We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view..amazing location..no complains” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Apartments Mar y Playa

Save Saved
You added Apartments Mar y Playa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Apartments Mar y Playa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Tarragona 5, 07800 Ibiza Town, Ibiza, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 52 Hotels in Ibiza Town
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great view..amazing location..no complains”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Excellent location to start off with..Made us realise the beauty of Ibiza from our room balcony..And not too expensive..located at the city center so you do not miss out the party scene.We came from barcelona and had a lot to expectation from the location and we surely were not dissappointed.. The staff was very kind and provided us with great room service (you dont expect too much in EU anyways).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    81
    25
    10
    4
See reviews for
15
70
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halesowen
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Could not fault these apartments! My partner and I had a fabulous time ! Will certainly be returning !! We loved Figuerates, we visited a few other resorts and were grateful to be staying there. The apartments were spacious, the bathrooms were modern and our view of the sea was sensational. Wished i was still there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Me and friends (brazilians but live in USA) were amazed by the view and such a good space in the apartment (yes, more apartment than a hotel feeling)
Walking distance to a supermarket so you can have some of your meals at the apartment.
Staff were friendly enough, not too noisy in september and not too far from parties (we want to do both)
PLEASE don't forget to go to Formentera. Amazing time

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Firstly I would like to mention what a great place figueretas is. It's quite a classy little bay sandwiched between Ibiza town and Playa d'en Bossa. Great place to chill out, sunbathe and enjoy some lovely beachfront cafes but easily in walking distance (10 mins) of Bossa and Ibiza town. There is a also a great little boat service that links the three places every half hour.

As for the Hotel, it's pretty good! The rooms are spacious, clean and functional and the kitchen is great for the off bit of cooking with the fantastic local ingredients on offer. The balcony was a decent size complete with table and chairs perfect for dining and drinking in the evening. The location couldn't be better as the hotel opens right onto the beach front. The hotel has a slightly dated feel but this hardly matters.

Unusually in this day and age there was no free wifi in the rooms so be warned that need to sit in the lobbey for internet access.

The main lobbey and bar appear to have had a facelift ... strangely there is a neon-lit duvet hanging in front of the reception which may be some attempt at modern art! The front desk staff are some of the best I have experienced in Spain... never a queue and all spoke perfect English (if you like that).


The pool area was pretty nice but we didn't use it that much as there is a phenominal beach less than ten metres away! The sun loungers were few but very comfy and always seemed to be free... probably because most folks opt for the beach. The beach, as mentioned, is right next the hotel pool and very chilled out. At 6 euros for a sun lounger on the beach for the whole day, it's pretty cheap and a trip to the local spa store will get you cheap snack and drinks.


Top tip for groceries if you are self catering... there is a lidl store just around the corner! Sounds very un-Spanish I know, but they actually stock loads of fresh Spanish veg, cheese and meats and or course beer and cava (all very cheaply priced too)! Give it a go!

In summery, Figueretas is a great place to locate yourself in Ibiza and Apartementos Mar y Playa will provide a very comfortable and enjoyble base for your holiday!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights and were really impressed - having stayed in other places on the island (Ibiza Town and San An), this would be my favourite. Although we didn't have a sea view, our apartment was really spacious and kept clean...and only across the road from the pool! Staff were great and always helpful - we had an issue with our air con and it was resolved extremely quickly. Although the pool loses the sun in the afternoon, it's very clse to beaches and Bora Bora so easy to get the sun elsewhere! Would thoroughly recommend it, especially if you're looking for a bargain.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Our stay was at the end of August 2012. We had Apartment no 214 on the second floor of Mar y Playa 2 (we did not know that we were staying in Mar y Playa “2” until we arrived). I emailed the hotel prior to arrival requesting a sea view, they replied and said they would try to accommodate this request but priority would be given to those who had paid extra for this when specially booking. On arrival we were checked in quickly and our room did have a lovely sea view just above the pool too. We had an apartment that sleeps 4, but booked for 3 guests. There were 2 single beds in the bedroom, and 1 bed in the living area, plus sofa. There are 2 large built in wardrobes in the bedroom and a small dressing table, more than enough room to hang clothes. There were only 2 mirrors in the apartment, 1 in the bedroom and 1 in the bathroom. The bathroom was a nice size with a bath and shower that worked fine. Bathroom door lock did not work but we didn’t find that a problem. The Kitchen area was small but find for what we needed, and there was a coffee table and dining table in the lounge, plus TV that we didn’t use. The pool is small, we didn’t find it too difficult to get a sun bed around the pool but the beach is a 10 second walk if you can’t get a bed at the pool!

ONE BIG DOWN-SIDE: Mar y Playa 2 does NOT have air conditioning in the rooms. We had 1 fan in the whole apartment that the cleaner would turn off every time she came in (we left it on in the bedroom 24/7 and it was still so humid in there!) At night we would leave the bedroom windows open (these lead on to a corridor which also has “bars” to outside rather than windows, so air does get in), and have the balcony door open, AND the fan on and we still could not sleep properly because it was so hot! Also a nightmare when you are trying to get ready to go out as within 5 mins of having a shower you are sweaty again. On top of the heat we also couldn’t sleep as the noise of the fan and the noise in the corridors would make it difficult. Me and my friend who stayed in the bedroom both got sore throats and colds from the fan every night.
Cleaner came in every day, if we were in the apartment she would just give us new towels and not come back to clean until the next day, not a big problem for us.

The area around Mar y Playa is quite nice – along the seafront there are lots of lovely restaurants and it didn’t feel unsafe. If you turn left out of the hotel and walk up the road there were a few obvious prostitutes stood on the street when it’s dark (this shocked me as the area does not seem seedy at all, but there are a few gentlemens clubs around too), its not overly busy around there at night, but saying that we didn’t feel really unsafe around there. Lots of souvenir shops and supermarkets around too.

We never attempted to walk to Playa d’en Bossa or San Antonio as some of the reviews have said on here they are walkable – Playa d’en Bossa was approx 5 mins in a cab, about 6/7 Euros, and San Antonio was about 20 mins in a cab/28 Euros, don’t know how anyone could walk there!

The hotel staff were very helpful with restaurant bookings, telling us where to go, where the nearest taxi rank is etc.
We paid 15EUR for a safe for 1 week and got 5EUR of that back when we returned the key and receipt. Note the safe is quite small.

Room Tip: Email in advance for a sea view! And for a room with air con!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

These apartments are made up of 3 blocks. Mar y playa 1 has been renovated and the rooms have aircon. Mar y playa 2 has not been renovated (ever!), and rooms have no aircon but do have a fan. Plus there is another block of newer apts that are set back away from the beach behind MYP 1. These are really well equipped with almost a full kitchen, washing machine and aircon- which might compensate for the lack of view if you like that sort of thing - but I've never seen these advertised so not sure how you book them. Both blocks 1&2 are directly opposite the beach and have fantastic sea views- and I'd say MYP 2 has the edge in this respect despite being in need of an update. Rooms in all blocks are a good size with everything you need for a basic stay. Apts are clean and you get clean towels every day. So if you want better facilities at a higher price go for MYP 1. If you want very basic and very old (but clean), with no aircon - but at a cheaper price with better views go for MYP 2. Either way, this place is still one of the best value stays in Figuretas.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apartments Mar y Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartments Mar y Playa

Address: Calle Tarragona 5, 07800 Ibiza Town, Ibiza, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Ibiza Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ibiza Town
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ibiza Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartments Mar y Playa 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelsClick and Odigeo so you can book your Apartments Mar y Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartments Mar y Playa Hotel Figueretas-Ibiza
Apartments Mar y Playa Ibiza/Ibiza Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apartments Mar y Playa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.