We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, really helpful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Apartments Mar y Playa

Save Saved
You added Apartments Mar y Playa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Apartments Mar y Playa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Tarragona 5, 07800 Ibiza Town, Ibiza, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 53 hotels in Ibiza Town
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great hotel, really helpful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights and were really impressed - having stayed in other places on the island (Ibiza Town and San An), this would be my favourite. Although we didn't have a sea view, our apartment was really spacious and kept clean...and only across the road from the pool! Staff were great and always helpful - we had an issue with our air con and it was resolved extremely quickly. Although the pool loses the sun in the afternoon, it's very clse to beaches and Bora Bora so easy to get the sun elsewhere! Would thoroughly recommend it, especially if you're looking for a bargain.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    80
    23
    11
    4
See reviews for
15
66
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Our stay was at the end of August 2012. We had Apartment no 214 on the second floor of Mar y Playa 2 (we did not know that we were staying in Mar y Playa “2” until we arrived). I emailed the hotel prior to arrival requesting a sea view, they replied and said they would try to accommodate this request but priority would be given to those who had paid extra for this when specially booking. On arrival we were checked in quickly and our room did have a lovely sea view just above the pool too. We had an apartment that sleeps 4, but booked for 3 guests. There were 2 single beds in the bedroom, and 1 bed in the living area, plus sofa. There are 2 large built in wardrobes in the bedroom and a small dressing table, more than enough room to hang clothes. There were only 2 mirrors in the apartment, 1 in the bedroom and 1 in the bathroom. The bathroom was a nice size with a bath and shower that worked fine. Bathroom door lock did not work but we didn’t find that a problem. The Kitchen area was small but find for what we needed, and there was a coffee table and dining table in the lounge, plus TV that we didn’t use. The pool is small, we didn’t find it too difficult to get a sun bed around the pool but the beach is a 10 second walk if you can’t get a bed at the pool!

ONE BIG DOWN-SIDE: Mar y Playa 2 does NOT have air conditioning in the rooms. We had 1 fan in the whole apartment that the cleaner would turn off every time she came in (we left it on in the bedroom 24/7 and it was still so humid in there!) At night we would leave the bedroom windows open (these lead on to a corridor which also has “bars” to outside rather than windows, so air does get in), and have the balcony door open, AND the fan on and we still could not sleep properly because it was so hot! Also a nightmare when you are trying to get ready to go out as within 5 mins of having a shower you are sweaty again. On top of the heat we also couldn’t sleep as the noise of the fan and the noise in the corridors would make it difficult. Me and my friend who stayed in the bedroom both got sore throats and colds from the fan every night.
Cleaner came in every day, if we were in the apartment she would just give us new towels and not come back to clean until the next day, not a big problem for us.

The area around Mar y Playa is quite nice – along the seafront there are lots of lovely restaurants and it didn’t feel unsafe. If you turn left out of the hotel and walk up the road there were a few obvious prostitutes stood on the street when it’s dark (this shocked me as the area does not seem seedy at all, but there are a few gentlemens clubs around too), its not overly busy around there at night, but saying that we didn’t feel really unsafe around there. Lots of souvenir shops and supermarkets around too.

We never attempted to walk to Playa d’en Bossa or San Antonio as some of the reviews have said on here they are walkable – Playa d’en Bossa was approx 5 mins in a cab, about 6/7 Euros, and San Antonio was about 20 mins in a cab/28 Euros, don’t know how anyone could walk there!

The hotel staff were very helpful with restaurant bookings, telling us where to go, where the nearest taxi rank is etc.
We paid 15EUR for a safe for 1 week and got 5EUR of that back when we returned the key and receipt. Note the safe is quite small.

Room Tip: Email in advance for a sea view! And for a room with air con!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

These apartments are made up of 3 blocks. Mar y playa 1 has been renovated and the rooms have aircon. Mar y playa 2 has not been renovated (ever!), and rooms have no aircon but do have a fan. Plus there is another block of newer apts that are set back away from the beach behind MYP 1. These are really well equipped with almost a full kitchen, washing machine and aircon- which might compensate for the lack of view if you like that sort of thing - but I've never seen these advertised so not sure how you book them. Both blocks 1&2 are directly opposite the beach and have fantastic sea views- and I'd say MYP 2 has the edge in this respect despite being in need of an update. Rooms in all blocks are a good size with everything you need for a basic stay. Apts are clean and you get clean towels every day. So if you want better facilities at a higher price go for MYP 1. If you want very basic and very old (but clean), with no aircon - but at a cheaper price with better views go for MYP 2. Either way, this place is still one of the best value stays in Figuretas.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Perfect stay at beach front, great location! Staff is quite helpful (this should be quite noted in Spain) and you can even have your drinks and food in the the swimming pool just in the beach front, fantastic.
Only negative side is from the furniture and room facilities, they are outdated and need a revamp!!

Room Tip: Beach front!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

The location of the apartment is perfect, directly at the beach, with a nice boulevard and many restaurants and bars in the area. Ibiza town and Playa d'en Bossa are about 20-30 min walking distance. The rooms, however, are very old and basic. The cleaning is only every other day and not all rooms have airconditioning. Sometimes, the cleaning ladies just entered the room while we were still sleeping and started cleaning. There was no sign you could put in front of the door saying: do not disturb or anything. The pool is very small and the surrounding does not look very good. There is only limited time of sun, in the afternoon the sun turns behind the building. The bar downstairs is ok, the drinks were cheap but the staff was a little unfriendly in my opinion. The reception staff was very friendly and helpful, and they could speak English. The apartment is good if you just want a place to sleep and shower but if you want to have a little bit of comfort, you should search for another place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Stayed here for 5 days with my partner after countless years in San Antonio "with the lads". I wanted a good base to visit Bora Bora etc during the day and Ibiza town on a night - this hotel was perfect for that.

I booked directly with the hotel as it was cheaper than any other company (Inc travelrepublic, triviago etc). If you want to do this google versahotels mar y playa. I specified air conditioning and self catering purely as I wanted a fridge.

The first thing I noticed was how well the reception staff spoke English. They were very friendly and helpful. We were given the key to our room which was actually over the road from the hotel as it is split into 2 blocks - actually a benefit as we intended to be getting in from a night out just as the kids etc will have been making loads of noise by the pool.

The room was very big, loads of wardrobe space and hangers and included cooker, microwave, toaster and fridge freezer. In the bathroom there was a hair dryer (not very good according to the mrs) and a washing machine.
Unfortunately the fridge freezer was broken (I checked the socket and fuse) so reported it when we left for the evening. It was replaced with a brand new one by the following lunch time (even more impressive as we were 2 floors up).

An iron and ironing board is available from reception but there are none in the rooms.

The rooms were spotlessly cleaned daily by the maids (there are now "do not disturb" signs as requested by a previous reviewer) despite us leaving the rooms just before lunch and returning for a nap about 5 (to ensure we could make the most of the nights :) )

The hotel is about a 15 min walk to Ibiza town but there is a water taxi that leaves from the same jetty as the boat that leaves to formentara (on the hotels door step) for 3.5 euro. This takes 5 mins and gives lovely views of Ibiza town on the way into the harbour on a night.

In all I was extremely happy with this hotel and I will definitely return.

Room Tip: Block 2 Is quieter with air con. Book with versahotels directly for a good price There is a lift s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

Great value for your money! Good location right on Figueretes beach, one beach over and about a 20-30 minute walk over to the party beach, Playa den Bossa.

Rooms were very clean and we loved having the covenience of the kitchen.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Apartments Mar y Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartments Mar y Playa

Address: Calle Tarragona 5, 07800 Ibiza Town, Ibiza, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Ibiza Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ibiza Town
#3 Best Value Hotel in Ibiza Town
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ibiza Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartments Mar y Playa 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Despegar.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Apartments Mar y Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartments Mar y Playa Hotel Figueretas-Ibiza
Apartments Mar y Playa Ibiza/Ibiza Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apartments Mar y Playa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.