We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“peaceful, stylish and spacious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luce d'Alma Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Luce d'Alma Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Luce d'Alma Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   West Nusa Tenggara 83352, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Gili Trawangan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“peaceful, stylish and spacious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I stayed for 5 nights in June and have only just got around to writing a review. I was surprised at how spacious all the bungalows were, even more so than the photos look. I had requested a quiet room and a deck that gets the sun in the afternoon, and I got exactly that, a room furthest away from the reception/reception area which is at one end of the pool, and a room with sunshine all day on its deck (the other side of the resort is in shade all afternoon).

The rooms I think are all the same - ours was perfect for a few days or more with amazing big bathroom, fresh water (unusual on Gilis), huge fridge, lots of wardrobe space, safe, everything you need really.

We loved having the free bikes as it made it so easy to be away from all the noise but still 5 minutes into the action. Some bikes are better than others though so make sure you get a good one if you're going to try and do a lap of the island!!

We didn't eat at the restaurant for dinner as it always seemed a bit quiet, choosing to cycle 5 minutes into town (and the ride back in the dark after several too many Bintangs was a laugh), but ate breakfast as it was included. Breakfast was a bit of a disappointment in some ways (orange squash rather than juice, very little choice being pancakes, or eggs how you want) but it did the job and was not bad.

The staff and management are lovely and welcoming too. I would definitely return if I go back to the island.

Room Tip: one side of the resort gets sun on the room's private decks and one side doesn't - if you ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    98
    34
    11
    9
See reviews for
54
285
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Had the pleasure of staying at Luce d'Alma Resort for one night last month... it is located on the quiet northern area of the island but still very walkable to the main strip (or can use one of the free bikes from the resort). The hotel appears very new, facilities were pristine - my room was gorgeous, spacious, bathroom/shower was exceptional. Staff was very accommodating, food was excellent! Antonio (brother of Lucio, the owner) was fabulous, very gracious and welcoming. I will definitely be staying here again! Thank you! :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

The resort is located in the north of Gili Trawangan, not on the crowded and noisy main street of the island. There are 14 bungalows with a huge and spectacular swimming pool splitting up the resort.
The room has every comfort:tv, dvd player (with a wide selection of dvds at the reception, both in italian or english, mini bar, beach towel.
Breakfast is essential but good, with a selection of international and indonesian food.
Guests are provided with bycicles to wander throught this little, cosy island.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

The problem with this hotel is a marked lack of attention to detail. The rooms are big, but the beds are uncomfortable, with cheap and scratchy bedding. Half of the private pool front terraces are entirely in the shade all day and the hotel provides only two chairs in the sun for public use. The restaurant menu is embarassing and includes such delicacies as chicken fingers, spaghetti bolognese and a host of overpriced standard indonesian dishes (satay and stir-fry). Wine list is non-existant. We had two massages in the spa and noticed that the towels and pareos on the massage tables had not been changed in the interim. The hotel is located a 10 minute walk to the beach at the end of a road which we dubbed "spider alley" as many giant spiders hang over the wires alongside the road and overhead. The "private beach" is on the main beach strip and consists of approx 40 chaises longue practically piled on top of each other with cheesy techno/reggaeton music played by the kids tending the bar. Overall not impressed.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights in this beuatifull place on Gili.
We never realised that the hotel is not situated on the beach, but it was no problem at all. You can walk to the nearby beach or use one of the bicycles of the hotel: perfect, we felt like a local!
The owner of the hotel is the charming Italien Antonio, who takes really good care of all the quests!
Sweet staff, very very good in giving you a perfect holiday feeling!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed here for three nights,from the moment you arrive you are made to feel very welcome.
We had an absolutely fantastic stay,very clean,friendly owner who actually talks to all his guests.

The pool is truly amazing runs from one end of the villas to the other end.
Large rooms with a kingsize bed & an area to sit & watch TV,you are lent bikes to ride around the Island.

Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Even knowing that the hotel had excellent reviews, we were still surprised by the standard of this hotel. The rooms are very spacious with lovely decor. The pool is fabulous both to look at and to swim in! The host and staff were very attentive and always smiling. We wished we could stay longer to have a candlelight dinner by the pool. Don't hesitate in booking this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Luce d'Alma Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luce d'Alma Resort & Spa

Address: West Nusa Tenggara 83352, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Gili Trawangan
#2 Luxury Hotel in Gili Trawangan
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Gili Trawangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Luce d'Alma Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luce d'Alma is the newest resort to open its doors on the island of Gili Trawangan. This beautiful resort is surrounded by dancing coconut palms and is built around its private 230 foot long pool. Each room has direct access to the pool from its own terrace. If you are an ocean lover for your daily swim this resort's own private beach is just five minutes from your villa door. All the villas are elegantly furnished and come with: tv, dvd, air conditioning, mini bar, safety box, coffee and tea making, fresh hot water shower and bathtub, bathrobe, hairdryer, idd telephone, free bicycles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Luce d'Alma Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luce d`Alma Hotel Gili Trawangan
Luce d`Alma Resort And Spa
Luce D'Alma Resort & Spa Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luce d'Alma Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.