We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Torre del Canonigo

Save Saved
You added La Torre del Canonigo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Torre del Canonigo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mayor 8, 07800 Ibiza Town, Ibiza, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 52 hotels in Ibiza Town
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ok”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

The breakfast was avarage for the price charged. It could have been a better breakfast since there are not many rooms and it is possible to cook.
We were not informed that the transfers from the hotel to/from the sea and town by your car were charged. We found out about it while checking out. It is not nice not to inform visitors in advance about services that are to be paid at the end. We thought it was provided by the hotel and even gave big tips to the driver! As it turned out later, we had to pay for it anyway... So, it would be important to inform all your clients in advance for which services you take money (like transfers within the town). It is important also for your personel to mention for what they are paid so that visitors know whether to leave tips and how much...

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naihara, Director de Recepción at La Torre del Canonigo, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you very much for your opinion! We are pleased to know you were satisfied with the rooms and the cleanliness. Concerning to the transfers, in the booking confirmation (automatically generated) is indicated that they are charged and the price from the airport. I am sorry for the inconvenience it could have caused. Apart from writing it on the booking confirmation, we will try to inform our custumers about the cost when they check-in. Thank you for your constructive criticism!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    16
    3
    3
    8
See reviews for
7
46
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

It was my first time to Ibizza. I choose this hotel after some review on various sites. The best decsion made of the whole trip. I discover an Island that could be awesome and awfull!! We made the best chhoice, and I am sure that in Ibizza it is probably the best choice to be made. The view, the area (Unesco part of the city), the small size of the hotel, the personalized service and the ability to find an haeven of peace in an island known for its clubs and parties. the mix was perfect!! And even thought the pool was nort yet opened, they let us use it!! A diamond !!!!

Room Tip: view on the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naihara, Director de Recepción at La Torre del Canonigo, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your opinion. With no doubt, the swimmingpool is the preferred element of our decor since it is designed for the most demanding tastes. We designed that terrace for people to chill while enjoying one of the best views in the island having a bath or dinner at night. We´ll try to please you with our installations and services again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

As others have said, it is in a fabulous location at the top of the Dalt Villa. I have been a returning guest for several years, and I always stay for just one night en route or returning from Formentera. It has a wonderfully discreet entrance and you immediately feel you are entering a private home in an ancient building with lots of beautiful and intriguing things. There can be few nicer places to enjoy a glass of wine than sitting in the small bar, by the window overlooking the port. Warning: Never, ever take a room overlooking the street, the bin men come through the street at about 5am making an insupportable noise. You must have a room overlooking the Port. The suites are lovely but some features, such as bathrooms and jacuzzis need updating. Room 2 (superior room) is the nicest in a lower price bracket. The beds are very comfortable but the pillows are atrocious for a hotel of this standard. We commented that there should be an option of down/feather pillows. Hopefully this will be taken on board. The restaurant beside the pool are both new this year. The pool is beautiful to look at and well designed in a very limited space. In bad weather you eat inside which is what we did this year. We found the food to be poor. In the old days you could just get a plate of jamon and/or cheese which was infinitely preferable to the pre-prepared ostentatious food available now. The staff are certainly 'low key' which is actually how I like it. But when the driver of the hotel car gave me a hard time about the fact our ferry was late arriving from Formentera, I thought that was just a bit too much 'attitude'. Because of the changes we noted, such as poorer quality of bathroom products, change of decor, restaurant menu etc. we wondered whether the ownership had changed. Which it hasn't. But they badly need to reconsider the expectations of 5* guests. A slightly mildewy smell in the bathroom and cupboards just doesn't cut it. A real shame they haven't invested in keeping a very charming hotel in a spectacular location up to scratch.

Room Tip: Overlooking the Port is essential for both the view and the lack of street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naihara, Director de Recepción at La Torre del Canonigo, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you very much for your positive opinion and for all the constructive criticisms. We know our customers love the views and that's why we built a swimming pool on the terrace with views to the harbour. We like you to enjoy all the best of our hotel. About the bathrooms, I am pleased to inform you that during this winter we are reforming all of them to provide you with the most comfortable facilities. Regarding to the pillows, your opinion is much apreciated: we are considering to offer a choice of them for the next season. We hope you are back next season as you have been doing for the last years and to see all the improvements!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed in the hotel in August 2012. The actual hotel, the rooms, the pool are exquisite and worth every penny of the cost but beware!

Do stay here if you love the views and the exclusivity of being located in the old town with the wide choice of restaurants a short walk away. The walk back up the hill will take about 15 minutes from the old town but we had loads of fun exploring the back streets and enjoyed the experience.

The downside of the stay was the staff in the hotel. Disinterested, uncommunicative and inefficient are words that can be applied to the staff which is a shame as this will always taint our memory of the stay and would stop us recommending the hotel to friends. If the hotel employed warm, welcoming and committed employees the experience would have been perfect.

Room Tip: The rooms with the private sun terraces are exquisit
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naihara, Director de Recepción at La Torre del Canonigo, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
First of all, thank you very much for your opinion. We are very pleased to know you enjoyed our exclusive view and location. Regarding to the dissatisfaction with our staff is very useful for us to take it in account on the next selection process in 2013. For the next season we expect to grow our installations and we hope to count on the right employees to provide you as satisfactory stay here as possible. We hope you come back to confirm our improvement and you change your opinion!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I had a great time when I went to Ibiza. It was my first time and I wanted to be a great experience. I stayed at "La Torre del Canonigo" and the overall experience was great. The staff was very helpful and attentive specially Natalia at the front desk who was always smiley and with a great attitude to help.
I will definitely stay here next time I go back to Ibiza.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naihara, Director de Recepción at La Torre del Canonigo, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you very much for your positive opinion. We are really proud to know our time is so kind with our guest and really hope to service you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Quite,relax,nice pa\norama on the port.Small hotel but with charme in the old pedestrian area oh Ibiza town. The staff was kind and my suite with jacuzzi was really confortable.
Antonella de Orleans-Borbon

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naihara, Director de Recepción at La Torre del Canonigo, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you very much for your opinion. We are pleased to know about your comfortable stay with us and we will keep working to offer you as good service as possible. You will be very wellcome if you desire to come back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

If you like the purity of places while enjoying an Island that offers non stop amusement, La Torre del Canonigo is the best and most luxurious place to be. Too sleep around centuries old walls while enjoying the best view the Island offers and the best walk, is priceless.

Room Tip: Rooms that look at the port or rooms that look at the old town have it's own magic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naihara, Director de Recepción at La Torre del Canonigo, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you very much for your opinion. We continue working to offer a good customer service but always conserving the essence of the place: a centuries old building. We would be glad to offer you again an unforgetable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Torre del Canonigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Torre del Canonigo

Address: Mayor 8, 07800 Ibiza Town, Ibiza, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Ibiza Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ibiza Town
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ibiza Town
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ibiza Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Torre del Canonigo 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Escapio and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your La Torre del Canonigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Torre Del Canonigo Hotel Ibiza Town
La Torre Del Canonigo Ibiza/Ibiza Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Torre del Canonigo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.