We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful but not a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Meno Dream Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Meno Dream Resort to your Saves list
Meno Dream Resort
Gili Meno, West Nusa Tenggara 83111, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 Gili Meno B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful but not a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

Super nice property, but away from everything. Would recommend a location closer to the beach or the main town part of Gili Meno. The walk home at night was not fun, and a real pain when it rained. The property is well maintained and great food! If you're more interested in reading in a hammock then swimming and eating in different restaurants then the location is fine.

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    19
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
3
53
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We had a memorable 6 night stay at Meno Dream Resort, for all the right reasons. Clearly Bernie & Made have a very strong vision of the environment & experience that they want to create & share with guests - & we were delighted with our stay. This was our first visit to Gili Meno, but we have travelled extensively in Indonesia & SE Asia. Meno Dream Resort is not your "average" accommodation, but something much more unique. We greatly enjoyed the warm welcome & subsequent conversations, the freshly prepared food, the landscaped gardens, the peaceful mood... All in all there is a quite magical quality about this property. We enjoyed our walks to & from Meno Dream Resort a great deal, & felt we experienced more of the island because of this. Also, the beach on the quieter side of Gili Meno is only 5 minutes away - & deserted! We left with very happy memories.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We stayed with Made and Bernie for five nights and enjoyed it all. Made's cooking was the best we had in Indonesia. My daughter, months later, out of the blue asked "Will we ever have gnocchi as good as Made's?" Rooms are beautiful and landscaping gorgeous. Not right on beach but walkable to all parts of the island.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalsmeer, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Based on the many excellent reviews, we booked 4 nights in one of the 2 fan rooms. Bernie and Made have made this place special, but it is not completely finished. Our room was comfortable and clean, with a very good bed and big mosquito net!! The bathroom is partly outside and nice, however if you take a shower, the floor in front of the small wash basin gets wet. We had to ask for clean towels after 3 nights and also for toilet paper. Not a big thing, but you might find this annoying. Meals are well prepared, but choices are a bit limited. Outside the resort it's village style, so be aware of the fact to have a lot of chickens and roosters around that can wake you early, so take earplugs. When we left Made was going to change windows to be opened and probably better lightning in the rooms, cause at night, we found it very dark in the rooms. We are sure Bernie and Made will make your stay pleasant, as they are eager to make this small and nice resort going!
If you stay here and you are looking for a bit more comfort, do book the ac room, which looked very nice and most comfortable.

Room Tip: The fan room was comfortable but during our stay, very hot. They are changing the windows, so they c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

All the very nice things said in the previous reviews are correct, namely:
- The resort is the cosiest accomodation in Meno, beautiful bungalows and garden.
- The couple that runs the resort, Bernie and Made, are very nice and welcoming :)
- Made cooks really amazing dishes, and at a very reasonable price.

... but I will also like to draw your attention to some weak points not mentioned here:
- by Sept 2012 only 1 room had aircon. This may not be a problem during most of the year, but during the days we stayed there it was too hot. We didn't feel good during the day inside the room, even with door and window opened.
- the 5-10 minutes to the beach are a short and pleasant walk. However, take into account that most of the other accomodations in Meno are just at 20m from the beach, an option you may prefer. Except in the harbour, the other accomodations are also very quiet and relaxing even being right on the beach.
- being the resort near the houses of the locals, we were delighted with very early awakening sounds as: a chainsaw cutting nearby palm trees, many roosters, chickens... etc.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland, or
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Bernie and Made's place exceeded our expectations from all of the past positive reviews. We rented the bungalow with the upstairs open roof, which we used for afternoon breezy naps as well as evening stargazing. I highly recommend Meno Dream to anyone traveling to Bali. You will want to stay at least 3 nights because the sea crossing is quite rough. Make sure to bring Dramamine...

(Oops! There is no pool..I don't know how to undo the rating.)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Made & Berni, thank you for an amazing stay with you! Beautiful rooms & bathrooms & I slept so so well you know I didnt want to leave! Made is as written before an amazing cook & breakfasts were always delicious! Slightly tucked away in the south of the island its just so peaceful & you get to totally relax! Amazing service & kindness throughout my trip & I look forward to coming back here again for sure! Each room is finished beautifully & I had the best sleep here than anywhere else in the gills! Meno's beaches are stunning & Meno dream is the best place to stay, cannot recommend highly enough! See you soon guys & once again thank you for everything!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Meno Dream Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meno Dream Resort

Address: Gili Meno, West Nusa Tenggara 83111, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Meno
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Gili Meno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get away from it all…We are here for you, open in June 2012. Located on the southwest side of Gili Meno. Five minutes stroll to the beach and surrounded only by nature.Choose between 4 different types of bungalows, traditional exterior, an interior mixture of modernity and warmth.Restaurant offers a wide selection of dishes from traditional Indonesian to western cuisine. Eager to know how to cook traditional Indonesian dishes? Cooking courses are available.Indulge yourself with pleasures of different massages in romantic atmosphere.Sport Activities:Table tennisBadmintonBeach tennisSnorkeling ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Meno Dream Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meno Dream Resort Gili Meno, Gili Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meno Dream Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.