bars through the padding, the ventilation is a simple room fan, the music is one of the woman's cell phones playing on speaker, you can hear construction work and the mosque going off all during the massage, the most important part is the ladies do fast and light strokes which doesnt make for a relaxing massage.

- the manager is such a sweetheart! always offering help and super friendly!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicheno, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

The pool is beautiful! If you like doing long laps, you'll love this! Rooms are beginning to age but are so spacious, attractive and well appointed. A 5 minute walk to your own beach was great and a 15 minute walk to "the main drag" OK but a free push bike was available to use or only $5 taxi. A small price to pay for tranquility on a potentially noisy island. Excellent staff and service - many smiles and no additional charge to eat in your room was great, thank you! Antonio, the owner, was a delight! I would pursue him to his next venture; he is so thoughtful and generous in spirit. The care with all the little added touches is much appreciated, thank you Antonio. Improvements: perhaps an indoor/outdoor table in the room and more comfortable lounge and chairs.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the sunny side if you like sunbathing! Too hot for us in the sun so it didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Luce d'Alma Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luce d'Alma Resort & Spa

Address: Gili trawangan, West Nusa Tenggara 83352, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Gili Trawangan
#1 Spa Hotel in Gili Trawangan
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Gili Trawangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Luce d'Alma Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luce d'Alma is the newest resort to open its doors on the island of Gili Trawangan. This beautiful resort is surrounded by dancing coconut palms and is built around its private 230 foot long pool. Each room has direct access to the pool from its own terrace. If you are an ocean lover for your daily swim this resort's own private beach is just five minutes from your villa door. All the villas are elegantly furnished and come with: tv, dvd, air conditioning, mini bar, safety box, coffee and tea making, fresh hot water shower and bathtub, bathrobe, hairdryer, idd telephone, free bicycles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, AsiaRooms, Despegar.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Luce d'Alma Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luce d`Alma Hotel Gili Trawangan
Luce d`Alma Resort And Spa
Luce D'Alma Resort & Spa Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luce d'Alma Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.