We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, hit and miss rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Central Playa

Save Saved
You added Hotel Central Playa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Central Playa
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Galicia 12 | La Playa de Figueretas, 07800 Ibiza Town, Ibiza, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 52 hotels in Ibiza Town
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good location, hit and miss rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

This was our second trip to Central Playa, and was a slightly different experience to the first time.

The positives: close to Figueretas beach, directly opposite a taxi rank, cashpoints and Spar supermarket within 100m, also bars opposite selling club tickets. Small but handy rooftop pool with a shower (comes in handy if you have a late flight and have checked out already), and half a dozen sun beds.

On our first trip we were lucky enough to be on the top floor, a well sized room with a fantastically large balcony looking out to sea. However three months later we were not quite so lucky - the room was not much bigger than the double bed itself, the fridge was broken on arrival (it was replaced within the hour) and no balcony. Quite claustrophobic for the 5 days we spent there.

Lesson learnt - next time I will phone up in advance to ensure I get a room with balcony...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tove5435, Gerente at Hotel Central Playa, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
I am sorry that you have passed a bad experience last time you visit our hotel. I want to thank you for taking the time to give us a feedback . Next time when you book our hotel please book the right room type with balcony and we will take care of giving you the reserved roomtype.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    52
    53
    12
    36
See reviews for
5
51
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Suhr, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

we choose the hotel on the based on the look and description and price but were very much disappointed when we came here.
we booked double room with half board for 7 days. what we got is a room with a twin bed and horrible smell. after complaining to the front desk, we got another room with a little bit less smell but again a twin bed. we assume the hotel does not have any double beds and also no confortable ones, since the ones we got were wires with a bit of linen on top. if you want to relax, dont expect to sleep good in this hotel.
aside this, the bathroom is usable but half broken, there is an old tv hanging from the wall where you are afraid every minute it might fall down.
breakfast is quite bad quality, dinner is buffet from 1-2 good and quite some mensa style dishes... both overpriced from what you pay and got. some of the staff is friendly, others not.
at least one good point.... the rooms are quite clean kept and besides the smell when you first time enter... depending on the room how strong.... you dont need to be concerned about hygiene in the rooms.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Stayed here for three nights in June 2012 and it was our first time in Ibiza. LOVED IT!! Staff where so welcoming and friendly. The room was spacious, tidy, clean and had a fridge which was very convenient. Its location is perfect for the Figurertas beach and local Spar Supermarket which is round the corner. No WiFi but across the road is a lovely cafe with some great people who will allow you to use the WiFi for free. Hotel is 25 minuet walk to Ibiza Playa D'en Bossa but you can use taxis which are located right outside the hotel. If you have personal belongings that you dont want to leave in your room there are safes next to reception which can be rented on a daily basis for less than6 euros. If you are going to Ibiza on a budget then this is the hotel as its reasonably priced but has quality. Well recommended!

Room Tip: first floor in the centre of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tove5435, Gerente at Hotel Central Playa, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Thank you for giving us feedback regarding to your stay in our hotel CENTRAL PLAYA, we apreciate that very muc.h. We are happy for the negative and positive inputs, they all helps us to give a better service and keep up the standard. We are aware of that we have a plain 2 star hotel, but we are also aware of that we have to give the very best personal service. We are situated just in the middle of everything beach,city,discos,restaurants, bars and shops and all in walking distance.Ibiza has so much to offer during the season. THANK YOU VERY MUCH.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Hotel staff lovely and very helpful. Rooms basic but clean. Ideal location for us, beach 50 yrds, surrrounded by small bars and resturants, taxi rank and supermarket right outside. We stayed for two ngts didn't eat in restaurant due to going out but as far as the hotel and staff go can't complain!

Room Tip: We were on the fifth floor which gave you partial sea views...ideal!! However you may get views of o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

i have to be honest i dident really like this hotel, booked for 2 nights but only had the guts to stay 1, building was like somthing out of house on haunted hill and room was like a bed sit. breakfast was pretty terrible,and the swimming area on the top floor looked pretty dim. couldent face a second night, on a positive note, the staff seemed really freindly. nice location-ish, but 140 euros for half board for 2 nights?? im not sure, proberbly good value if u dont mind the room and are happy to eat low quality food, sorry.

Room Tip: dont have the one i did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

I was here with my friend in mid-May. The prices were very low and we didn't expect much. But we were nicely surprised to discover a big, nice room, with a balcony, everithing was clean and proper. It's very close to Playa des Figuerettes, 5 min to the bus station and 15 min to d'Alt Villa and the Port.
Check the ferry stop in Playa Figuerettes, you can get tickets to Formenterra for 20 euro (both ways) from a restaurant next to a fast-food called Transylvania and enjoy a ride with "Ulisse's Cat".

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tove5435, Gerente at Hotel Central Playa, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time in writing us some comments about our hotel. All the comments are highly appreciated as they help us in bettering our service and our hotel. We are doing an effort every day to make our service personal so all clients can feel like home and with
some confort. thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

Very,Very good value for the money,we booked room only,so we can,t comment about the food,certainty would stay there again,we loved it!!!!!.MAKE SURE you select a room on the 5th or 6th floor at the front with a balcony....Downside....NO hot water for one day,not the end of the world,but a bit inconvenient.If you plan to tip the room maid,DO NOT LEAVE IT IN THE ROOM FOR HER,give it to her the day you BEFORE YOU LEAVE, the reason for this,is that the "OLD VULTURE MAID'' hovers around the lift/reception area when you check out and asks for your room number!!! .....you can work out what happens next!!!!.

Room Tip: MUSt be at THE FRONT ,MUST BE 5/6/7th. FLOOR UP WITH A BALCONY...take a travel kettle with you to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Central Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central Playa

Address: Galicia 12 | La Playa de Figueretas, 07800 Ibiza Town, Ibiza, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Ibiza Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 52 hotels in Ibiza Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Central Playa 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Hotel Central Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Playa Hotel
Central Playa Ibiza Town
Hotel Central Playa Ibiza/Ibiza Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Central Playa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.