We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seven sunny days of fun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fiesta Hotel Cala Nova

Save Saved
You added Fiesta Hotel Cala Nova to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fiesta Hotel Cala Nova
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Cala Nova, 07849 Es Canar, Ibiza, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 14 hotels in Es Canar
Leeds, England
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Seven sunny days of fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I visited this hotel with three friends for a good value week in the sun at the end of August / start of September. This is by no means a luxury hotel (I'd judge it as 3.5 star, halfway between the actual rating and the '4T' applied by Thomson), however in terms of value for money I'd say it was excellent.

We were a little concerned on arrival when a quick chat with some residents sat on the wall outside led to us being told that it was 'so noisy', with those in question claiming to not have slept all week. All I can say in response to this is they surely must have been staying somewhere else! The hotel and surroundings are very quiet; yes the walls are somewhat thin meaning that you can hear clonking furniture, slamming doors etc, but this is no less than what you'd expect from a hotel of this age and standard. After midnight, once the pool bar and 'entertainment' were finished, then it was very quiet indeed. There is only one external bar on the doorstep (the very pricey atzaro beach) but again this shuts at midnight meaning a far better nights sleep than you would achieve in Ibiza's livelier resorts.

The room was basic but comfortable, with plenty of pillows and extra blankets in the cupboard should you need them. We had requested adjoining rooms prior to departure by emailing the hotel, this was great as we could have the adjoining door open throughout the day allowing for a far more sociable trip - perfect for groups of friends or families.

The balcony was furnished with a couple of chairs and a table, perfect for a drink of an evening. Our view from floor 1 was very pleasant, looking out on a quiet sun garden and the sea beyond.

Beyond the room, the facilities were all of a decent standard and although the 'entertainment' may not be to all tastes, there's no denying that the entertainment team work very hard to try and ensure that holidaymakers have a good time. Paco in particular had a great rapport with the guests, making a real effort to remember names and make you feel at home. Most activities took place around the pool area. As with most hotels there were the usual annoying early morning sunbed reservation shenanigans going on. In theory sunbeds couldn't be reserved prior to 9am, but by this time 90% had gone so I'd recommend aiming slightly early if you're fussy about where you want to be positioned! There are black beds and green beds - the green ones are annoyingly fixed in position, so try to get a black one if you like to sit up and read / assume any position over than a completely horizontal one!

Daytime activities included aqua aerobics (great fun, with an enthusiastic and encouraging instructor), darts, rifle shooting etc. There seemed to be a good competitive spirit going on, with a number of familiar faces up on the stage each night when it came to 'awards' time.
The evening entertainment was the usual mix of dance shows, competitions, singers etc. Nothing particularly amazing but ok, and as previously mentioned the hotel staff were always very enthusiastic and hardworking (surely no mean feat when you've been trying to keep people smiling for over 12 consecutive hours....)

My party's views of the food and drink offering were mixed. I personally thought that the half board buffet was relatively good, with plenty of choice and reasonable variety. One of my friends however is a vegetarian who focuses on healthy eating and it's only fair that I raise her view that the food offering from her perspective was poor and limited.

We decided to upgrade on arrival to the all inclusive drinks package for 15.5 euros per person per day. This was a good value option - on a pay as you go basis even soft drinks and water are pricey but with the drinks package you can have all of these as well as a broad range of alcoholic drinks including bottles of cava (which we enjoyed taking to our room to drink on the balcony), wines and spirits. The upgrade entitles you to unlimited drinks until midnight, so if you are planning to spend any amount of time in the hotel then I highly recommend it.

Overall we had a great week. Es cana is not the liveliest of resorts but its easy enough to get around the island by bus / taxi, making it an ideal base for a break combining rest and relaxation with getting out and about. The amount of people we met who were repeat guests were clear testament to the popularity of this hotel, and I think the hardworking and dedicated staff from the entertainment and poolside team through to the helpful and friendly front desk staff should be commended for making this the case.

Room Tip: Request interconnecting rooms for families / groups
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaHotelGroup_FHG, General Manager at Fiesta Hotel Cala Nova, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
We really appreciate your comments on our website. Your comments help us to improve and get direct feedback. Thank you for your time
We hope to see you soon among us.

Sincerely,

Jose Colomar.
Management Department Fiesta Hotel Cala Nova.
Palladium Hotel Group.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    170
    185
    95
    22
    6
See reviews for
177
174
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salford
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

stayed 10 nights at the cala nova hotel and was delighted with the hotel right from the start of our holiday,we arrived at10am and our room was ready for us on the 3rd floor ,I asked for a higher floor after reading other reports on line,but was told they were fully booked but if we were not happy to ask again in 2 days and they would try again,however our view from room 332 was fantastic over looking the sea and escana,i would recommend asking for floor 3 or higher as the lower floors are surrounded by trees.the hotel is situated 2 minuets from cala nova beach and 10 minuets from the busier escana beach with water sports and beach bars.our room was big enough for 2 with air con and a ceiling fan although there was no fridge to keep water cold,maids cleaned every day and all staff were very helpful at all times,the night life around the hotel is very relaxed so for a livelier night out the 10 minute walk into escana with numerous bars and restaurants is well worth it with charlies bar ,popeyes and several more open till 4am with live acts on every night,there are boat trips from escana to Ibiza town and formentera island.i would recommend the cala nova hotel as it is in a great position just on the edge of escana so you get the calm of cala nova and the bars of escana right from the hotel doors

Room Tip: ask for 3rd floor or above on the rear side of the hotel to get a great view of the sea and escana
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaHotelGroup_FHG, General Manager at Fiesta Hotel Cala Nova, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
We are really pleased to read your positive commentaries. We hope to see you again in our Hotel and to have the possibility to meet you personally.

Kind Regards,

Jose Colomar.
Management Department Fiesta Hotel Cala Nova.
Palladium Hotel Group.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Another year and another great holiday. We have just returned from our 5th visit to the Cala Nova and have now booked our 6th to this fantastic hotel for next year.
My wife and I travelled with our 4 daughters and joined our wider family and our ever-growing circle of friends at the hotel, who incidentally have also all booked again! I think this speaks volumes for this hotel.
All the staff, old and new are very friendly and cannot do enough for you. One of our daughters needed to see a doctor during our visit and Leyre on reception was a star, she explained what we should do and even booked us the Taxi.
When the coach reverses up the drive, we know we’re back ‘home’! I know my family are safe and will be looked after for 14 days and nights. We enjoy this resort and hotel because of this. If we could stay longer then we certainly would!
The rooms are spotlessly clean and are tended to daily by the extremely hard working maids.
The restaurant and bar staff are exceptional, always happy to help you and always have a smile on their faces.
Now the entertainment team, they are brilliant. Paco, Dani, Barbora and Marta work really hard all day and night. You can get involved in as much or as little of the program as you wish.
We could go on and on!
We cannot fault anything about our holiday or this hotel.
Thank you everyone, once again, we will see you all again next year!
By the way, the new rule on reserving sun beds works really well!
Richard, Helen and the girls x

Room Tip: Do they have poor rooms?
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaHotelGroup_FHG, General Manager at Fiesta Hotel Cala Nova, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
We are really pleased to read your positive commentaries about our staff do their best to satisfy our guests, be assured that your mentions will be transmitted to them.
We hope we can welcome you soon again.

Kind Regards,

Jose Colomar.
Management Department Fiesta Hotel Cala Nova.
Palladium Hotel Group.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

This year was our 3rd trip to the cala nova,which as ever was just as enjoyable as the previous two trips.The continuity of the very friendly staff makes it a very easy place to relax weather you have younger children or not,mine this year range from 13yrs to 18yrs old and all three have thanked me without prompting for a fantastic holiday and can we go back next year ? !!!! This in itself makes the whole holiday worth while. There is no doubting the surrounding area is a very beautiful place with views to die for,but for me and my family the best part is the genuine nice nature of all the very hard working staff,that can always muster a smile even at the hottest times day. CLEANING MAIDS,RECEPTIONISTS, WAITERS AND WAITRESSES,BAR STAFF AND FIESTA ENTERTAINERS all be proud of yourselves you do a fantastic job. MY TOP TIPS !!! TAKE A BIT OF TIME TO CALL THE STAFF BY NAME,BE POLITE, SMILE (its easy and your on holiday) TRY AND JOIN IN YOU WILL BE SURPRISED HOW MUCH YOU ENJOY YOURSELF

I HOPE THE MANAGERS OF THE HOTEL GET TO SEE THESE COMMENTS (NEW AND OLD) AS THEY ARE FROM THE HEART THANKS AGAIN TO YOU ALL

Daran,Jane,Andrew,Stephen and Robert (SOUTHAMPTON)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaHotelGroup_FHG, General Manager at Fiesta Hotel Cala Nova, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Many thanks for your comments which I have shared with my team. We are really proud of providing you with a wonderful holiday.
We hope to see you soon among us.

Sincerely,

Jose Colomar.
Management Department Fiesta Hotel Cala Nova.
Palladium Hotel Group.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Went to fiesta cala nova 17th-28th aug ,9 of us went,6 adults and 3 children 13,10,10.well what can I say ,everything was wonderful.the reception staff greeted us with a very friendly welcome.i emailed the hotel a month before requesting high floor away from noise and a sea/ pool view and that's exactly what we got.the rooms were very clean,as was the hotel.we went half board and the food was excellent with plenty of choice for everyone even the fussy eaters of this world.the staff are also very friendly behind the food counters.at breakfast you could have all sorts from toast,cereal,cakes,biscuits,croissants,to full english breakfasts,omelettes made for you,then all types egg possible,poached,fried,scrambled etc.the dinner menu was also varied with roast lamb,steak,chicken,curry s,rice,chips,potatoes,loads different salads and meats,paella,stews,etc.very good.the hotel is lovely and clean and the rep candice was very helpful.only tiny snag was the rooms a bit small but they were nice and clean.thankyou hotel cala nova for a lovely holiday.o Neills of Sheffield.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaHotelGroup_FHG, General Manager at Fiesta Hotel Cala Nova, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
We really appreciate your comments on our website. Thank you very much for your time.
We hope to see you soon in Fiesta Hotel Cala Nova.

Kind Regards,

Jose Colomar.
Management Department Fiesta Hotel Cala Nova.
Palladium Hotel Group.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

The Fiesta Cala Nova Hotel is now part of the Palladium Group now and is a nice hotel with friendly staff who are always keen to help. The hotel is a wee bit tired here and there, but the grounds are nicely kept and very clean. The food is varied and something for everyone, It is all inclusive food however, it was of a good standard and very hot. The only slight drawback for me was the lack of available sunbeds in the morning although we always managed to get some even although they were past it and the hotel should really be replacing them instead of having guests using these backbreakers. Sun parasols are another bane, there really should be more than they currently supply and people were buying their own. Secondly, they don't allow parasols on the grass??. Well the hotel should supply a type of parasol that you want used on the grass as it can be very warm in the middle of the day. During the busy season the pool is too small for the number of guests at the hotel. The only saving grace is the beach a short walk away that is very clean and welcoming. Nice place to have a holiday and enjoyable apart from the wee bits and pieces above.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaHotelGroup_FHG, General Manager at Fiesta Hotel Cala Nova, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
We would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion on the service and installations of our hotel. We have passed your suggestions to our departments, where all will look for the solution to the problems of which you informed us.
We hope to see you soon in Fiesta Hotel Cala Nova.

Sincerely,

Jose Colomar.
Management Department Fiesta Hotel Cala Nova.
Palladium Hotel Group.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worksop, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Arrived at the hotel mid morning after a early flight feeling tired not able to get into our room as it wasn't ready, but other people on our bus could? Was asked to come back at around 1pm. When we did get into our room it was nicely decorated but very cramped. Double bed and a single bed which didn't give you much room to get around ok for 2 people but not 2 adults and a 16 year old. Very nice view looking out to es cana which is a lovely resort. We went down to the pool & it's small for the amount of people that was staying there also there is the beach but you have to pay for sun beds. Beware some parts of the beach are for people who like to sunbathe in the nude as my daughter found out when she went for a walk with her dad.we went all inclusive but if you wanted a snack around the pool it was hot dogs or burgers or you could pay for baguettes or pizza.The restaurant is very busy no waiter service, you have to find your own table and get your own drinks, buffet style food which was ok. The staff at the hotel are very nice and polite especially iris who worked in the lounge bar she told us about some nice places to visit. It is a lovely walk into es cana about 15 minutes lots of shops, bars & restaurants. Don't get me wrong it is a nice hotel but could be better.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaHotelGroup_FHG, General Manager at Fiesta Hotel Cala Nova, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you very much for giving us your opinion about our hotel and its services. We pass your suggestions to our core business departments and quality.
We hope to see you soon among us.

Kind Regards,

Jose Colomar.
Management Department Fiesta Hotel Cala Nova.
Palladium Hotel Group.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fiesta Hotel Cala Nova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fiesta Hotel Cala Nova

Address: Playa Cala Nova, 07849 Es Canar, Ibiza, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Es Canar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Es Canar
#5 Romantic Hotel in Es Canar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fiesta Hotel Cala Nova 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
He Fiesta Hotel Cala Nova offers an ideal setting for a peaceful holiday for couples, friends or families. Located right on the beachfront in a beautiful and quiet area surrounded by pine trees and the Tagomago's island. The hotel is only meters away from the sea and minutes from Santa Eulalia. Guests will enjoy a pleasant stay on Ibiza's Island with a wide variety of facilities and services for all ages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Fiesta Hotel Cala Nova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fiesta Hotel Es Canar
Fiesta Hotel Cala Nova Ibiza/Es Canar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fiesta Hotel Cala Nova, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.