We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great but not the worst” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Central Playa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Central Playa to your Saves list
Hotel Central Playa
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Galicia 12 | La Playa de Figueretas, 07800, Ibiza Town, Ibiza, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 50 Hotels in Ibiza Town
Rijeka, Croatia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Not great but not the worst”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

If you don't have money to spend on a hotel this is great choice. Just ask for a room with the view if you don't want to stare at a wall. Location is the best. The beach is close but not that close to Bossa beach, you'll have to walk a bit to there. All in all - average is the best description!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stella L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

We visited for a night at pacha and wanted something cheap and cheerful, this was both. Very good for the price and a good location, staff we encountered were friendly and when our ac broke they were quick to fix it. We would definitely return as it was great value.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deanbrookes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

Photos on certain sights are not of this hotel!! The rooms are of a poor standard! If u do not get a room with balcony then I feel for you!! I would never book a Group playa sol chain again!!! Female reception staff need to smile and have some manners!!! Broken sun loungers!! Very very poor standard!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tove5435, Gerente at Hotel Central Playa, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thank you for your comments and for taking the time to give us some feed back. We are fully aware of that we have a plain 2 star hotel, but inside the group of GPS hotels we have hotels of higher categories. In Central Playa we have different types of rooms with different prices and obviously the ones with the highest prices are the best rooms. Regarding to the staff in the reception we normally have a positive feed back from our clients, but they have been contacted and informed about your comments so we can improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ibiza Town hotels

Essex
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We booked a room for 4 nights at the Hotel Central Playa based upon the reviews showing on here and we were not disappointed. Having read the reviews, we emailed ahead to request a room on a higher floor with a balcony which is exactly what we received - we stayed in room 604. The room was large with a balcony which had a sea view, and there was also a fridge. The room itself is quite dated, but it was very clean and had everything we needed. The shower was also excellent. This is a very good 3 star hotel.
The location is petfect - 15 minutes walk in Ibiza Town, where a visit to the Old Town D'alt Villa is a must. The other way is Playa D'en Bossa which is approx 30 mins walk along the lovely beach.
My only complaint is when we checked out there was no room available to change and shower, we had to use the shower by the pool which was freezing!
All in all would highly recommend and will definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kvc82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We have just come back from a 2 week holiday in Ibiza and stayed at Hotel Central Playa.

We had originally hoped to stay in Playa Den Bossa but left it far too late to book & the majority of the hotels were fully booked. Read a few reviews for Hotel Central Playa and it seemed great value for money.

The hotel was fairly close to the airport (a taxi from the airport cost us around 12 euros) and had a lovely little beach about 2mins walk away. There were also a number of restaurants, bars & small supermarkets nearby which were very handy.

Our room was quite large for the 2 of us - plenty of storage space, a fridge, air con (which was great!) and a table & chairs. The rooms were cleaned every day by the maids and we were provided with fresh sheets + clean towels on a daily basis also.

The hotel is a 25min walk from Playa Den Bossa but is not far at all - we got a taxi some nights which cost us about 5 euros.. The taxi rank outside the hotel seemed to be fairly reliable, the longest we had to wait one night was 30mins.

We didn't have food at the hotel when we were there so can't comment on that but there did seem to be quite a few people eating there!

Would definitely recommend staying at the Hotel Central Playa.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe_Russ_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

This was our second trip to Central Playa, and was a slightly different experience to the first time.

The positives: close to Figueretas beach, directly opposite a taxi rank, cashpoints and Spar supermarket within 100m, also bars opposite selling club tickets. Small but handy rooftop pool with a shower (comes in handy if you have a late flight and have checked out already), and half a dozen sun beds.

On our first trip we were lucky enough to be on the top floor, a well sized room with a fantastically large balcony looking out to sea. However three months later we were not quite so lucky - the room was not much bigger than the double bed itself, the fridge was broken on arrival (it was replaced within the hour) and no balcony. Quite claustrophobic for the 5 days we spent there.

Lesson learnt - next time I will phone up in advance to ensure I get a room with balcony...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RichmondFro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tove5435, Gerente at Hotel Central Playa, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
I am sorry that you have passed a bad experience last time you visit our hotel. I want to thank you for taking the time to give us a feedback . Next time when you book our hotel please book the right room type with balcony and we will take care of giving you the reserved roomtype.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suhr, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

we choose the hotel on the based on the look and description and price but were very much disappointed when we came here.
we booked double room with half board for 7 days. what we got is a room with a twin bed and horrible smell. after complaining to the front desk, we got another room with a little bit less smell but again a twin bed. we assume the hotel does not have any double beds and also no confortable ones, since the ones we got were wires with a bit of linen on top. if you want to relax, dont expect to sleep good in this hotel.
aside this, the bathroom is usable but half broken, there is an old tv hanging from the wall where you are afraid every minute it might fall down.
breakfast is quite bad quality, dinner is buffet from 1-2 good and quite some mensa style dishes... both overpriced from what you pay and got. some of the staff is friendly, others not.
at least one good point.... the rooms are quite clean kept and besides the smell when you first time enter... depending on the room how strong.... you dont need to be concerned about hygiene in the rooms.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aleator83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ibiza Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ibiza Playa
Hotel Ibiza Playa
#15 of 50 in Ibiza Town
4.0 of 5 stars 218 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Figueretes
Hotel Figueretes
#39 of 50 in Ibiza Town
3.5 of 5 stars 72 reviews
0.3 mi away
THB Los Molinos
THB Los Molinos
#9 of 50 in Ibiza Town
4.0 of 5 stars 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Maritimo
Hotel Maritimo
#29 of 50 in Ibiza Town
3.5 of 5 stars 435 reviews
0.4 mi away
Panoramic Apartments
Panoramic Apartments
#16 of 50 in Ibiza Town
4.0 of 5 stars 214 reviews
0.0 mi away
Don Quijote Hotel
Don Quijote Hotel
#40 of 50 in Ibiza Town
3.0 of 5 stars 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Central Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central Playa

Address: Galicia 12 | La Playa de Figueretas, 07800, Ibiza Town, Ibiza, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Ibiza Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 50 Hotels in Ibiza Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Central Playa 2*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel CENTRAL PLAYA, is located close to the centre of Ibiza town and 10 minutes walk to the port area, with its fascinating nightlife. The beach of Figueretas is near by as the magnificent beaches of Salinas and Playa d'en Bossa. The hotel lies in a quiet but lively area , just 1 km away from historic Ibiza Town, it's the ideal location to know all parts of this beautiful island, the night atmosphere and the marvellous beaches. On the rooftop terrace there is a swimming pool with free sunbeds and a wonderful sea view. The hotel also provides a lounge with satellite TV and billiard table. The bar/restaurante offers a select and varied international buffet. All rooms with air conditioning, full bathroom, telephone, satellite TV, mini-fridge.The double and triple rooms some of them have balcony with sight to the street. The single rooms do not have balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Venere, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Central Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Playa Hotel
Central Playa Ibiza Town
Hotel Central Playa Ibiza/Ibiza Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing