We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Montesol

Save Saved
You added Hotel Montesol to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Montesol
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Vara de Rey, 07800 Ibiza Town, Ibiza, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 52 hotels in Ibiza Town
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Have just returned from a week at the Montesol. I had a single room - they are very small, but kept spotlessly clean - and as they are internal, also very quiet.

This is a really charming traditional hotel - in an absolutely excellent location. The terrace cafe is great - and the staff are great characters who really get to know their customers.

And the price - it's just great value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    14
    15
    9
    21
See reviews for
2
20
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Okey great location right next to the Marina and Plaza del Rey nice square,I had a single room veyr basic very small , single bed had air condition and TV and sep shower and Toilet .
I was not expecting much . So it met my expectation .You cant really swing a cat .But thats ok.As i was hardly in the room.
the room was cleaned everyday .
the price i had paid included the breakfast which was a Toast crossant Orange and Coffee was just ok enought as it woke me up and then went to the gym.
I saw twin rooms which seemed nice with the balconies.
i would definately recommend it if you are looking to save money .
there are great restaurants and shops nearby.
you can get boats to allover the place from the marina for a few eur3-9 ALL THE WAY to bora bora at Playa en bossa .I saved money on the Hotel and took taxi every where
There is a great gym called Fraile nearby you canbuy a weekly pass eur35.00 and use it all the time.
I would recommend and stay there again .

Room Tip: try and get a room with a balcony ask for a better room if its available as Single room are very pok...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

We always stop of here for a few drinks of an evening and watch the world and its's mother pass by

Staff are amazing and Migeul (?) who is apart of the establishment and has experienced Ibiza from the 1960's is a gem

A superb location, and a place we visit every day when holidaying in Ibiza

You gotta go and sit outside watching the world.... and the drinks are cheap.... a good loction and we are sure the hotel is good to

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

I stayed at Hotel Montesol for a week in August. Small room, simple, quiet, with aircon. Nice historic building right in the centre. The location is very convenient for night and day life. Good prices for what you get. Don't miss breakfast in the bar downstairs

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

My wife and I (reasonably elderly people) spent 4 nights (including a weekend) at the Montesol, in the middle of May 2012, on a Bed & Breakfast basis. The Internet booking process via booking@ibiza-hotels.com was quite easy, with only 1 night costs required as a deposit. The balance was required to be paid at Reception after breakfast on the final day. As we were not flying out until quite late that evening, we were allowed to ‘check out’ and leave our suitcases in Reception for collection at a later time. The Internet site describes the hotel as 3 Star, whilst a plate on an exterior wall offers just the one. The latter would be the more accurate of the two.

Having stayed in hotels some 30-40 minutes’ walk from Ibiza town facilities on previous occasions, we determined that one closer to the centre would be better for us on this visit. The Montesol more than adequately met this requirement and must be the major plus point for staying at this hotel. However, the one thing that must be considered a major minus point is the noise that comes 24 hours a day from the nearby traffic and the noise that comes from ‘revellers’ from 10pm through to 6am. Both were horrendous and nothing we could do would have made any difference, apart from moving hotels that is! We were unable to take a proper ‘siesta’ or get a good night’s sleep. Maybe a bit later in the year in the Summer, it will be even noisier.

The hotel is an old property with a cafe attached at ground level. There is 1 lift. The room was of an adequate size, with a small balcony and a view of the Cathedral. Other rooms are available on 3 floors, but each would encounter the same noise problems. The room furniture was ‘ancient’ and the en-suite very outdated, with sink and bath plugs that did not fit. It seems that no effort has been made anywhere to modernise the property. There was a TV, but with no English speaking news or other channels. There was no ‘welcome pack’ or ‘instructions’ of any kind. A map of the island would have been helpful and possibly some travel details. The room was cleaned and the beds made on a daily basis. There were no tea/coffee or fridge facilities. Air conditioning was one unit at the highest and most inaccessible part of the room, with no controls visible anywhere. For electrical items, the only socket was the TV socket, with one other by the sink in the bathroom. There was a telephone in the room.

The hotel has no facilities apart from the public cafe, which is where breakfast was taken. This was available from 8am to 11am. Whilst this was waiter served, this has to be the worst breakfast offered anywhere! We were ‘allowed’ one small cup of coffee or tea (no refills) and one croissant or slice of toast each. This came with margarine and apricot jam. There were no cereals, eggs, fruit or meats that are normally associated with a ‘continental’ style breakfast.

We took a taxi from the airport on arrival at a cost of €15. The journey time was 20 minutes. Leaving was undertaken by bus, only 1 minute from the hotel for a journey of 35 minutes, at a cost of €3.35 per person. The hotel is just one minute away from the harbour/port with its ferries to Formentera, Valencia and Majorca. Similarly, a ‘water-bus’ service is available to Figueretas, Playa d’en Bossa, Formentera and Es Canar. Shopping and ‘eating-out’ is on the doorstep of the hotel, and in every direction thereafter. For those thinking of hiring a car for more than one day, there are no hotel parking facilities. Roadside parking charges are very high.

To summarise, if you can take the noise and poor breakfast, this might be for you on location alone. If not, steer well clear!

Room Tip: Try for a room as far away from roads as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

A cheap and cheerful hotel for one or two nights in Ibiza Town. The rooms are basic but clean and the staff are friendly and helpful. I've stayed here a few times when passing. Through Ibiza and will continue to return.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from the main street as its very noisy for most of the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey St Helier
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

For the location and price this hotel was perfect, all the staff were really nice! the rooms are basic but didn't expect more for the price we paid. The building is lovely and we had a balcony looking over the main road where you could people watch for hours!

I would recommend anyone to stay for a couple of nights like we did while waiting for friends to arrive in Ibiza...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Montesol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montesol

Address: Paseo Vara de Rey, 07800 Ibiza Town, Ibiza, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Ibiza Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 52 hotels in Ibiza Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Montesol 1*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Montesol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montesol Hotel Ibiza Town
Hotel Montesol Ibiza/Ibiza Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Montesol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.