We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to be at Gili Meno!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort to your Saves list
MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Turtle Point | West Gili Meno, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gili Meno
Minusio, Switzerland
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“The place to be at Gili Meno!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This 2 year old modern Resort is located on the beach at Turtle Point. We stayed for five days and had one pool side room and one sea front room.The rooms are spacious and clean, with a outside shower and airco. The interior is nice but could have been more tasteful ( if you visit Bali you know what I mean). The pool side room was noisy, but this depends just on the neighbors!
The location is just great, just 30 meters from the Sea, the beach is with corral pieces this makes the entering bare feet difficult ,so bring your beach shoes!
The snorkeling is super! A lot of fish and we saw a lot of sea turtles :-)
We were at the restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner, There is a good choice of delicious plates, but maybe it would be nice to offer a different menu at lunch and dinner.
The quality and taste however were very good.
the staff is very friendly and are always there to make your stay unforgettable.Compliments to all of you!
We also liked the ecological aspect from this resort, if all of us take one plastic bag and fill this up with the plastic from the nearby beaches Gili Meno will stay as beautiful as it is now.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAHAMAYAResort, Owner at MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Ticino4,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review for MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort.
We are very pleased to hear that you had a such a lovely time during your stay with us.
We are pleased to hear that you likes the chic modern design of our resort.

Our local service team are truly fantastic and work hard to ensure that guests have a complete resort experience.
Chef Jar and his team in the kitchen work extremely hard to create an interesting, varied, healthy and unique menu on our tiny island!
Thank you also for your lovely comments about our food, chef has created a menu that is delicious, and innovative.
We have 2 menu options a set menu that changes weekly and our daily specials menu which is different every day, dependent on what is fresh and seasonal.
Chef does indeed pride himself in offering fresh and tasty dishes, so nice to hear how much you appreciated his food.

Our eco policy is highly important to us at MAHAMAYA and we have invested heavily in modern technology to assist our endeavors.
We are located on a small island with some limited resources and it's so nice to hear that you appreciate our sustainability efforts.
We were also very much appreciate of your efforts in assisting us to keep the beaches of Gili Meno in pristine condition and free of rubbish!

We will of course pass on all your lovely comments to our team.

We very much hope that we can welcome you back soon to MAHAMAYA the place to be at Gili Meno!

Warmest Regards,
MAHAMAYA Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    46
    14
    3
    5
See reviews for
58
250
11
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Excellent setting, clean, tastful interior design, relatively quiet AC, very friendly, competent and local staff, excellent cuisine!!!, wonderful dinners on the beach, impressive ECO-policy of the owner regarding fresh water, electricity, employment and excellent training of local staff that conveys good spirit and a personal atmosphere.

Room Tip: Any room is worth the money! We had a room with pool view, cheaper than ocean view, but equally nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAHAMAYAResort, Owner at MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear ansoca,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a fantastic review for MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort.
We are very pleased to hear that you had a such a great time during your stay with us.

Our local service team are truly fantastic and work hard to ensure that guests have a complete resort experience.
Chef Jar and his team in the kitchen work extremely hard to create an interesting, varied, healthy and unique menu on our tiny island!
Thank you also for your lovely comments about our food, chef has created a menu that is delicious, and innovative.

Our eco policy is highly important to us at MAHAMAYA and we have invested heavily in modern technology to assist our endeavors.
We are located on a small island with some limited resources and it's so nice to hear that you appreciate our sustainability efforts.
We encourage our huests to minimise laundry and water consumption, which reduces both our need for additional fresh water-boat supply from Lombok and our carbon footprint.

We very much hope that we can welcome you back soon to MAHAMAYA's very friendly, relaxing atmosphere!

Warmest Regards,
MAHAMAYA Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

If you read Manu Heinisch comment you get a broad picture of what Mahamaya is and has to offer. We travelled together and stayed there for 6 nights and it was....breathtaking!!! Such friendly staff, excellent food and comfortable rooms......hard to beat. Walk around the island and explore other resorts and beaches.....but always take sandales with you as the beach is covered with corals. If you like a quite and relaxing place for your vacation go there, you will not be disappointed. Thank you so much Dave, Jo and Ali for our unforgetable vacation..Inga and Dorit

Room Tip: Take a beach villa so that you can see the beach and sea as soon as you open the eyes in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAHAMAYAResort, Owner at MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Inga and Dorit,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a charming review for MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort.
We are very pleased to hear that you had a such a lovely time during your stay with us.
We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed all of our facilities and our chic modern design.

Chef Jar and his team in the kitchen will be very pleased that you thought our food was so amazing!
We have to agree that we have an amazing team, and they really are all superstars!
They do work very hard to ensure that all of our guests are satisfied and happy and they thoroughly enjoy meeting and getting to know our guests.
Our ultimate aim is to make guests feel at home and part of the MAHAMAYA family so it was nice to hear that we achieved this and made your stay truly special.


We all really enjoyed getting to know you all and chatting with your group, we are truly blessed with some lovely guests.
We very much hope that we can welcome you back soon to MAHAMAYA little Paradise!

Warmest Regards,
MAHAMAYA Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed at Mahamaya with friends during a 2-day break away from Bali. If you consider staying at Gili Meno, this is the place to be! Great location! The hotel is located right on the beach with direct access to one of the best snorkeling spots on the island. Best time for snorkeling is from 8AM- 11AM. Simply get into the water in front of the hotel, 30 meter to the left when facing the sea. You will be welcomed by an abundance of corals, fish and with a little bit of luck turtles. We especially enjoyed our early morning cappuccinos, sunset cocktails and dining on the beach. Scuba divers will find dive operators within 50 meters from the hotel, right on the beach. Delicious food! Breakfast is simple but lovers of poached eggs will appreciate the Egg Benedictine prepared by the international chef. Also the omelet with feta cheese was most delicious. Kids liked the French pancakes with lemon and honey. Dinner was without any doubt one of the highlights of the day: a comprehensive menu of daily specials, all freshly prepared. Plates have a rather international touch, less Indonesian. Our favorites include green chicken/beef curry, spring rolls with duck, salade niçoise with grilled tuna, Singapore seafood laksa and fettuccini with tomatoes & shrimps. Kids menu available. We also enjoyed the cocktails prepared by bartender Fi. Happy Hour is from 5PM to 7PM with each day a new selection of 3 cocktails. The girls liked the Piña Collada and Tequila Sour. The boys liked the Rum Daisy. Cocktails are not too strong so you can have more than 1 ... Wonderful staff! From the moment you arrive until you depart, the owner and his local staff will do everything to make your stay as comfortable as possible ... and always with a big smile! Gili Meno is an idyllic place but that comes with a lot of hassle to keep operations running smoothly. Once you realize for example how much effort it takes to provide you with fresh water for your daily shower you appreciate the staff even more. The only minor improvements are that staff could be somewhat more pro-active to serve drinks on the beach and the quality of the snorkeling gear (leaking tubas and only available for adults). We'll for sure be heading back to Gili Meno and Mahamaya during one of our next trips to Bali!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAHAMAYAResort, Owner at MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear TimVdB,

Thank you so much for your amazing and comprehensive review for MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort.
It’s so nice for us to read such lovely comments about your great experience at MAHAMAYA.

Our staff work hard to make guests stay both memorable and enjoyable.
We do agree that Fi does make some truly amazing cocktails and we hope you can come back soon for some more!
Chef Jar and his team in the kitchen create an interesting, varied, healthy and unique menu on our tiny island!
We offer both our popular set menu but also a host of fresh daily specials using seasonal ingredients, but he is always happy to accommodate individual requests.

We are especially pleased that you appreciated the challenges of operating a resort on our tiny island!
Our eco policy is highly important to us at MAHAMAYA and we have invested heavily in modern technology to assist our endeavors.
Fresh water conservation is a key part of this policy, as you mentioned it is a great challenge to bring fresh water to the island.

Our guests really do appreciate the free snorkeling equipment that we provide, we do upgrade these regularly due to repetitive use wear and tear and infact, we have just taken a new delivery.
It is also possible to snorkeling this equipment at some outlets on the island if you are looking for a specific fit.

Our local service team are truly fantastic and work hard to ensure that guests have a complete resort experience.
We are sure you appreciate it is a fine balance about offering good service on the beach, but also ensuring that guests are not disturbed too much whilst relaxing!
Thank you for your kind comments about our team it will really make them happy.

We very much hope that we can welcome you back to MAHAMAYA again soon for our great location, delicious food & wonderful staff!

Warmest Regards,
MAHAMAYA Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

After having a phantastic 3 week trip across Indonesia, Mahamaya put the frosting on the cake! Not only did it meet all our expectations to the fullest, the resort topped them all.On this remote island we had a wonderful quiet and relaxing week. Mahamaya is located right at the beach with beautiful turquoise water. The suits are very spacious, comfortable and clean. The bathroom is terrific and the highlight is the outdoor shower. But Mahamaya convienced us not just with its chic styling but also with its ecological concept. They really care about their Island. The food was excellent and very fresh. You can taste that the cook stands to his word: if I cannot get it fresh it doesn't come on the table. After having the first happy hour drink we couldn't resist the invitation from the bartender to try some of his other cocktail creations. Last but not least a few words to the team from Mahamaya: We have never met better staff. Very professional without being stif, extremely polite, open, always smiling. They gave us the feeling of home away from home (thank you guys, we miss you!). Dave, Jo, Ali, you have built a very special resort that is worthy of the name - Mahamaya - the ultimate paradise. Thanks to all of you! For sure we will meet again. Take care, Manu & Farley, Inga and Dorit

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAHAMAYAResort, Owner at MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Manu & Farley, Inga and Dorit,

Thank you so much for your just lovely review for MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort.
It’s so nice for us to read such fantastic comments about your great experience at MAHAMAYA.
And how nice for us to hear that we were the frosting on your cake!

Our local service team are truly fantastic and work hard to ensure that guests have a complete resort experience.
We do agree that Fi does make some truly amazing cocktails and he likes to share his new inventions with our guests.
Chef Jar and his team in the kitchen work extremely hard to create an interesting, varied, healthy and unique menu on our tiny island!
Chef does indeed pride himself in offering fresh and tasty dishes, so nice to hear how much you appreciated his food.

Our eco policy is highly important to us at MAHAMAYA and we have invested heavily in modern technology to assist our endeavors.
We are located on a small island with some limited resources and it's so nice to hear that you appreciate our sustainability efforts.

We all really enjoyed getting to know you all and chatting with your group, we are truly blessed with some lovely guests.
We very much hope that we can welcome you back soon to MAHAMAYA the place to go!

Warmest Regards,
MAHAMAYA Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights on our honeymoon and were very very sad to leave. The room was extremely comfortable, the bed super comfortable and the bathroom was awesome with the outdoor shower. Breakfast was very comprehensive and extremely satisfying. We also at the restaurant for lunch and dinner everyday of our stay - the food was amazing! Seafood green curry and beef rendang was really really nice. The owners are very nice to chat to. The stars of this hotel though are the staff who are all extremely welcoming, polite, smiley, accomodating to our needs and helpful - they were the best hotel staff I have ever met and wish them all the best. They seem to absolutely love their job which comes across in their customer service. This was an amazing experience and we hope to be back again next year. This is a fantastic boutique hotel and they really go out of their way to make your stay feel very special - very very intimate hotel where you feel at home. Thank you so much! Annabelle and Eduardo

Room Tip: I think all the rooms were the same - you don't spend much time in your room anyway on such a be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAHAMAYAResort, Owner at MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Annabelle and Eduardo,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a charming review for MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort.
We are very pleased to hear that you had a such a lovely time during your honeymoon with us.
We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed all of our facilities and our chic modern design.

Chef Jar and his team in the kitchen will be very pleased that you thought our food, particularly the curry and the rendang was so amazing!
We have to agree that we have an amazing team, and they really are all superstars!
They do work very hard to ensure that all of our guests are satisfied and happy and they thoroughly enjoy meeting and getting to know our guests.
Our ultimate aim is to make guests feel at home and part of the MAHAMAYA family so it was nice to hear that we achieved this and made your stay truly special.

We very much hope that we can welcome you back soon to MAHAMAYA amazing hotel, amazing staff, perfect island!

Warmest Regards,
MAHAMAYA Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We had a fantastic time at Mahamaya and would definitely recommend both the hotel and the island Gili Meno. Unlike Gili Air and Gili T, Meno is totally unspoiled, tranquil, litter free and well... gorgeous. If you are looking for lots of nightlife, this isn't the place for you; however, if quiet walks through small villages and clean, peaceful beaches is more your thing, you will love Gili M! You could literally walk round the island and barely see another tourist and the beaches were practically yours - even in high season!

The sunsets looking out towards Agung, Bali's highest volcano, were picture perfect and happy hour is conveniently timed at sunset. Although we couldn't
resist sunset cocktails most nights, we also walked up to Diana's (bar) another lovely setting to watch sunset from.

The Mahamaya staff provides service that is second to none and they all have such sweet characters. The food is expensive (for Indonesia) but FANTASTIC !!!
We were seldom disappointed - apart from when they ran out of house red wine, which happened on a couple of occasions.

We stayed for five nights so to save some money we ate at Sunset Gecko (next door) on a number of occasions which was nice; a totally different standard to Mahamaya but for the price, it was great. Also, Mahamaya offer mainly western dishes but Sunset Gecko is great for Indonesian food.

The British owners of Mahamaya, were around most days and they were very friendly and welcoming.

Although the air con could be more powerful, the room was very comfortable. The outside shower is lovely but keep the door shut otherwise mosquitoes will get in. also, we felt that the door to the outdoor shower needed to be lockable for peace of mind. One other disappointment was the adjoining door to the neighboring room. For the price of the room, we did not expect this; on a few occasions we could hear the neighbors which annoyed us a little.

While there we went on a snorkelling trip which was excellent. We snorkeled in a range of spots and at times it felt like being in an aquarium! The water at one spot off Gili M wasn't very clean but the other 4/5 spots were crystal clear and luckily we saw a few turtles !

Overall, we had a very enjoyable and memorable time at Mahamaya and I would highly recommend the resort.

Thank you to the David, Ali and their fabulous team! :-)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAHAMAYAResort, Owner at MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Peter B,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review for MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort.
We are very pleased to hear that you had a such a lovely time during your stay with us.
We are pleased to hear that you likes the peaceful tranquility of Gili Meno island and our resort.

Our rooms are designed with maximum style, comfort and design our perimeter wall is 4 metres high from outside.
Gili Meno is a very safe island, with no police force however we do have security at MAHAMAYA and in-room safety boxes for guest peace of mind.
We do have some adjoining pool-view suite rooms that are suitable for friends and family but these rooms are divided by two separate doors to ensure complete privacy as in any standard hotel.
We also provide all in-room services such as mosquito rooms spray, mosquito repellant and mosquito plug in devices.
This strategy combined with our UV garden lighting minimises mosquitoes and their presence has never been an issue inside the rooms.

Our two for one sunset cocktails are extremely popular and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed them each evening!
Chef will be over the moon to hear that you thought the food was so fantastic.
Our team really do work very hard to ensure that all of our guests are satisfied and happy.
We will of course pass on all your lovely comments to our team.

We very much hope that we can welcome you back soon to fantastic MAHAMAYA!

Warmest Regards,
MAHAMAYA Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort

Address: Turtle Point | West Gili Meno, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Meno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gili Meno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The meaning of MAHAMAYA is ultimate paradise. And that's exactly what you'll find at our hip, eco-friendly resort. So if you're looking for the perfect, leave-it-all-behind, luxury beach destination, we'll be delighted to welcome you to the idyllic island of Gili Meno. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort Gili Meno, Gili Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.