We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Antipasti from the tins” 2 of 5 stars
Review of La Perla

La Perla
Lossi 3, Kuressaare, Saaremaa, Estonia
+3724536910
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 34 Restaurants in Kuressaare
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Ristorante La Perla is a place where you come to enjoy different tastes. You can savour the best Italian dishes and wines and have a good time in a great company. You come to La Perla to stay for a little longer ...
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Antipasti from the tins”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We had high expectations for the dinner from high ranking in Trip Advisor. The Spanish music (!) made quite funny ambiance to the Italian restaurant. Service was friendly but the food was amazingly low quality. We certainly did not expected antipasti, the highest priced first course made from tins. The lam neck was ok, but the vegetables were poor. What has happened in this restaurant?

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilliamLaPerla, Owner at La Perla, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Raflat,

I have read your recent review of La Perla and obviously we are all disappointed that you were not completely satisfied with your visit.

I would like to address some of the items you noted, with the hopes that you might understand our concerns. You had our antipasti and felt that it was from tins and expensive. Our antipasti has three types of Italian cured meats, parma ham, salami Napoli, and spicy Calabrese Piccante. It also has mozzarella cheese and parmasean cheese. To this we add a garnish of olives, Italian green peppers, sundried tomatoes and baby corn. The meats are sliced from large, whole salami or leg of proscioutto. The cheeses come from large wheels of parmasean cheese and the mozzarella comes packaged in individual plastic bags, which is the way it is supplied to most restaurants. The sundried tomatoes, olives and green peppers are supplied from Italy in 3 liter glass jars, which is standard. The baby corn is the only product on our antipasti which comes in a can, and this again is standard for most restaurants. We slice the meats and cheeses each day and we purchase quality products from Italian suppliers. This results in a higher price than some of our other appetizers, since Italian meats and cheeses are quite expensive and sadly this cost is passed on to the customer.

We are pleased that our staff was friendly and this is something we take pride in. However you note that while the lamb was ok the vegetables were poor. This is surprising since we use fresh vegetables each day each and grill them on order. Had you mentioned that you were unhappy with the vegetables, we could have supplied you with a different garnish.

We try very hard to make each visit to LaPerla a pleasant and enjoyable experience. We have a very diverse client base and sometimes, try as we might, some customers like yourself, leave with a sense of disappointment. I will state that I am completely responsible for the spanish music, which you seemed to find out of place. Had you stayed longer you would have also heard music from Italy, France, Brazil, the USA and a mix of old and new. Much like the fact that we serve wines from many countries, not just Italy, I play music from all over the world because I enjoy it and feel that it reflects my heritage and background experiences.

Should you come to Kuressaare again, stop by and visit and ask for me. Hopefully we can make your next visit more enjoyable
Bill Moschella
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    25
    17
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn, Estonia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“The best restaurant in Saaremaa!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Incredible lasagna, delicious salmon soup, the prices are good and portions are generous, after eating in La Perla there's no way you'll stay hungry. The service was very good, waitresses very friendly, the atmosphere cozy and I'd say it's one of the nicest eating-out experiences I've had in awhile. Absolutely recommended!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Value for price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Really great place to eat! Onion soup and carpaccio are amazing! Creme brule is worth it. You can choose toppings for your pizza

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Harjumaa, Estonia
1 review
“If you are in Kuressaare, take time to visit La Perla!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Excellent food and friendly service. Our favorites were carpaccio, mussels and the lamb. Next time we visit Kuressaare, La Perla will be our first stop.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Super”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Just finished eating @La Perla.
Just one word - perfect.
We had pizza and Pasta La Perla.
Me and me wife loved it very much .
We recomend it :)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Perla also viewed

Kuressaare, Saaremaa
Kuressaare, Saaremaa
 
Kuressaare, Saaremaa
 

Been to La Perla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Perla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.