We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1 week exchange” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pearly Grey Ocean Club

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Callao Salvaje
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pearly Grey Ocean Club
Calle de la Lava, 4, 38678 Callao Salvaje, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“1 week exchange”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

exchanged into pearly grey 4...11 oct 2013 .....given room 410 ....NOT refurbished as yet ....NO air con ....wonderful view ....1 bedroom ....charged 5 euros for wifi per week but not very good to be honest some days not working at all .....STAFF brilliant ....entertainment excellent ...restaurant excellent with good prices ....new bar the edge .....very designerish lovely location but no one in it a great shame cos it should be packed !!!! needs re thinking ....staff on reception so nice ESPECIALLY charlotte ......miss I T ......so helpful needs a pay rise for her expertise with computers !!!!!

Room Tip: ASK FOR A REFURBISHED ROOM 5th floor probably best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pearlyg, Manager at Pearly Grey Ocean Club, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thanks for leaving a review of your recent holiday at our resort.
Overall it sounds like you had a nice time.
We are very proud of our new Edge Bar which does get quite busy depending on the guests we have staying from week to week.
Our WiFi is an ongoing problem and out of our control, the ADSL line provided by the telcomms company is not sufficient to run the service as well as we would like but we are trying to get a new line installed.

Kind regards
The PG Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    104
    102
    38
    15
    9
See reviews for
93
122
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Had a week in a two bed apartment with sea views, a quite relaxing place. The staff are fantastic, nothing to much trouble. I have never been to a place that was so clean. Everything was spotless, cleaners came everyday and changed the towels and were really friendly. The entertainment was great and we really enjoyed it. A few bars near the hotel and a good supermarket called Little Britain where you could get a discount if you were staying at Pearly Grey. Looking forward to a return visit. Should have mentioned the whole place is having a complete refurb.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pearlyg, Manager at Pearly Grey Ocean Club, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
I would like to thank you for leaving us a review from your recent holiday at Pearly Grey.
We are always pleased to hear from our guests and welcome any feedback that we get.
It sounds like you had a great holiday and maybe we will see you back here again soon.

Kind regards
The PG Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

We just love this place and have been returning year after year since 1996. It's a "home from home" in the sun, best atmosphere, friendliest and most helpful people you could wish for, privacy if you want it, socialising if you want it. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff. Luxuriously appointed spacious apartments on the cliff top overlooking the Atlantic with an unrivalled view of neighbouring island La Gomera. Fantastic sun decks - no need to reserve sun loungers as there's more than enough to go around, great bar-lounge, restaurant, cabaret on site with some really good restaurants in the village within a couple of minutes walk. Can't praise this place highly enough.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pearlyg, Manager at Pearly Grey Ocean Club, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Hi Kath
Sounds like you've just had yet another fantastic holiday with us at Pearly Grey.
We really appreciate your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Kind regards
The PG Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Amazing stay in a new apartment staff is friendly great entertainment in the day and night for all ages great view and great stuff to do out side the resort like siam park and lola park. modernised beach just a stroll away, plenty of restaurants bars and supermarkets within 500 metres of the hotel,room safe, towels and a maid service to clean the rooms and change the sheets most days

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pearlyg, Manager at Pearly Grey Ocean Club, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for leaving us your review from your recent stay at our resort.
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your holiday.

Kind regards
The PG Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Just had two weeks in a one bed sea front apt with lovely balcony and views,thanks to Laura. My wife and I just wanted to have a relaxing holiday
and that is exactly what we had. All the staff were superb and went out of their way to help. Special thanks to Debbie, Terri Ann,Pamela and Sue in the restaurant for
being so friendly and helpful..
You may have the meals in your room if you so wish which we did on occasion..
Special thanks also to Gemma and William on reception and especially Charlotte
for being so lovely. Not to forget our maid Juani who was great.
Everyone including Denise made sure we had a super relaxing time without any pressure. The terrace restaurant is a lovely setting. The position of the apartment
and the friendliness of the staff made our holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view rooms which are only on two levels, but could be a problem for the infirm or dis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pearlyg, Manager at Pearly Grey Ocean Club, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thanks very much for your comments.
We are very pleased that you had a great holiday with us and you appear to have enjoyed every aspect of it.
Hope to see you back here again in the future.

Kind regards
The PG Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Our first trip to Pearly Grey and we were looking for a quiet relaxing holiday; we are a couple in our early 60's. We had a very nice, spacious apartment that had been refurbished but the location for us was too noisy and lacked privacy, being on the 1st floor and directly above the restaurant/entertainment area, opposite the pool with rows of sunbeds facing us and next to the children's play area. Music was on every evening until midnight so we had little sleep until quite late. We used the restaurant just once but for us it lacked atmosphere and again, was too noisy -on one occasion I had to ask for the music to be turned down a little so I could hear my husband speak! We hired a car and went out every day to see the island which was good - we are not sunbathers or swimmers so the resort amenities didn't appeal to us. We ate out at a small but quiet restaurant just across the road from the hotel (Café Europe) for a relaxing meal in more peaceful surroundings. On a positive note the staff were helpful and friendly and everywhere was very clean so it is a nice place and well worth a visit if you don't want a quiet time.

Room Tip: Choose a refurbished room away from the noisy area and on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pearlyg, Manager at Pearly Grey Ocean Club, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
I am sorry you found the resort a little noisy, but the majority of our guests do enjoy the entertainment in the evening which does stop at midnight.
It is not possible to cater for everyone, however we do try and provide all our guests with an enjoyable holiday.
Thank you for leaving us some feedback from your holiday.

Kind regards
The PG Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wokingham england
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We have been to PearlyGrey before but this time we were impressed by some of the upgrades especially the new restaurant on the terrace overlooking the Ocean also some of the rooms have had a very nice makeover unfortunately they are still very small and no air conditioning however the ceiling fans worked well The big disappointment was WFI we had to pay 5 euros per device per week and the reception was pathetic and at times non existent

Room Tip: Go for high room views are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pearlyg, Manager at Pearly Grey Ocean Club, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thanks for leaving your comments.
It sounds like you had a good holiday with us but you also mentioned the poor WiFi service.
In 2011 we made a significant investment installing WiFi antennas throughout the resort, unfortunately because our ADSL service provider failed to deliver the ADSL line we were promised we had no choice but to turn off all but two antennas. This was to reduce the number of active users on the WiFi and to try and cut down the number of times the service failed. At the moment this is totally out of our control as we only have a 3MB line trying to service all the resort.

Regards
The PG Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pearly Grey Ocean Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pearly Grey Ocean Club

Address: Calle de la Lava, 4, 38678 Callao Salvaje, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Callao Salvaje
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty lodging in Callao Salvaje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pearly Grey Ocean Club is a holiday ownership complex, situated in a very unique location in Tenerife, Spain overlooking the Atlantic Ocean and offering uninterrupted views across to the picturesque island of La Gomera. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pearly Grey Ocean Club Hotel Callao Salvaje
Pearly Grey Ocean Club Tenerife/Callao Salvaje, Canary Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pearly Grey Ocean Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Pearly Grey Ocean Club to your Saves list