We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best 2 night's stay in Gili T” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Martas Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gili Trawangan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Martas Hotel
Save
You added Martas Hotel to your Saves list
off Main Street, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 103 Gili Trawangan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Luxembourg, Luxembourg, Luxembourg
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“best 2 night's stay in Gili T”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I went alone to Bali. I wanted to discover a bit of Bali. Checkout the beaches, try local food, go on some tours, etc.

I stayed 4 nights in Gili T.
I was supposed to stay on this other place that was awful and I left after the first night. So I went to see if I was lucky to find a vacancy at Marta's Hotel.
Unfortunately there was a mix-up and I was only able to stay 2 nights there. But luckily I was able to get an excellent deal on those 2 nigths. They didn't have any smaller room so I stayed in a family room (for 2+1 persons), It was much more than I needed and far from what I was expecting.


Normally I would list positive and negative points, but in this case there was nothing bad everything was excellent.

Location was excellent, 5 minutes from the harbour and right next to the center of the island
Everything looked cleaned and well maintained
The owner was very thoughtful and kind
Staff was helpful and very nice
Room was clean and proper, very spacious, balcony and all!
Bathroom was very clean
Best breakfast in all of my stays in Bali
WiFi worked perfectly

The only thing I regret was not being able to stay the entire 4nights there.
I would definitely recommend this to anyone (not sure if they have smaller rooms though).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    63
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
76
137
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

After researching many hotels on Gili, I decided on Marta's purely because of the reviews and long standing reputation.

We loved it. The room was spacious and well maintained.
The location was excellent. Close to everything yet far enough not to hear party time in the evening.
The grounds were gorgeous and the pool was a welcome oasis after a hot day island hopping, snorkelling or cycling.

The staff at Marta's were excellent. Breakfast was served with a smile and the food was excellent.
Our rooms were cleaned daily to the highest standard.
We couldn't have asked for more.

The hosts, Joanna & Marta were very warm, informative and accommodating. They have a fantastic formula and this alone will always make Marta's THE BEST place to stay on Gili T.

Thank you Joanna & Marta for a fantastic start to our holidays. We will be back!

Room Tip: We had a family room at the back of the property. I can't comment on the others, but ours was pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We've just returned from Gilli Trawangan staying at Martas, this friendly B&B is amazing. I travel all over the world staying in some really upmarket hotels and the welcome by Jo and Marta beat them all. It didn't end there, the rooms we're spacious over 2 floors and meticulously clean (I have a thing for cleanliness in hotels). Our room had a large shower room on the ground floor that was lovely and cool (35degrees outside). Upstairs was the bedroom with TV, DVD player and stereo and really good air con system. Outside each room was a lovely daybed, table and chair and a really magical touch was the outside fan which was so strong it circulated the hot air around making it nice and comfortable, I've never seen anything like that before in any hotel or B&B I've stayed. The swimming pool was blissful on the hot sunny days or after a walk around the Island.

The Staff that work for Jo and Marta were like a well oiled machine, they were really attentive and nothing was too much trouble. They were on hand from breakfast (I'll come to that later) to the end of day and were always cleaning the grounds, helping guests or cleaning rooms.

The breakfast element of the B&B experience at Martas was perfect, juice, fruit, either Nescafé or Lombok coffee (it certainly kicks you up in the morning), pancakes, omelettes or eggs on toast. We tried them all during our stay, all made to order and absolutely delicious.

There isn't a bar at Martas but with the number of them on the doorstep it isn't needed, they do have a large fridge in reception with water, local beer, cans of coke, lemonade etc so you don't need to go without if a beer calls whilst lying room the pool :)

All in all our experience at Martas was lovely and we can't wait to go back again

Room Tip: Room 4 was lovely but I think they all probably were !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Just returned from our third visit to Martas and were treated like old friends. Jo, Marta and all the team are just wonderful. Breakfast was the best that we had on our three week trip, villas beautiful and immaculately clean which is a must for me being the clean freak that I am!
Our 11 yr old son set up a bit of a card school with the staff, teaching them Uno, good times and happy memories!
Thanks guys......we will be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

+ Joanna was lovely and gave us a great intro and advise throughout our stay
All staff very friendly and helpful
Bungalows clean and spacious, pool and facilities great
Breakfast delicious, and bonus that you could have it at any time and on your balcony
Away from Main Street so nice and quiet, although a minute away from great bars and restaurants
- basic, but still definitely value for money

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Factuals:
Lovely split level individual rooms
Comfy bed, warm shower, everything clean, pool refreshing, breakfast brilliant, near main strip, cheap laundry, owner Joanna is lovely

Bad: music almost every night. Friday bass, Sunday bass, Monday even worse. If u will be out partying location is perfect. But if u want day joy and restful nights this is not the place for u. Staff without the owner around draw a blank on more complicated English communications.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

After a bit of confusion when we weren't collected after our boat arrived it was all smooth sailing. Staff were fantastic and our daughter loved playing with Astri who hung out with the much younger two year old without complaint. The breakfasts were huge and delicious and the tea/coffee at any time of the day was a great idea that I liked. The property is fanastic with the great day beds outside to relax and huge comfy beds. We made great use of the pool too and the grounds and rooms were maintained really well. Cannot recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Martas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martas Hotel

Address: off Main Street, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Gili Trawangan
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst lush tropical gardens, just a stones throw from the main hub of island activity, Martas offers a collection of beautiful 2-storey detached bungalows situated around a central swimming pool. Mixing traditional Lombok design with modern comforts, each bungalow features carved wood and natural stone decors, air-conditioning, king-size bed, private bathroom with fresh hot water shower and free toiletries, flat-screen TV and mini fridge. Larger bungalows for families and groups of friends are also available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Martas Hotel Gili Trawangan
Martas Hotel Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Martas Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.