We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marietta Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Skala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marietta Hotel
Save
You added Marietta Hotel to your Saves list
Skala, Skala 28086, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Skala
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Went as a family group of five in the first week in May, 2014 including 5yr old grand-daughter in two apartments, a studio and a one bedroomed apartment. Accomodation was clean and adequate-shower curtain could have done to have been longer to prevent water leaking onto the toilet floor. All staff welcoming and friendly-the pool side bar served good quality food throughout the day. Hotel is within 5 minutes walk of Skala Village and amenities. Dined out for 7 nights at 7 different tavernas/restaurants and did not have a poor meal-all establishments child friendly. Village was just opening up for the tourist season-not sure I would want to be there in July/August when season in full swing.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    57
    22
    3
    6
See reviews for
31
76
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Wales, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Went may last year 2013, returned and rebooked for may2014. Great position just 5mins from town and beach great value rooms. Really nice place to stay. We rented a motorbike for a few days and a car for a few days from mr.makis FORD car and bike rental found on the way into town from the marrietta. Found mr makis to be the cheapest and a helpful friendly person to deal with and would very highly recommend for bike or car hire. We are returning in 2weeks time and will be hiring again from mr makis. Looking forward to our 2nd stay at the marrietta.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in Aug 13 with our daughter & her boyfriend. The staff tactfully put us in rooms next but one to each other. We had no complaints with accommodation. Yes, there was a smell in the bathroom but the bathmat over the grate sorted it and what do you expect when the plumbing is ancient! Regina and Andreas in the bar were lovely and friendly as was Stavrola on reception. Our only gripe was the bagging the sunbed mentality. Even before they opened the gate to the pool, people threw their towels over the railings to save a bed and often didn't even sit there til the afternoon! Annoying as space is limited. Overall though, loved it and have booked for this year already.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed for two weeks during July 2013, and were absolutely delighted with the WHOLE island. The rooms were kept very clean with housekeepers in every day. Spacious rooms, lovely staff and the pool side bar had great service and everything you could need. Although there was free wi-fi, the signal would sometimes go out but it is a very small island and the hotel staff were very quick to fix it, and any other problems. Pool was kept immaculate, it was cold but it was exactly what was needed! Restaurants in town were lovely, only had one bad meal where it was cold, but sent it back and they were very apologetic. Everyone was lovely and I would definitely recommend Kefalonia. (p.s. hire a car and go a drive around the island and the beaches, it was absolutely breath-taking. Hire car was well priced.)

Room Tip: We stayed in a 2 room and it was lovely. There is a pretty steep hill on the top level, but the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Me and my fiancée Stayed here from 14th August for 2 weeks with our 2 friends and had a great time rooms are basic but let's be honest we only used them to sleep in an to change so what more do you want ! Staff where brilliant an the facilities are of a high standard pool bar is a bit expensive for cans of coke an snacks but the beer at 3 euros is a fair price we ate out every night in the Main Street with our favourite taverna being the Mikelatos taverna food is amazing and so are the staff ! We have booked again for August 2014 and will are staying at the Marietta!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed the first 2 weeks of September. A really nice place , clean , basic but good location. Away from the resort but not to far to walk. Staff all friendly and helpful. The pool area is clean and well maintained. Plenty of sunbeds. Some of the rooms are very high ( loads of steps to get to) so if you have difficulty with walking request a low floor room when booking your stay. We would visit again and think it is ideal for a relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Stayed 1-14 Sep. 2nd year in a row here. Just as good as last year. If you want a clean, friendly, well maintained and reasonably priced hotel then this one is ideal. Went outside of school hols this year so it was very quiet and peaceful. Some days we had whole pool to ourselves. The weather and sea temp just as warm at this time of year as in early august. Luckily Skala Village hasn't changed at all except for the addition of a new restaurant just of main street. Only reason I haven't given hotel 5/5 is same gripe as last year- the addition of a toaster and microwave wouldn't go amiss

Room Tip: Rooms 12-16. Not too much climbing involved
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marietta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marietta Hotel

Address: Skala, Skala 28086, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Skala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Skala
Number of rooms: 48
Also Known As:
Marietta Hotel Skala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marietta Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.