We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise on earth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kontiki Cottage

Save Saved
You added Kontiki Cottage to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kontiki Cottage
West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Florence, Italy
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Paradise on earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

We stayed on a bungalow in front of the beach. Just a few step and we could dive in a cristalline water and a very few meters from the shore, at no more than 3 meters deep, coral fishes, lion fishes, baby lobsters, and so many others!
Gili meno is quiet and romantic, Kontiki is the most delicious place!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    20
    20
    10
    1
See reviews for
7
26
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

Gili Meno in itself is one of the most beautiful places in the world I have visited, so the location will always be fantastic! However, Kontiki Bungalows are so close to the beautiful clear ocean you can hear the waves from your room which is so lovely and very relaxing.

Kontiki offer you breakfast included with your room rate, and a cute little free gift when you leave either a key ring or bracelet which is a nice touch.

The staff were very unfriendly when we booked the room or asked them for anything which was a bit annoying, as I felt like I was constantly bothering them! My boyfriend was ill during the stay so I had to keep getting water from them and didnt get a nice friendly smile any time!

We booked an air con room as I cannot survive anywhere hot without it, and it was very reasonably priced. There is no TV but there is so much lovely stuff to see that it doesnt matter.

Bathroom was average. Room had mosquito nets over the bed.

While you visit I would encourage you to visit the turtle sanctuary just next door. We were fortunate enough to be able to release a baby one into the sea after making a donation.

Room Tip: Ask for a room closest to the beach to be able to have a sea view and hear the waves!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

Our room was quite ok, very clean and large just few meters from the beach. We payed USD 50 per night, a bit steap considering there is no hot water. You will find nicer places on Gili Meno, we only found this option lastminute.
The owner is a very nice lady, they also give a small gift on arrival and this is a nice touch.
Breakfast is very basic, will not fill your belly.
The beach is just a step away and is one of the best in Gili Meno with nice snorkeling.
Don't miss the sunrise in front of the beach, with a magnificent clear view of the Rinjani.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

The spacious and clean rooms are good value at under $40/ night, but the cold water, poor lighting and unhelpful staff become annoying after a day or two. Also, our laundry seemed to be dirtier when we got it back than it had been when we gave it in. Better to just wash clothes by hand yourself.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2011

Though i prefer wooden bungalow, am satisfied enough here.
I ended up 6 nights here during my 9 days Gili Meno vacation.

Got very good price for twin bedroom (a double size bed and a single one) with standing fan, fresh water bathroom, breakfast included. Good value since food and drink in Gili Meno are relatively pricey. Try their fresh orange juice, I could say that's the best in island.
Room and bathroom are big and clean enough. They won't clean it everyday, unless you ask.
Staffs are nice and helpful. They gave me complimentary snacks and let me use the kitchen :).

Very good location, only 5 minutes walk to harbor and restaurants.
Beach in front of Kontiki is one of the best in Gili Meno and plenty of sun chairs provided for hotel guests.
I didn't stay at seaview bungalow but i can hear sounds of waves from my room :).

As a local, Indonesian friendliness is not a new thing for me.
But i'm impressed when one of Kontiki staffs gave my sunglasses back. I didn't even know that i lost it!
He said someone saw i accidentally dropped it so he brought it back to my hotel. I assume people there recognize me well since i stay for days and am the only local tourist around at that time.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IJsselstein, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

Gili Meno is a great place to stay. It is a very quiet place. You can walk around the island in an hour.
On Gili Meno there are no any parties or discos. Sea turtles can be seen by snorkling from the beach. You can get pizza at the Kontiki beach restaurant . There are 2 or 3 other restaurants nearby. This is a nice place for short stay, max 3 days. Bungalows are situated on the beach side, 50 metres from the sea. Rooms are quite spartan, clean without insects.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2010

we loved Meno in general, out of the 3 islands, in our opinion the island has the best beaches all around. we tried to make the most of our stay, however, staying at Kontiki bungalow was a rip-off (IDR500,000/night/room). our room had never been cleaned (when we complained, we were blamed for not reporting this), the toilet seat cracked & we suffered our bottom being nipped, jammed & bled. the staffs were very very lazy.. we paid extra (family of 5), but the b'fast each morning was cut to 4 & it was horrible (the quality & service).
we approached the front desk w/ good manners, however it was so impossible to talk to them without them overpowering us & didn't want to understand us as a customer. we were blamed for things that were supposed to be their responsibilities (i.e. cleaning the room regularly, toilet seat being cracked & the b'fast for 4, when we paid for 5).
we also discovered having rash all over our body & we thought it could be something else, then funnily, at our hotel in ubud, we met a family from NZ who stayed at the same room at kontiki bungalows & suffered same problems (rash all over & cracked toilet seat & slippery floor).
we slipped off the slippery marble floor each time we stepped on it, regardless whether we took caution or attention of it.
in the end, we refused to pay what we were asked to pay for 5, considering it was way more expensive than Sunset Gecko, where we were supposed to stay in the first place, and given poor quality service.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kontiki Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kontiki Cottage

Address: West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Meno
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 26 Specialty lodging in Gili Meno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Kontiki Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kontiki Bungalows Hotel Gili Meno
Kontiki Cottage Gili Meno, Gili Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kontiki Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.