We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful 2 days.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Luce d'Alma Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Luce d'Alma Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Luce d'Alma Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   West Nusa Tenggara 83352, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 19 hotels in Gili Trawangan
Vadodara, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delightful 2 days.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Luce D Alma is a very charming resort. The room and the pool - its highlight - are quite attractive. I particularly liked the ceiling & lighting. The loungers on the patio, by the poolside are also very comfortable.
The reception has a good collection of DVDs, which we browsed through, but didn't use. We chose to spend time on the loungers under the clear night sky than to watch a movie indoors.
We saw a variety of fish and crabs, snorkeling just a few meters off the shore, from the resorts private beach.
The resort provides free bicycles for use, which we used to go around the entire island. everyone must visit the quieter side of the island. beautiful is an understatement!
Mr Antonio and the staff are very friendly and courteous. The receptionist is very efficient and fluent in English. They help with travel reservations and special meal requests (i am a vegetarian), with ease. the cake of the day was delicious on both days.

A few recommendations, though : food menu could be better, taste wise the food was fine. I understand that the owners are Italian, thus most of the dishes on the menu belong to their home cuisine, with few Indonesian entries. Its OK for a stand alone restaurant, but for a resort, in a place like Gili T, we would prefer to spend all our time within the resort & beach than to venture out in search of other restaurants. A few more options on the menu will be appreciated.
Though the bicycles are in good condition, the headlight depends on the speed of the cycle. On a road full of pot holes and wet sand patches, the cycle just doesn't catch up enough speed for sufficient brightness. This is a serious concern, as it was pitch dark after sunset. For a 4 star resort, they must take initiative to fix their approach road, and put up some street lights to make it a smooth ride.
Most of the books at the reception, available for guests to read, were in Italiano. A few more English titles would be great, on a rainy day.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    276
    75
    25
    9
    5
See reviews for
49
247
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I came to the gili islands for a week in February and spent the whole time at Luce d'alma. To start with, if you have any hesitation of visiting the gili islands drop them. The views, people, and food throughout the island are amazing. My wife and I ate at the nit market almost every night.

As for Luce d'alma -

PROS:
- the staff arranged all transit on to and off of the island. While a little costly, the peace of mind to get off the plane, have a private car, private speed boat, and cidomo trip to the hotel was well worth it.
- all staff throughout our whole time there was fantastic. Especially zazu who worked at the beach.
- the rooms are immaculate, are beautifully adorned and have wifi available
- the pool (salt water) was huge!!! Great for laps, or just enjoying after a hot day out in the sand
- free and good quality bikes for the most part
- Nice to be away from the business and dustiness of the main part of town and really only a 10 minute trip home
- the best snorkelling in the island is right off their private beach. A shame about the state of the reef but spotted a few sea turtles!

CONS: I think there's a few easy things that could be addressed to make this a perfect hotel. But as my score reflects these did not cause enough of a hastle to leave a bad taste.
- the spa wasn't up to the quality and luxury of similarly priced hotels in bali and lombok that we stayed. My wife got a substandard and quite expensive manicure. My massage was decent however.
- the food (as mentioned by other travellers) is a real shame. Breakfast is passable and nice that it can delivered to the room, but everything else we had as snacks or dinner was 'okay' at best. Not on par with other hotels we've stayed at here, or the average food available on gili t. It's especially annoying when there's a downpour that keeps you trapped in the hotel with little other options.
- lights on the night bikes need to be addressed. The road is bumpy and after rain filled with puddles. When the lights do work, they aren't very strong and you are left just hoping there won't be a big hole. Also a few times they worked when setting off for town, but didn't work on the return trip. As someone else mentioned, bring a headlamp. But maybe another solution can be found by the hotel.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed in Luce d alma on February 2013. The staff are very friendly and the owner is very nice!! The hotel is 4 minutes bicycle ride to the private beach!! Nice bar at the beach with tanning chairs and white sand. The bikes are for free in the hotel. All rooms have good AC, cable TV, DVD and the front desk has a good collection of movies.

It takes 10 minutes from the main beach, were the boat leaves you when arrival to the island, by horse ride (only way to travel in Gili) to the hotel.

All rooms are faced to the big pool, just a step away from the door to the pool!! Very peaceful place. We stayed 3 nights, just enough to do some snorkeling, go around the island and find nice restaurants.

Room Tip: All rooms are same!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I LOVED LOVED LOVED this place. Despite that fact that it was a bit of trek to get to the main strip on the island plus it's a walk to the beach, it was well with it. The suite was gorgeously appointed, CLEAN, opulent, and had two private patios that opened onto the pool. The included breakfast was delicious and plentiful. There's nothing else like it on this particular island--and we looked! I love showing off my pictures to my friends.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights during our Indonesia travels. We were recommended this place by another couple who had just spend some time here, so we decided to try this place. Despite being off the main drag, it actually ended up being a perfect location. The island is a party place, and being able to bike home at night away from the noisy, party on the main part of the island, was amazing. It is a short bike ride from the main strip to the hotel, and at night, after cocktails, this was an hilarious feat. I would suggest you bring your own headlamps, however we found it to be an adventure and added to the island fun. Antonio was amazing as the host, he always made sure things were good, and made it a welcoming and comfortable place to stay. We would certainly stay here again. The pool was incredible, bed was comfortable, room was spacious and colourful, overlooking the blue pool. The Indonesian breakfasts were excellent!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed in January during our honeymoon. The staff was very friendly and the hotel manager tries to make you feel home. The hotel is 8 min ride by bike from the beach. The bike is available for free at the hotel. The pool was kind of life saver for us when it was raining since the water was clean and one time there were jellyfish in the sea. Besides snorkeling or diving there is not much to do on that island. The gym is equipped with some very old weights, you rather go cycling or go swimming in the pool. In order to get to the hotel you have to pass by places that are full of garbage and dirt. During the rainy period all the streets around the hotel are standing under water so that you have to walk in the puddles and mud. The breakfast was not standard of a 4* hotel. The manager repeated to order more and more food, but the quality except for the omelette and cake was really disappointing. I had a crepe and it was not even cooked well. What was for me more surprising was the fact that they were not able to prepare espresso or cappuccino coffee although the managers were Italian!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed for 6 nights in mid January, and from the moment we arrived were made to feel welcome and comfortable. Rooms are spacious and beautifully designed. Nothing was a problem for the staff, who clearly enjoy their work. Free bike access is a particular asset, allowing easy cruising around the island. Incredibly impressive accommodation, particularly for the price. Perfetto!

Room Tip: All lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Luce d'Alma Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luce d'Alma Resort & Spa

Address: West Nusa Tenggara 83352, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Gili Trawangan
#1 Luxury Hotel in Gili Trawangan
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Gili Trawangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Luce d'Alma Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luce d'Alma is the newest resort to open its doors on the island of Gili Trawangan. This beautiful resort is surrounded by dancing coconut palms and is built around its private 230 foot long pool. Each room has direct access to the pool from its own terrace. If you are an ocean lover for your daily swim this resort's own private beach is just five minutes from your villa door. All the villas are elegantly furnished and come with: tv, dvd, air conditioning, mini bar, safety box, coffee and tea making, fresh hot water shower and bathtub, bathrobe, hairdryer, idd telephone, free bicycles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, AsiaRooms and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Luce d'Alma Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luce d`Alma Hotel Gili Trawangan
Luce d`Alma Resort And Spa
Luce D'Alma Resort & Spa Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luce d'Alma Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.