We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Indonesian food, mellow vibe, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ya Ya Warung

Ya Ya Warung
Gili Meno, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 22 Restaurants in Gili Meno
Cuisines: Indonesian
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Indonesian food, mellow vibe, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Ya Ya is perfect place to grab lunch or dinner on Gili Meno. Its amazingly low key. Service is slow, but if you're in a rush, you likely shouldn't vacation on Gili Meno (actually, you should to slow things down a bit). I was excited to try the grilled squid, so the server invited me back to select which squid I'd like. It was perfectly seasoned and grilled. The view, like most beachfront restaurants on the island, was great. Over the course of our meal, we sat and watched the water boat come in from Lombok and locals arrive with horse carts to take their share. What separated Ya Ya from the rest is the vibe - perfectly mellow. Its interesting to contrast Ya Ya with the new, brighter, almost garish restaurant next door. I'll take Ya Ya any day.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    30
    6
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Indonesian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

The food was so yummy and very cheap. Just had to be a bit patient but sitting on the waterfront made it easy to wait.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Nice and relaxed place! Really good juices, shrimps mie goreng, fried bananas… Everything cheap and portions are generous! Friendly people! Be prepared to wait (like almost everywhere on this island) … and enjoy!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontianak, Indonesia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a visit or 10”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Went to Ya-Ya's on our first day, and kept going back. Food was great, and the atmosphere even better. expect some delays on food, especially in the evening, its not an island to rush on anyway, so you'll hardly notice.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lombok, Nusa Tenggara Barat, Indonesia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Food, Friendly service and chill out atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I was staying on Gili Meno for over 1 month at Amigos Bungalow which is not far from YaYa Warung. The Food here at the Warung is tasty and delicious. you can pick fresh fish that they catch the same day. They grill the fish and it is so delicious what the lady put on it. i also really enjoyed pura pura. I ate here on several occasions and the food and service is always great. When you wait for your food you can enjoy the guitar that is being played. It is a nice beach front area that is calm and romantic.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ya Ya Warung also viewed

 
Gili Meno, Gili Islands
Gili Meno, Gili Islands
 

Been to Ya Ya Warung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ya Ya Warung, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.