We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A GOOD TIME GUARANTEED” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Playamar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Playamar to your Saves list
Playamar
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rosa De Los Vientos 7, 07687 S'illot, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in S'illot
England
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A GOOD TIME GUARANTEED”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We arrived late at night due to flight time, we arrived at reception and booked in and the receptionist came with us and explained how to get to our room. He had a smile on him and that's all you want when you go on hoilday and very good English. We had breakfast and it was very good all to enjoy did get a bit boring after 1 week. The pools were very good bottom one was cleaned everyday but was colder and top was lovely but when I put my googles on you could see tiles chipping away. The entertainment was good lots of good music. If you eat out in restaurants i would suggest ses ones its a little walk really good food and a good time.

Room Tip: Get room 2e because there are good views and you get air con in the other the are smaller and limits...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    140
    191
    98
    166
See reviews for
215
235
25
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

In the past I've stayed in a vast range of hotels and hostels from 1 star to 5 star And This hotel is ridiculously cheap, we paid very little and expected very little!! We simply wanted a clean bed to sleep in for a quick 4 night break away.

What we got was a clean studio annexe apartment, spotless in fact! Large rooms, small kitchenette with basic utensils! Maid came in every day to tidy up, provide loo roll and make beds which was nice for 2 star self catering.

The pool and bar were fine, rough around the edges to be honest but you are a couple of short. walks away from two nice beaches. staff friendly when people were being nice to them. In my opinion, what goes around comes around if you go with a bad attitude expecting too much from what is essentially a 2star hotel that is as cheap as a hostel.

Downsides- rooms have rubbish balcony views, pretty rough and not pleasant to sit out on. Especially our balcony round the side at the studio annexe. Also, the Crazy Monkey bar (possibly my idea of hell to drink at) is noisy on the weekends as its open late. Im sure it doesnt effect the main hotel residents though. It only disturbed me on one evening though and didn't disturb my boyfriend at all. Security is also a bit dodgy as folk kept leaving the door to the studio buildings open and there's no safe in rooms.

The resort is a bit 'Brits on holiday' for me but its got everything you need, along with a lot of tacky merchandise and 'British food' - The beach at Sa Coma is gorgeous though so it's quite easy to spend all day sunning yourself there and there's a few good restuarants.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yateley, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Just got back from 5 nights at the Playamar in S'illot, Majorca. To be fair wasn't sure what to expect with some of the reviews on here, but we were pleasantly surprised. We knew that this was only a 2* hotle so was not expecting a 4* service but in some areas this is what you received. All we wanted was a bed as you don't go on a beach holiday to spend it sat in your hotel room.
On first impressions when we arrived the hotel was clean and tidy, check in took a few minutes but there was a large party checking in before us, The receptionist was friendly and spoke English as well as numerous other languages, we were offered a coffee after we had checked in. We had a room on floor 3 and lift was working in the lobby so no stairs to contend with.
Room on first glances was clean, tidy and quite spacious with a decent size bathroom. Through the week the room was kept clean and bed's made everyday and towels were changed whenever you left them in the bath, We had no problems with mosquito's, and a decent size balcony to sit on.
Hotel itself had entertainment twice in the week, a nice pool bar open all day and two swimming pools, these can get a little busy and sunbeds are in short demand BUT to be honest you are only two minutes walk away from a lovely sandy beach in S'illot or 5 min walk to Sa Coma Beach. We were Bed and Breakfast and was slightly worried about my partner as she is Coeliac BUT again pleasantly surprised with the range for breakfast, 3 or 4 sliced meats, pate, yogurt, cheese, fresh tomatoes, bacon, beans, eggs, cereal, toast, croissants, pastries, hot and cold drinks. so we filled up on this for the day. I think the choice was great considering it's only a 2* hotel. We did sneak a peak at the all inclusive lunch and dinner service and they have a good range of fresh salads, breads and hot food, not sure what everyone has been moaning about!!

S'illot and Sa coma are right next to each other and two fantastic beaches, s'illots we found a little better as the waves were calmer and sea was crystal clear. plenty of shops and spar's selling everything you need. This is not a party resort so dont expect to be going until the wee hours of the morning, most of the bars and music stops around midnight.
I recommend going to Bi Ba Bo's restaurant literally around the corner from the hotel, we ate there lunch and dinner everyday and they have the best paella I have tasted (and i'm a chef)! There menu is extensive with a good mix of Spanish and British favourites. I think we ate through the whole of the fish menu that week and it was lovely.

Couple of tips for your holiday, if you there a week or more buy a parasol from the Shop to take to the beach the cost around 7 - 9 EURO's and is cheaper than paying 4 euros a day on the beach. Also get tickets for the glass bottom boat trip. 40 Euros for two of us for a three hour coastal trip with swimming stop was beautiful.

Check out is 12 midday at the hotel and we had a pick up late at night, they stored our cases in a locked room and also provide a small room in which you can change and have a shower in before you leave,
I must say all in all I was impressed with this hotel and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishbourne, null, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Just got back from the PLAYAMAR and it really is not as bad as everyone says !! In my opinion nearly everyone who's been here came on a budget !! So surely that tell's you something !! Don't expect 4/5 * when you've only paid 2* prices !! And we all should know by now that Spains hotel ratings are not the same as the UK !!
Yes it was basic , but we got clean appartments, maids came in every 2 days with clean towels and cleaned the room, and at the end of the day no-one spends 24hrs in your room , so that's all you need.
The pool's are small but serve the purpose. You will need to get up early to get a sunbed, but is'nt this the case in most hotel's?
The food is yes basic but edible. It is repetitive but you will not STARVE ! Again as I said before don't expect a la carte in a 2* hotel !! I loved having fresh fruit everyday.
The drinks are all served in plastic cups , but again I did'nt have a problem with this.
The hotel staff I found were helpfull and the bar staff were always busy cleaning up after everyone , trying to keep the bar/pool area clean.
As for people moaning about lack of english speaking , YOUR in SPAIN , how about you learn the basic's like they do when they visit the UK or if all else fails try using google translate !!
You will need to take mossie repellent , we were bitten to hell .
This HOTEL is not as bad as everyone makes it out to be.
I would return without any hesitation.

Room Tip: TAKE MOSQUITO spray's / repellent's
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Reading other reviews it seems there is a similar theme with this hotel. I had booked a 7 night stay in a 1 bedroom apartment with breakfast included, as I was with my soon to be teenage daughter. The idea was to give her the privacy of her own room while I made do with the usual settee made into a bed. Surprise, surprise, there were no apartments available on the first night we were there! We were put in a room only with twin beds and it was so warm I thought I was going to expire. I had to sit on the balcony until well into the wee small hours before I could face going to bed. I think I got half an hour's sleep in the 36 hours from starting the experience to the start of the second morning of the holiday. Having read the reviews, this seems to be par for the course. I gave the man at Reception what I can only call 'The Stare' when he started explaining things. He explained that dinner was free for us because of the inconvenience.

The food is not what I would say is fantastic in the Playamar. Dr Oetker has a stranglehold on proceedings with his pizzas and anything else was poor. Also, as a guest you are expected to clear up after yourself...something I haven't been used to for some years in a hotel.

Well, 'The Stare' must've worked because when we got the apartment I had paid for, it was delightful. We were also given the use of the safe in the apartment for free as way of an apology. Everything worked, the cleaning staff were nice and the lift worked. We were given an apartment which overlooks the 'beach' end of the complex, which gave views of the bridge which strollers use and I have to say, it was very pretty to see. The best bit about the apartment, though, was the fact that it had air conditioning in the living are(my bedroom) and that was superb. My daughter has always been one to cook herself in bed so she didn't mind the warmth everywhere else but for me...excellent.

Breakfast is more of the same from at the Playamar but I quite like going in with a plan of attack; it's not my fault if humans of various nationalities shuffle along, circling around not knowing what they're doing. I did find it quite interesting that this hotel does not really make allowances for language. Within 3 days you seem to become adept at pidgin 'whatever' and sign language with backup noises.

My question for the owners of the Playamar is quite simply this; why do they not have fluent English speakers on their staff? I know that we, as a race, are rubbish at learning foreign languages, but English is THE international language, and let's face it, the majority of holiday makers going to Majorca for a week or 2 in the summer are either Brits or Germans. It is simply not good enough to just shrug your shoulders and say 'tomorrow'. Manyana? Sod off!

Would I go to S'Illot again? Only with a partner. Would I go to Playamar again? Yes, but I want to have an English speaking receptionist who truly understands that when I say I have a shotgun in my pocket, it doesn't mean I'm happy to see him...it's because I would be looking to ensure I got 'what I paid for'!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Three of us went here age 40, 63 and 11. If you book the Annexe then you will regret it.

I read all the reviews before going and thought oh no I'm not going to listen to all the negative comments..... But if you do get the Annexe you will be kept awake by the Crazy Monkey bar opposite that shuts at 6am.... If you are in the hotel then BINGO!!! We moved rooms after the first night!

I'd rate it as a 2* to be honest, even though we were glad to be moved the new room had its problems but all you want is a good night sleep so we were happy to get that. No loud bang, crash wallop like Magaluf so ideal for families. Pool was lovely and plenty of room. Drinks were really reasonably priced... We were B&B and the breakfast was good plenty to choose from.

If you want a cheap holiday in a lovely quiet resort then great, it's Sooo close to the beach its great. This was my 6th visit to Majorca and my favourite resort as its not commercial like other parts of Majorca. You have to visit Onkel Willy at the far end of SIllot.

The hotel, although in peak season had no entertainment after 10pm which was disappointing.

But Sillot is lovely...

Room Tip: Don't get the Annexe
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

having read numerous reviews before travelling i was very anxious as i am a single parent with two teenage sons.. but i must say the hotel was better than what i had expected. although there were a few down points.. we were originally in the annex, on the top floor, i didnt know when booking that the annex didnt have a lift! we asked the next day if we could move into the main hotel, which we were able to do the day after.. and there was no air conditioning.. a must in July... but apart from that the hotel was clean, the food was plentiful and lots of choice, you did hear people moaning, i really dont know why.. my kids are fussy but their plates were always full.. the bedrooms were clean and got beds changed and clean towels most days.. people moaning about all inclusive having drinks in plastic cups, why is this a problem, most people leave their drinks around the pool and if they were glass they could have been knocked over and smashed around an area where children are playing.. the sunbeds could do with renewing.. it was in a great location close to the beach at S'illot and near to Sa Coma beach with water sports available.... we all really enjoyed it, and people should realise its only a 2 star hotel and they shouldnt expect 5star... it was a decent hotel, nice food, helpful staff, great location.... but couldnt sleep cos it was too hot... and no a/c.....

Room Tip: preferred the rooms in the hotel because of the lift. but annex room was larger and had a kitchen an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Playamar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playamar

Address: Rosa De Los Vientos 7, 07687 S'illot, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > S'illot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in S'illot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Playamar 2*
Number of rooms: 338
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Playamar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playamar s Illot
Playamar Hotel s Illot
Playamar Majorca, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playamar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.