We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing start to our honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort to your Saves list
MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Turtle Point | West Gili Meno, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gili Meno
Bournemouth
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing start to our honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed in Mahamaya for 4 nights in October, first leg of our honeymoon.
All aspects of the stay was spot on..

Reservation & Transfers - They made Gili Meno an easy place to get to - All I had to do was tell them where we needed to be picked up from and where we needed to get to afterwards, everything sorted by them. All communications in advance of our stay was great as well.

Accommodation - Our beach front room opened up straight out onto the beach, very clean, amazing aircon (so important in the heat!) beautiful surroundings.

Food - Very unusually for us we only ended up having one meal outside of Mahamaya during our time in Gili Meno - the food at Mahamaya was amazing. great choice of breakfast, different lunch menus, luxurious dinners (the special dinner for 2 is VERY recommended btw) Jar, the head chef's cooking was incredible - I didn't think that I'd have the best fish and chips and sticky toffee pudding in Indonesia.... and Fi's cocktails were ace.

Service - Exceptional - everyone made us feel at ease and welcome from the moment they greeted us on the jetty to waving us off when we were leaving. They went out of their way to make sure that we enjoyed our stay - One of the best I have experienced.

Room Tip: Candy Villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAHAMAYAResort, Owner at MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear the otters,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review for MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort.

We are very pleased to hear that you had a such a lovely time on your honeymoon with us.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the comfort and service of our boutique resort.
We are happy to make all of your domestic travel arrangements to make your journey to us smooth and stress-free.
Chef Jar and his team in the kitchen will be very pleased that you thought the food was so enjoyable and that you ate all but one meal at MAHAMAYA!
Our romantic candle-lit dinner on the beach is indeed very popular and has been enjoyed by many couples.
Guest comfort and great service are very important to us along with the family feeling we strive to achieve at our Boutique Resort, right up to waving our guests goodbye!
We will of course pass on all your lovely comments to our team and they are very much looking forward to your return visit!

We very much hope we can welcome you back again in the future for another amazing stay!

Warmest Regards,
MAHAMAYA Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    43
    14
    3
    3
See reviews for
52
222
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

This place is just fabulous, had a great time there. The staff was super friendly, the location is great! The room is very clean and the food at the restaurant is fantastic, the prices at the restaurant is reasonable and very affordable. You can start snorkeling right outside the beach just 10 meters away from your villa, beautiful corals and fishes. Couldn't catch any sea turtles when we were there but will definitely come back to this amazing place, just like to thank David and the wonderful staff for taking such good care of us. Love you guys and see y'all very soon!

Kind rgds,
Edwin & Ericia

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAHAMAYAResort, Owner at MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Edwin and Erica,

We are very pleased to hear that you had a such great time during your stay with us and have made such a great recommendation for our resort.
Your glowing review made us very happy and we hope that we can certainly hope to add those special touches to make your stay truly memorable.
We are happy to hear you felt so taken care of during your time with us.

We are committed to ensuring our guests have a thoroughly enjoyable stay with us and we train our local staff to meet our high standards.
It’s amazing to hear that you felt our facilities were of such a high standard.
Chef will be very pleased to hear your high praise for his food and we are very pleased that you found our prices so reasonable.
We are also committed to providing great value for money.

Our whole team very much look forward to welcoming you back soon for another legen....wait for it....dary, legendary stay!

Warmest Regards,
MAHAMAYA Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This place really is lovely and I have no doubt that it is the best on the island. The staff were truly wonderful, the dinners were great and sunsets were beautiful. It is easy to see why this resort is so popular. Our only mistake was coming here straight from the Lombok Lodge which was a little hard as Mahamaya is a much simpler resort - so we felt as though we had downgraded. However, I really cannot fault the staff and the setting is beautiful especially during sunset.

Note: the beach is coral, not sandy (but take a short walk to the south eastern point of the island for crystal clear water and white sand). Also the loud music from Gili T can be heard until the early hours of the morning. The room rate, food and drink were overpriced, however they gave a discount as they are building rooms behind and the noise didn't bother us at all.

This is definitely the best resort on Gili Meno, however, I would recommend this resort to 'flashpackers' rather than honeymooners.

Room Tip: The two Beach front Villas are the same but Candy Villa looks as though it has a better view (the Co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAHAMAYAResort, Owner at MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Alison B,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review for MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort.
We were very pleased to read your nice comments about your stay with us.

We are pleased to hear that you thought we are the best place to stay on Gili Meno.
We have have many happy honeymooners stay with us as you can read in our other reviews, and we are always happy to welcome all travellers to enjoy our beautiful resort.

Our do team work very hard and we are happy that you felt our staff provided such great service. We aim to provide a high standard whilst offering great value for money. We may be higher priced than more simple Indonesian hotels but we are competitively priced with the other top rated hotels in Lombok and Indonesia. We offer a unique service and menu on Gili Meno. Our dishes use fresh local ingredients and our restaurant an idyllic setting directly on the beach. All of our prices already include tax and service charge which goes directly to our staff.

We are very pleased to hear that our construction did not cause you any inconvenience at all during your stay.
Guest comfort is very important to us especially during our pool-view suite construction period.
We have blocked the building works from view with a high bamboo fence in order to minimise disruption and noise.
Our beach-front villas continue to offer uninterrupted ocean views during this time.
Our resort is still developing and we will soon open our pool-view suites which we anticipate will be finished by the end of the year.
Our hi-tech eco-friendly chemical-free pool is finished but not yet operational as this will launch with the pool-view suites.

Our beach is a more coarse sand and It is possible to swim directly in-front of the hotel at high tide but the water can be shallow at low tide.
At low tide the corals can be exposed so access can be more difficult however many guests have seen turtles swimming directly in-front of our Boutique Resort.
On occasion the music can be heard from Gili Trawangan depending on wind direction, but we have had no issues with music heard inside our rooms.

We very much hope we can welcome you back again in the future to enjoy our extended facilities and for some more beautiful sunsets!

Warmest Regards,
MAHAMAYA Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

What an amazing time we had at Mahamaya! We really loved the place, the view, the delicious meals and wanted to thank the staff for all their kind attentions. We will keep great memories of our stay in this slice of ultimate paradise!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAHAMAYAResort, Owner at MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Trippernyc07 ,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a faultless review for MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort.
We are very pleased to hear that you had an amazing experience during your stay with us.

Our team are service orientated and their ultimate aim is complete guest satisfaction so we are overjoyed to hear we provided such happy memories.
We very much hope to welcome you back to MAHAMAYA soon for another slice of ultimate paradise!

Warmest Regards,
MAHAMAYA Managment Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed at Mahamaya for our honeymoon and we just didn't want to go to another hotel in the island, both for staying and for dining. The room is very spacious with amazing views directly to the beach. The bathroom is divided into 2 room: one for the wash basin etc and a separate open air shower where you can feel the sun on your skin without the worry of a peeping tom. There was construction going on while we stayed there, but the noise and the worker didn't bother us at all. The restaurant is simply the best we had during our stay in Lombok. Try the sticky toffee pudding, which is super delicious! We considered to kidnap the chef to Jakarta just to bake us the sticky toffee pudding. The staff are friendly, informative, and helpful. Would love to go back and stay here again if we got the chance.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAHAMAYAResort, Owner at MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear asentana,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a great review for MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort.

We are very pleased to hear that you had a such a lovely time on your honeymoon with us.
Chef Jar will be very pleased that you thought the food was so good and we are sorry that we could not allow you to kidnap him!

The outside shower is very popular with guests and often the guests say ‘wow’ when they see that room!

We are very pleased to hear that our construction did not cause you any inconvenience at all during your stay.
Guest comfort is very important to us especially during our pool-view suite construction period.
We have blocked the building works from view with a high bamboo fence in order to minimise disruption and noise.
Our beach-front villas continue to offer amazing uninterrupted ocean views during this time.

We very much hope we can welcome you back again in the future for some more sticky toffee pudding!

Warmest Regards,
MAHAMAYA Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden Beach, Australia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We have been at Gili T for four nights enjoying the choices to eat out however I had at the top of my bucket list to have lunch over on Gili Meno at Mahamaya as I had read so many wonderful reviews & the photos inspired me to hire a boat to take us over for a few hours today.....we loved the experience, the place has a special ambience of romance,peace & paradise in a quiet place.
We felt indulged with the surrounds, tasteful furniture & fine food , the fresh juices with mint...we had a very special day, thank you for the great service also

Room Tip: We only went for lunch...well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAHAMAYAResort, Owner at MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review for MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort.
Dear sunshinegoldenbeach,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review for MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort.
It was very nice to hear that you had such a lovely time during your meal with us and how nice to hear that it was worth the special journey you made to visit us from another island.

We are please that you liked our chic, modern design and the attention to detail of our service team.
Our staff work hard to make guests experience both memorable and enjoyable and they truly enjoy meeting and getting to know all of our guests.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the service, food and the drinks.
We very much hope that we can welcome you back to MAHAMAYA in the future to enjoy another great experience.

Warmest Regards,
MAHAMAYA Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Dont bother with staying anywhere else on the island if you want peace and quite, great food, friendly staff and amazing rooms. This is the place. The food here was the best food I had in all of Bali hands down. Throw in freshly squeezed juices, rooms with amazing views and friendly staff, it was really a highlight. Dinner is served on the beachfront and all day spent in your private cabana also on the beach and wait for it - afternoon tea served without you having too lift a finger. If you like the nicer things in life then this is for you. More importantly, this is an eco friendly resort and they use local produce and employ locals only. Because it is located away from the main port, you do not get hassled constantly to by things as well. Highly recommended by my wife and i.

Room Tip: There a 2 rooms located on the beachfront with another 7 or 8 to be completed by Dec 2012 which will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAHAMAYAResort, Owner at MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Paul,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review for MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort.

We are very pleased to hear that you had a such great time during your stay with us and have made such a great recommendation for our resort.
Your glowing review made us smile and we hope that we can certainly add those special touches to make your stay truly memorable.
Afternoon tea is very popular with our villa guests and we are happy to hear you felt so relaxed during your time with us.

We are committed to our sustainability programme and buy local wherever possible and we train our local staff to our high standards.

Chef will be very pleased to hear such high praise for his food and we very much hope we can welcome you both back soon for another relaxing stay.

Warmest Regards,
MAHAMAYA Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort

Address: Turtle Point | West Gili Meno, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Meno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gili Meno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The meaning of MAHAMAYA is ultimate paradise. And that's exactly what you'll find at our hip, eco-friendly resort. So if you're looking for the perfect, leave-it-all-behind, luxury beach destination, we'll be delighted to welcome you to the idyllic island of Gili Meno. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort Gili Meno, Gili Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MAHAMAYA Boutique Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.