We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice small resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Meno Dream Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gili Meno
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Meno Dream Resort
Gili Meno, West Nusa Tenggara 83111, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Gili Meno B&B and Inns
Aalsmeer, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice small resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Based on the many excellent reviews, we booked 4 nights in one of the 2 fan rooms. Bernie and Made have made this place special, but it is not completely finished. Our room was comfortable and clean, with a very good bed and big mosquito net!! The bathroom is partly outside and nice, however if you take a shower, the floor in front of the small wash basin gets wet. We had to ask for clean towels after 3 nights and also for toilet paper. Not a big thing, but you might find this annoying. Meals are well prepared, but choices are a bit limited. Outside the resort it's village style, so be aware of the fact to have a lot of chickens and roosters around that can wake you early, so take earplugs. When we left Made was going to change windows to be opened and probably better lightning in the rooms, cause at night, we found it very dark in the rooms. We are sure Bernie and Made will make your stay pleasant, as they are eager to make this small and nice resort going!
If you stay here and you are looking for a bit more comfort, do book the ac room, which looked very nice and most comfortable.

Room Tip: The fan room was comfortable but during our stay, very hot. They are changing the windows, so they c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    17
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
3
47
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

All the very nice things said in the previous reviews are correct, namely:
- The resort is the cosiest accomodation in Meno, beautiful bungalows and garden.
- The couple that runs the resort, Bernie and Made, are very nice and welcoming :)
- Made cooks really amazing dishes, and at a very reasonable price.

... but I will also like to draw your attention to some weak points not mentioned here:
- by Sept 2012 only 1 room had aircon. This may not be a problem during most of the year, but during the days we stayed there it was too hot. We didn't feel good during the day inside the room, even with door and window opened.
- the 5-10 minutes to the beach are a short and pleasant walk. However, take into account that most of the other accomodations in Meno are just at 20m from the beach, an option you may prefer. Except in the harbour, the other accomodations are also very quiet and relaxing even being right on the beach.
- being the resort near the houses of the locals, we were delighted with very early awakening sounds as: a chainsaw cutting nearby palm trees, many roosters, chickens... etc.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland, or
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Bernie and Made's place exceeded our expectations from all of the past positive reviews. We rented the bungalow with the upstairs open roof, which we used for afternoon breezy naps as well as evening stargazing. I highly recommend Meno Dream to anyone traveling to Bali. You will want to stay at least 3 nights because the sea crossing is quite rough. Make sure to bring Dramamine...

(Oops! There is no pool..I don't know how to undo the rating.)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Made & Berni, thank you for an amazing stay with you! Beautiful rooms & bathrooms & I slept so so well you know I didnt want to leave! Made is as written before an amazing cook & breakfasts were always delicious! Slightly tucked away in the south of the island its just so peaceful & you get to totally relax! Amazing service & kindness throughout my trip & I look forward to coming back here again for sure! Each room is finished beautifully & I had the best sleep here than anywhere else in the gills! Meno's beaches are stunning & Meno dream is the best place to stay, cannot recommend highly enough! See you soon guys & once again thank you for everything!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

All lumbungs sit within a beautifully cared for garden - there are hammocks in the middle for relaxing and table tennis for when you have the energy! It's no distance at all to the beach (10 mins tops to either side of the island) and this makes Meno Dream better than the places on teh beach - it feels hidden, like only you have discovered it! Our rooms was lovely - and very clean! I really liked that Bernie and Made (the owners) interspersed the clearning with eating cake ... very 'spoon full of sugar' / Mary Poppins! They are a lovely couple and made us feel really welcome - go visit them!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bled, Slovenia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Being in still younger/wilder period of a life time, we wanted to go to the party island, Gili T. On the way, we decided to stop for one night on Gili Meno to meet up with some friends. What it was planned to be one night only, it later turned out to be 4 nights (and yet we still regret we did not stay longer). Dream Resort and their owners, Berni and Made, were actually mostly responsible for our prolonged staying. The resort is designed with lots of style, with so many amazingly though details,... you just fall in love with it. Another amazing thing is the food that is ultimately fresh, mostly being prepared by Made. At the time of our staying he everyday surprised us with different, but always delicious, Indonesian speciality. Would love to go back some day. Thanks Berni and Made for everything!

Room Tip: All rooms/cottages are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

YOU MUST STAY HERE IF YOU GET THE CHANCE! We spent 3 wonderful days at Gili Meno Dream Resort. We only meant to stay one night, but completely fell in love with the place and couldn't help but stay on a little longer. As I sat in a cafe by the port in gili meno my husband mike went in search of a place for us to stay. He came back about 2 hours later and said he had found a beautiful hidden away place in the middle of coconut trees. As we arrived I was blown away by the beauty of the place, gorgeous gardens, well maintained bungalows and the most friendly down to earth owners, Bernie and Made. I really admired the love and care they had for the place, their friendliness towards their guests - it was like they were sharing their beautfiul home with lots of travellers. Made's breakfasts are out of this world - you can go for banana pancakes, or my favourite was the omlette - absolutely mouthwatering.
This place is very quiet and romantic and perfect if you want a bit of piece and quiet after partying in Trawangan. The price for the room is very reasonable. The only thing I found difficult was that the rooms were so hot! We cannot thank Made and Bernie enough for making our stay so special and memorable. We will be recommending you to everyone! By far the best place we have stayed in Indonesia.
Helena and Michael - London (UK) on our honeymoon : )

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Meno Dream Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meno Dream Resort

Address: Gili Meno, West Nusa Tenggara 83111, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Meno
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Gili Meno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get away from it all…We are here for you, open in June 2012. Located on the southwest side of Gili Meno. Five minutes stroll to the beach and surrounded only by nature.Choose between 4 different types of bungalows, traditional exterior, an interior mixture of modernity and warmth.Restaurant offers a wide selection of dishes from traditional Indonesian to western cuisine. Eager to know how to cook traditional Indonesian dishes? Cooking courses are available.Indulge yourself with pleasures of different massages in romantic atmosphere.Sport Activities:Table tennisBadmintonBeach tennisSnorkeling ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Meno Dream Resort Gili Meno, Gili Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meno Dream Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Meno Dream Resort to your Saves list