We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hotel, lovely scenery, quiet resort.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Costas Golden Beach

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Agios Georgios
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Costas Golden Beach
Pagi, Agios Georgios 49081, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 hotels in Agios Georgios
e sussex
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Friendly hotel, lovely scenery, quiet resort.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

Hotel is family run and what a lovely family! Made to feel at home and welcome as soon as we arrived. Nothing was too much trouble for Spiros, Demitri or Dina. All the staff in the bar and restuarant were very attentive. We had a sea view room which was a real wow factor. The patio doors has a double glazed door, fly screen and shutters and you could use any combination. It was nice at night with the shutters pulled to and the fly screen shut going to sleep listening to the sound of the waves lapping at the shore. Pool area lovely, lots of loungers and shades. Dina does a great job tending the gardens. Mainly British people staying at hotel. It is a quiet resort with NO night clubs or loud bars. Lots of lovely walks. The free chilled water dispenser was a real bonus, saved us a fortune in bottled water. In the room there is a tv and hairdryer which isn't mentioned in the brochure. Local supermarkets within a 5 min walk. There is a folder near reception with a list of walks, well worth perusing. Go to the "three brothers", great photo opportunity and pagi, go to the 007 bar. If you are an early bird to bed the you may miss the entertainment as it starts 21:45-22:00 and goes on until late. Definately go for a sea view room. Free wifi in bar/reception area and a laptop that you can use for free. Big widescreen tv in bar and reception area with SKY.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    388
    26
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
64
295
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chippenham, England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2010

A beautiful and exceptionally clean small hotel in an idyllic postion overlooking the long beach. As stated in previous reviews the friendliness of the family and hardworking staff have to be experienced to be believed. We were delayed 3 hours and arrived on our own in early hours of morning but were still greeted personally by the owners and their dog Leo. Despite the late hour they also offered us something to eat, which we declined in favour of bed but such service and attention is so rare these days.
We stayed B& B and ate in the hotel every night as we found the food to be varied and very good quality. The hotel does provide low key evening entertainment which was Ok for us but not spectacular if you are looking for something livelier. Lovely pool area and outside breakfast terrace (if only we had enjoyed the weather to use them). Beautiful well tended gardens with flowers and pots everywhere .We had a sea view room (worth it) with balcony which although small was very clean with useful safe deposit box and pull across mossie screen. Also had aircon but didn't need to use it (unfortunately!). Only minor criticism was the size of the bathroom and shower - very small.
The resort itself is picturesque but very quiet .There are some lovely walks nearby - especially the walk to the pretty village of Afionas on the headland where there are some restaurants/bars with stunning views. We also took the bus to the nearby hillside village of Pagi (with it's James Bond connections) and then walked the 3km back downhill through some lovely countryside.
We were surprised that despite it being mid/late May the resort itself had a very out of season feel to it. Only a couple of tavernas were open, all the sun beds on the beach were piled high and roped up seemingly waiting for the season to start although our hotel appeared full there were few other people around. We visited between 14th and 21st May 2010 and unfortunately the weather was very poor - mostly cool and windy, cloudy and often very wet indeed which probably attributed to the deserted feel of the area. Only one bus per day to Corfu Town and no taxis in the resort emphasised the area's limitations.
Overall cannot fault the hotel, the resort itself is very attractive but is remote and options can be limited in poor weather. We would love to return and experience the hotel and the resort in warm sunshine as we are sure the place would have a different feel to it.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2010

Don't believe all the reviews on internet...................it's much better !!!!
Currently staying here for the first time then going on Greek Island cruise but would not be bothered if cruise cancelled and we had to stay here for 2 weeks. Family and staff are wonderful and the food is home cooking Greek style at its best. We will certainly return.

Only downside is the transfer from airport - you have to change from bus to minibus as the roads are single traqck for last part of journey BUT it was well worth it.

Joe & Kate Smith, Scotland

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2009

My wife and I had our honeymoon at the Costas Golden Beach hotel in June 2009. We had a lovely relaxing time, great food, great hotel in a wonderful location. Demitri, Dina, Spiros and their staff were extremely friendly, helpful and worked really hard throughout our stay to look after all their guests.

We booked through Thomsons and enjoyed their simply Corfu excursion. We also went on their Albanian Adventure and Corfu Town/Glass Bottom Boat trips but wouldn't recommend either of these.

We also walked, to Afionas (twice - the second time for the sunset); to the Fishermans Cabin; and walk 1 on www.agiosgeorgios.co.uk in the fields and olive groves behind the resort. We took our own printouts of these walks but the hotel has them available as well.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2009

We stayed at the Costas Golden Beach following a week's cruise of the Adriatic and whilst I agree with the comments about the quality and friendliness of the hotel, a week in Agios Geogios was quite sufficient. If you want a quiet, peaceful resort with little in the way of shops and places to visit then AG is great for you. However, if you like things to do / places to see then give plenty of thought to staying here. The local bus service is virtually non existent, no mini bus service and no taxi rank in the resort. I just can't understand why no-one has seized the opportunity to provide better facilities for visitors. With regard to the hotel - the location, staff, views, cleanliness, pool facilities etc are top class but I don't think AG would ever entice me to re-visit.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2009

Myself and my girlfriend stayed here for a week near the end of September. It was exactly as others have described. The service was great from the moment we arrived to the time we had to leave, all of the staff are helpful friendly and it creates a really good atmosphere.
Our room was very clean and comfortable, we paid a little extra for a sea view and it was certainly worth it. We ate at the hotel several times and the food was good, a mixture of english and greek catering for most tastes.
The pool is nice with sunloungers always available and the pretty gardens add a nice touch.
The beach, which is a 2min walk away was clean and quiet. Its 8 euro a day for loungers and a parasol and the water was warm enough for us to have a good paddle!

We ventured out of the resort a couple of times. We never take up any of the excursions offered by the reps, we prefer to do things ourselves and explore under our own steam. We visited corfu town, which was ok but had a lot of touristy shops selling the same type of things (which is probably to be expected). We also did an afternoons pony trekking which was great and throughly recommended. The company is called Trailfinders and is run by a british lady who was very helpful and friendly (i'd never been on a horse before so her patience was appreciated!). It was a great experience and we'd thoroughly recommend using her to anyone. Plus the beer we had at the end of it was one of the best i'd tasted!!

All in all this is a hotel that you come to if you want a quiet, chilled out break. We had a great time and would like to say thanks to all the staff for making our holiday great and thanks to Sally for the trekking!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South of England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2009

We stayed in the CGBH the week before it closed down for the winter, so if you are planning on some winter sunshine you can cross this one off your list.

I can't really add much to what has already been said about the hospitality at this hotel, We had the normal warm welcome from Dimitri and Spiros that everyone on here talks about but it wasn't until the 3rd day of our stay when we were walking in a nearby town and Dimitri stopped his car alongside us to say hello, this to me was much better proof that this family really do know and care for their clients.

The location of the hotel is amazing, right on top of the beach and some of the nicest walks I have ever been on. It reminded me of how Malta was 10 years ago before they received all their EU money to smarten and modernise the place. I do hope that Agios Georgios doesn't go the same way.

Back to the hotel

The rooms although small are perfectly adequate for a beach hotel and looked as fresh and clean during the last week of the season as I would imagine they were on the first week. Nothing broken and all the electrics were in first class condition, nothing broken or hanging off the wall, no squished mozzies on the wall, in fact the only thing I could find fault with the room was the fact that the wardrobe had no handles only a couple of holes drilled into it to open the doors, okay no big deal but on a couple of occasions during our stay I bent my finger backwards opening the door up. (I am prepared to give them the benefit of the doubt though and blame it on too much Mythos)
The rooms are visited by the tidy fairies every day, and bedding and towels are changed 3 times a week

The rooms are separate from the main hotel and entry to each room is from a walkway at the rear and right next to the frosted louvered window of your shower room, meaning anyone walking past your room could see you having a shower if you have the window open (simple answer, close the window when having a shower)
Ground floor rooms are next to the swimming pool and so anyone around the pool can see into your room. If this is a problem for you then ask for a 1st floor room

Breakfast was the normal continental thing except no meats or cheeses although you can have a cooked breakfast for a small charge, we had scrambled eggs on toast the first morning and they must of used at least 4 eggs each.
My wife is Vegetarian and eating out on holiday is always a bit of an adventure but we found the evening menu was excellent and we had 3 course dinners each evening (except 2) and she never had to repeat the same meal.
We did go to the Taverns in the area and had drinks in most while we checked out the meals that were being served and taking everything into consideration I think you would be better off staying in the hotel to eat each night.
3 course meal with a glass of wine at the hotel about 15 Euros each
The only complaint I would have about the restaurant at the hotel was the fact that half of the restaurant was a smoking area and the other half non smoking so it's just bad luck if you are a non smoker and put on a table on the border with the smoking half but if that bothers you just go and have a drink in the bar for half an hour and as Dimitri is a smoker I can't see this changing until the laws in Greece change.

and lastly evening entertainment.
During our week we had
2 nights of Karaoke
1 Quiz night
1 England football match with Bingo at half time
1 Pool games
and the rest was Dimitri playing his records as he did every night, again no Greek evening during our stay..

Great value for money hotel that I would recommend to anyone wanting a quiet and relaxing holiday

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Costas Golden Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costas Golden Beach

Address: Pagi, Agios Georgios 49081, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Agios Georgios
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 hotels in Agios Georgios
Also Known As:
Costas Golden Beach Hotel
Costas Golden Beach Agios Georgios
Hotel Costas Golden Beach Corfu/Agios Georgios, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Costas Golden Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Costas Golden Beach to your Saves list