We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location excellent breakfast” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Montesol

Save Saved
You added Hotel Montesol to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Montesol
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Vara de Rey, 07800 Ibiza Town, Ibiza, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 52 Hotels in Ibiza Town
Rome
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great location excellent breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

I stayed at Hotel Montesol for a week in August. Small room, simple, quiet, with aircon. Nice historic building right in the centre. The location is very convenient for night and day life. Good prices for what you get. Don't miss breakfast in the bar downstairs

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    17
    20
    12
    23
See reviews for
2
25
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

My wife and I (reasonably elderly people) spent 4 nights (including a weekend) at the Montesol, in the middle of May 2012, on a Bed & Breakfast basis. The Internet booking process via booking@ibiza-hotels.com was quite easy, with only 1 night costs required as a deposit. The balance was required to be paid at Reception after breakfast on the final day. As we were not flying out until quite late that evening, we were allowed to ‘check out’ and leave our suitcases in Reception for collection at a later time. The Internet site describes the hotel as 3 Star, whilst a plate on an exterior wall offers just the one. The latter would be the more accurate of the two.

Having stayed in hotels some 30-40 minutes’ walk from Ibiza town facilities on previous occasions, we determined that one closer to the centre would be better for us on this visit. The Montesol more than adequately met this requirement and must be the major plus point for staying at this hotel. However, the one thing that must be considered a major minus point is the noise that comes 24 hours a day from the nearby traffic and the noise that comes from ‘revellers’ from 10pm through to 6am. Both were horrendous and nothing we could do would have made any difference, apart from moving hotels that is! We were unable to take a proper ‘siesta’ or get a good night’s sleep. Maybe a bit later in the year in the Summer, it will be even noisier.

The hotel is an old property with a cafe attached at ground level. There is 1 lift. The room was of an adequate size, with a small balcony and a view of the Cathedral. Other rooms are available on 3 floors, but each would encounter the same noise problems. The room furniture was ‘ancient’ and the en-suite very outdated, with sink and bath plugs that did not fit. It seems that no effort has been made anywhere to modernise the property. There was a TV, but with no English speaking news or other channels. There was no ‘welcome pack’ or ‘instructions’ of any kind. A map of the island would have been helpful and possibly some travel details. The room was cleaned and the beds made on a daily basis. There were no tea/coffee or fridge facilities. Air conditioning was one unit at the highest and most inaccessible part of the room, with no controls visible anywhere. For electrical items, the only socket was the TV socket, with one other by the sink in the bathroom. There was a telephone in the room.

The hotel has no facilities apart from the public cafe, which is where breakfast was taken. This was available from 8am to 11am. Whilst this was waiter served, this has to be the worst breakfast offered anywhere! We were ‘allowed’ one small cup of coffee or tea (no refills) and one croissant or slice of toast each. This came with margarine and apricot jam. There were no cereals, eggs, fruit or meats that are normally associated with a ‘continental’ style breakfast.

We took a taxi from the airport on arrival at a cost of €15. The journey time was 20 minutes. Leaving was undertaken by bus, only 1 minute from the hotel for a journey of 35 minutes, at a cost of €3.35 per person. The hotel is just one minute away from the harbour/port with its ferries to Formentera, Valencia and Majorca. Similarly, a ‘water-bus’ service is available to Figueretas, Playa d’en Bossa, Formentera and Es Canar. Shopping and ‘eating-out’ is on the doorstep of the hotel, and in every direction thereafter. For those thinking of hiring a car for more than one day, there are no hotel parking facilities. Roadside parking charges are very high.

To summarise, if you can take the noise and poor breakfast, this might be for you on location alone. If not, steer well clear!

Room Tip: Try for a room as far away from roads as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

A cheap and cheerful hotel for one or two nights in Ibiza Town. The rooms are basic but clean and the staff are friendly and helpful. I've stayed here a few times when passing. Through Ibiza and will continue to return.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from the main street as its very noisy for most of the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey St Helier
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

For the location and price this hotel was perfect, all the staff were really nice! the rooms are basic but didn't expect more for the price we paid. The building is lovely and we had a balcony looking over the main road where you could people watch for hours!

I would recommend anyone to stay for a couple of nights like we did while waiting for friends to arrive in Ibiza...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

The hotel is in a really brilliant location if you want to be close the Ibiza old town, right opposite the marina. If you take the airport bus then it’s a short walk from the stop just before KFC then head towards the marina and old town. The building is old but well maintained and quite striking.

I liked the staff, they were friendly and always said hello, even remembered when it was my birthday! The rooms are simple but better than I expected for a 1 star place that I hadn’t paid a lot for in the height of the season – I’ve stayed in 3* places that weren’t as good. The bed was big, the room clean and the bathroom was white, modern, basic and clean. There was a safe in the room which I didn’t use. There was a flat screen tv on the wall. The aircon was modern and quiet. Breakfast was a simple affair of toast, jam butter and a huge croissant along with coffee and freshly squeezed orange juice served in their café downstairs. The locals seem to go there a lot for coffee. I would stay here again because of its close proximity to the marina and the old town and because the staff were polite and pleasant people also it offered good value for money in Ibiza’s high season.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

The only saving grace is the location, right in the heart of Ibiza, mere meters away from the harbour. Other than that, rooms that have seen their heyday in the late 60's at best, creaking uncomfortable mattresses, grumpy staff. And get this : they do NOT provide guests with soap! I asked at the front desk, and they informed me that NO hotel provides soap usually, it is up to the guests to bring some, like toothpaste and shampoo! Asked how many hotels he has stayed in, in the last 10 years, the staff member politely smiled... Apparently they only give you a little tiny bar the FIRST day only, and when I said that I had not even received that when I checked in, I was not even offered that said little bar either.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Montesol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montesol

Address: Paseo Vara de Rey, 07800 Ibiza Town, Ibiza, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Ibiza Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 52 Hotels in Ibiza Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Montesol 1*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Otel and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Montesol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montesol Hotel Ibiza Town
Hotel Montesol Ibiza/Ibiza Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Montesol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.