We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food. Hidden Gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort Restaurant

MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort Restaurant
West Gili Meno, West Nusa Tenggara 80100, Indonesia
+62 888-7155-828
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 22 Restaurants in Gili Meno
Price range: $5 - $40
Cuisines: Asian, Bakery, Indonesian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Our modern, stylish restaurant and bar offer stunning views of the beach and neighbouring island. The modern Asian restaurant delivers delicious fusion food of an international standard, with a twist, carefully created by internationally trained executive chef, Jar. Should you tire of the idyllic views, you can watch chef create sensational dishes from his open kitchen. Diners can choose from an extensive wine and cocktail list alongside the dinner menu as they enjoy a romantic dinner with stunning sunset views. Daily specials also available alongside the a la carte and set menus and fresh seafood is a speciality.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Great Food. Hidden Gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We had lunch here and it was really delicious. The staff were lovely and attentive. The place is clean and has a lovely beach atmosphere. The prices are a little higher than other places but it is worth it because the food is good. It is a fabulous place to have a meal! I love the little touches like the quotes on the menus...such a great idea! We will be back for more soon!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAHAMAYAResort, Owner at MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort Restaurant, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear vs2008vs,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a great review for MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort Restaurant.
We are very pleased to hear that you had a great experience during your meal with us.
MAHAMAYA offers a truly unique experience on Gili Meno, with a high quality product.
Chef Jar and his team in the kitchen work hard to create an interesting, varied, healthy and unique menu.
Thank you for your comments about our team who work very hard to ensure that all of our guests are satisfied and happy.


We are blessed with our location and it it truly beautiful to sit on the beach, in the shade of the trees enjoying a leisurely lunch whilst gazing at the tropical turquoise seas.
In the evening our location is magically lit with lanterns the perfect setting for cocktails and a romantic dinner under the stars.
Thank you finally for your comments that we offer good value for money, this is so nice to hear.

We very much hope that we can welcome you back soon to MAHAMAYA!

Warmest Regards,
MAHAMAYA Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    33
    9
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampere, Finland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service on charming island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Mahamaya is definitely one of the finest restaurants on Indonesia, on whole world. The environment is charming little island and the restaurant area is decorated with good taste and with beautiful views over the sea (you see diving places in front of the beach). They have excellent service and the food is so tasty and nice looking. Sauces are wonderful.

The Indonesian chef has been working on London 5-star hotel over 10 years, and you really can notice that.

You need to have a table reservation on summer evenings, because it is so popular. We really enjoyed eating dinner on the beach dark time, too, very romantic and private setting.

We had fish, shrimps, excellent steaks, creek salad, mexican wraps and many others, and always perfect!
The owner is from England, but has been living all over the world, very friendly guy.

Definately recommend! The prices are not so high what you might think from the outside.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAHAMAYAResort, Owner at MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort Restaurant, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Minttu69,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such an amazing review for MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort Restaurant.
We are very pleased to hear that you had a great experience during your meals with us.

Thank you especially for your comments about our service and our restaurant offering good value for money.
MAHAMAYA offers a truly unique experience on Gili Meno, with a high quality product.

Chef Jar and his team in the kitchen work hard to create an interesting, varied, healthy and unique menu on our tiny island!
We offer both our popular set menu but also a host of fresh daily specials using seasonal ingredients.
We are pleased to hear that you felt his International training was so evident in his dishes.

We are blessed with our location and it it truly beautiful to sit on the beach, in the shade of the trees enjoying a leisurely lunch whilst gazing at the tropical turquoise seas.
In the evening our location is magically lit with lanterns the perfect setting for cocktails and a romantic dinner under the stars.
Our local service team are truly fantastic and work hard to ensure that guests have a complete dining experience.
Our restaurant in very popular in the high season it is definitely worth making an advance booking for the beach tables.

We very much hope that we can welcome you back soon to MAHAMAYA for our excellent food and service on our charming island!

Warmest Regards,
MAHAMAYA Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Froombosch, Groningen, Netherlands
2 reviews
“Michelin star-worthy dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I've never been to a michelin-star restaurant. But I think this comes close.
Perfect food, specially if you take into account that the Island is very small and getting fresh food every day seems challenging

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAHAMAYAResort, Owner at MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort Restaurant, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Bastiaan S,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such an amazing review for MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort Restaurant.
We are very pleased to hear that you had a great experience during your meal with us and how wonderful for the comparison to a Michelin star restaurant!
MAHAMAYA offers a truly unique experience on Gili Meno, with a high quality product.

Chef Jar and his team in the kitchen work hard to create an interesting, varied, healthy and unique menu which is indeed a challenge on our tiny island!
We offer both our popular set menu but also a host of fresh daily specials using seasonal ingredients.

We very much hope that we can welcome you back soon to MAHAMAYA Michelin star-worthy dining!

Warmest Regards,
MAHAMAYA Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL LOCATION AND EXCELLENT SERVICE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We visited Mahamaya for dinner during the Idul Fitri holidays. Most other restaurants we tried on the Gilis during the same week were struggling with service (staff going back to their hometowns), many were closed and some could not find enough food. Mahamaya had no such problems. Testimony to its management and planning, I suspect. The location is absolutely outstanding; sitting on a white beach with the sun setting in front of you whilst sipping cocktails? One of the finest settings for dinner that I have ever known. The prices are high compared to other Gili Meno restaurants, but this is a class apart and definitely worth it. The set dinner menu is a reasonable price but the portions could be more generous. The staff were ploite and obliging.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAHAMAYAResort, Owner at MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort Restaurant, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Neville3695,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such an amazing review for MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort Restaurant.
We are very pleased to hear that you had a great experience during your meal with us.

Thank you especially for your comments about our service and our restaurant offering good value for money.
MAHAMAYA offers a truly unique experience on Gili Meno, with a high quality product.
It's so nice that you felt that our restaurant was good value for money!

Chef Jar and his team in the kitchen work hard to create an interesting, varied, healthy and unique menu on our tiny island!
We offer both our popular set menu but also a host of fresh daily specials using seasonal ingredients.
We are blessed with our location and it it truly beautiful to sit on the beach, in the shade of the trees enjoying a leisurely lunch whilst gazing at the tropical turquoise seas.
In the evening our location is magically lit with lanterns the perfect setting for cocktails and a romantic dinner under the stars.
Our local service team are truly fantastic and work hard to ensure that guests have a complete dining experience.
Thank you for your kind comments about our team it will really make them happy, especially for those that worked during the holidays!.

We very much hope that we can welcome you back soon to MAHAMAYA the best in the Gilis'!

Warmest Regards,
MAHAMAYA Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minusio, Switzerland
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Lunch, Dinner in Paradise!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed 5 nights at the Mahamaya on Gili Meno, We had several breakfast,lunches and dinners at the restaurant. The Location is great, eating on the sea side with your feet in the sand and a breath taking view ...perfect.
The service is great and very helpful, all young people trying to do their best to make the client feel like a King.
The food is excellent and very fresh and also the value for money is ok.
There are two little remarks, one about the quickness, we twice had to wait over 40 minutes for our lunch ( we were the only clients). and the second is about the difficulty to read the menu, the dark background and light color writing makes it very difficult to read at dinner time:-)
But it is really a great restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAHAMAYAResort, Owner at MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort Restaurant, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Ticino4,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such an amazing review for MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort Restaurant.
We are very pleased to hear that you had a great experience during your meal with us.

Thank you especially for your comments about our service and our restaurant offering good value for money.
MAHAMAYA offers a truly unique experience on Gili Meno, with a high quality product.

Chef Jar and his team in the kitchen work hard to create an interesting, varied, healthy and unique menu on our tiny island!
We offer both our popular set menu but also a host of fresh daily specials using seasonal ingredients, so nice to hear that you appreciated this.

We are blessed with our location and it it truly beautiful to sit on the beach, in the shade of the trees enjoying a leisurely lunch whilst gazing at the tropical turquoise seas.
In the evening our location is magically lit with lanterns the perfect setting for cocktails and a romantic dinner under the stars.
Our local service team are truly fantastic and work hard to ensure that guests have a complete dining experience.
Thank you for your kind comments about our team it will really make them happy and drive them to improve their service.

We do apologise that you had to wait one time for your food, this really is exceptional as chef prides himself on fast service from the kitchen.
You will be pleased to hear that our menus are being reprinted but we have had to wait a while due to the Eid holidays!

We very much hope that we can welcome you back soon to MAHAMAYA lunch and dinner in Paradise!

Warmest Regards,
MAHAMAYA Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort Restaurant also viewed

Gili Meno, Gili Islands
Gili Meno, Gili Islands
 
Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands
Gili Meno, Gili Islands
 

Been to MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.