We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, friendly hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Theo's Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Agios Georgios
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Theo's Hotel
Save Saved
You added Theo's Hotel to your Saves list
| Pagi, Agios Georgios 49083, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 hotels in Agios Georgios
Hemel Hempstead
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Lovely, friendly hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2008

Stayed here for a week with my wife and 16 year old son at the end of June 2007 and had a really lovely relaxed holiday, which was exactly what we wanted. We booked this hotel through Thomson's web site 'Small and Friendly' after reading the reviews and it was everything we had hoped for , it was great value and could not fault it !

We arrived in the early hours of the morning, tired after a long journey to be greeted with a smile and an offer of coffee by the night person on reception, which we declined as we just wanted to get to bed, but thought this was a nice touch. Came down for breakast in the morning and was warmly greeted by the owner Theo...

The hotel is set amongst beautiful scenery on a hillside amongst olive trees and pines with stunning views and was a 10 minute stroll from the beach. There are a few tavernas and shops nearby on the road to the beach and more on the beachfont itself. The hotel and resort is quiet but all the better for it!

Theo, his wife Elena and the bar staff were very friendly and helped to make our stay an extremely enjoyable one. Food in the restaurant was fine with quite a wide choice and daily specials. all of which seemed to be cooked freshly to order.

Our room was small and basic, but perfectly adequate and clean. (Who goes on holiday to spend time in the room anyway!) Nice balcony with lovely views.

The bar/lobby/restaurant area was very nice, very friendly atmosphere with entertainment twice a week, the greek night was a lot of fun and I even joined in which is unusual for me!

The pool was a reasonable size and clean with a snack bar which served toasties, burgers, greek salads etc... Plenty of sunbeds to go around.

As has already been said it was obvious that people come back to this hotel year after year and we would cetainly consider it again..

  • Liked — Just about everything really
  • Disliked — nothing really
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    92
    38
    19
    5
    2
See reviews for
25
114
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Teesside
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2007

We booked Theos Hotel after reading all the excellent reviews. I can honestly say I was very disappointed.
First impressions were good, the hotel was in a nice setting with a pleasant reception area. Unfortunately the rest of the hotel did,nt live up to expectations. Our room was very dated and always felt very cold and damp, we had to air our clothes before we could put them on, the sheets on the bed were also damp. The bathroom was diabolical, it was so tiny you could only clean your teeth or get a wash when seated on the toilet, the bathroom door wouldnt open fully as it hit the shower tray, which was very small with a shower curtain that clung to you with each movement when trying to shower. The tiles were very old with several chipped, the floor when wet was dangerously slippy and took forever to dry.
The hotel restaurant had no heating and breakfast was eaten with coats on to keep warm, the evening meals were uninviting.
The pool area was filthy, it wasn't cleaned once while we were there, Parosols were ripped and dirty, rubbish wasn't collected and the walls surrounding the pool had mould on them.
The resort surrounding Theos was mostly closed so it was difficult to get an evening meal other than at Theo's. We hired a car otherwise we would have had a very depressing holiday.
I was relieved when our time at Theo's came to an end and we could return home.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iluvsangeorge, web-site manager at Theo's Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2007
We also are very disappointed to read such comments which are so different to the opinions of the greater majority of guests, hence our 14 consecutive Gold Awards based on guests' reports. But we cannot please everyone!

WHY did this correspondent not mention his/her concerns to the hotel manager at the time ?
The hotel grading takes into account the room sizes so we cannot do anything about those but some bathrooms have slightly different layouts and we might have been able to change the room to accommodate this particular person's problems.

During the last few days of the season when this visitor was obviously a guest the weather was unusually cold for Corfu and winds were blowing leaves all around including into the pool. For this reason, and as no guests were observed using the pool, pool-cleaning was naturally suspended. If the complainant had spoken to us we could have done something.

However we clearly cannot install heating into the restaurant when visitors spend practically ALL the season trying to keep cool, and hope that guests will be happy to wear a light jacket for a few days in October if necessary !

The Corfu holiday season as everyone knows lasts only from May to October and the hotel has no control over the fact other eating places and hotels were closing early due to the visitor numbers reducing as the season neared its close.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2007

Both Theo and his lovely wife make your stay very comfortable and home from home. The hotel is superb for a 2T Thomson hotel with fantastic views and location and is only 10 mins from the beach, which has blue flag status and is also one of the best we have visited. The rooms although basic,as you would expect in Greece, were spotless and cleaned every day. The service in the hotel by both the owners and staff was superb. You could eat on the open sided restaurant terrace with superb views and the food was good as well. There is a pool above the hotel which is again well maintained, although some of the poolside sunbeds and tables are starting to show their age and due replacement. During the week they do put on two nights of entertainment with live music from top quality musicians and there is also a Greek night that you can join in if you feel like doing your Zorba bit. Over all we would highly recommend this hotel to couples and families alike. The only down side, which is not the fault of the hotel is that as non smokers there is nowhere that is non smoking which at times can be unpleasent especially if eating, but this i hope will eventually be sorted and areas can be set aside for those who prefer not to smoke.

  • Liked — location and great service
  • Disliked — smoking allowed in all areas including rooms so you could not even get away from smoking if your neighbour decided to smoke on the balcony next door.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tayside, Scotland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2007

We had a very relaxing and enjoyable week at this hotel - little wonder that so many people return there. The hotel is spotless, the pool area lovely, rooms and balconies faultless and although we went b & b we ate nearly every night at the hotel as the food was varied and excellent. The owners Theo and Elena are so welcoming - we never had that 'just arrived' feeling! All the staff are unbelievable - they really cannot do enough for you - so if you want a chilled out holiday go to Theo's - we loved it!

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — miniscule bathroom
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodhall Spa,Lincs.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2007

We walked through the door of the hotel after a long journey from the airport along roads that you think would not take a coach,we were greeted by the owners at the desk.We were tired from our journey but still able to take in the friendly atmosphere there.Many people were sat in the bar area chatting.It was obvious to us that many of them were returning quests catching up on all the happenings since they were there last year.
During our week long stay we ate at the small restaurant there most nights as it was probably the best in the area,although like other Brits we liked to sample different tavernas.
Lovely pool,well kept,beautifuly positioned at the top of a steep slope, for nice views of the bay.Nice flower borders,also well kept.
The only grouse that we had about our stay,was that as non-smokers with a room above the restaurant we had smoke permeating through the canvas roof of the restaurant to our balcony while we were taking in the beauty of the sunsets.

  • Liked — Friendly atmosphere
  • Disliked — Tobacco smoke
  • Stayed May 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2007

Visited Theo's many times and each one has been wonderful.
The hosts Elena and Theo make sure you have a great time, the staff are friendly and helpful and the food is excellent.
The hotel is comfortable and very clean, set in a peaceful location at a great resort - Agios Georgios.
Returning soon.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thetford Norfolk
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2007

We have stayed at Theos many times (about six we think)
and have always found Theo and Elena to be perfect hosts.
The Hotel is in a lovely quiet location and yet just minutes from the village and beach.
There are many people like us who regularly return because of the whole relaxing experience that Theos Hotel and the local people offer.
It was therefore with great sadness (but not surprise) that we read the review which stated that the rooms were' too small' the 'breakfast awful' and that they 'felt like Hamsters by the end of their stay'.
Unfortunately these people are becoming representative of the'lager lout' culture that our European neighbours have come to expect of the British holiday maker.
We noted that they recommended Sidari as the place to visit, many of us regard Sidari as a resort wrecked by the British with its noisy clubs, and 'English' meals.
We travel to Greece to experience the greek food and culture. If we wanted fish and chips and full English breakfasts we would have gone to Blackpool!

  • Liked — Beautiful peaceful setting Excellent hosts
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Theo's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Theo's Hotel

Address: | Pagi, Agios Georgios 49083, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Agios Georgios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Agios Georgios
#4 Family Hotel in Agios Georgios
Also Known As:
Theos Hotel Agios Georgios
Theo's Hotel Corfu/Agios Georgios, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Theo's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.