We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Surprise !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marietta Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Skala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marietta Hotel
Save
You added Marietta Hotel to your Saves list
Skala, Skala 28086, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Skala
uk
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“A Nice Surprise !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I had mixed feelings about this Hotel after reading the reviews but I was pleasently surprised ! Nice location about a 5 to 15 min walk depending on amount of alcohol consumed ! Seemed 2 take longer at night due 2 the 2 steps forward and 1 back ! I had room 13 on the mid level a walk up the side of the hotel and 2 small flights of steps . A nice room with a view . Quiet . Would defo recommend the Air Con . Maid service good and reg clean towels .Room had everything in I needed and extra pillows and a blaket ( we had 1 cool night ) we provided . I tried the Bfast 1 morning and it wasnt brill due to the fact they used Greek Bacon ( fatty ) and Frankfurters Grilled ! Had a Fab Omlette twice and a Toasted Sandwich both Excellent . Soula the manageress was very Helpfull and Nicos the owner was a typical Greek man looks miserable but wasnt actually :) I speak Greek so talked regularly 2 him as his English is poor . Georgia who worked till 4 was lovley and Andreas the Bar man :) what a nice guy :) all in all a FAB holidy and would go there again :)

Room Tip: Dont let the walk put you off !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    57
    22
    3
    6
See reviews for
31
76
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stayed at the Marietta for a week, lovely hotel and friendly staff, very clean and breakfast ok, nice 5 minute stroll into town from the hotel and 10 to the beach. the highlight of Skala has to be Niko's Bakery and Dennis's Bar! Made daily trips to the bakery for the gorgeous cakes! Niko is very friendly, a lovely man and his bakery is a must if you are visiting Skala, don't forget to try the spinach pies. Can't wait to go back next year, will be heading straight to the cake shop!

Dennis's was our local for the week, we went here every night after our meal for one (or 2/3/4!) of his special concoction Pina Coladas! Always made to feel very welcome, feel like we have known him for years.

Skala and Kefalonia in general is such a beautiful and friendly place, would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: ask for private balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes, England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

just returned from the Marietta. Great location, an easy 10 minute walk into the centre. The apartment was very spacious and clean. The kitchen & bathroom facilities were perfectly adequate. The 7 Euro nightly charge for air con was unecessary but we needed it. The bar & pool area were great. Skala has a great beach, good choice of restaurants

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
britan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Yesterday me and my family returned from the Marietta Studios, Skala. It was incredibly clean and the rooms were spacious, the beds were comfy and we had the all facilities that we needed during our stay.
Again, the pool was very clean, and of a good size. There were a few rules for the pool, one of them being 'no ball games' or 'no diving', but these were understandable, as the pool wasn't deep enough for diving, and you'd get splashed by others playing ball games. Most of the time the sun loungers were full and the pool was empty anyway`!
Pool bar staff, (especially Andreas!) were very friendly and extremely informative about the island, and even the sport!
I turned 12 during our stay at the Marrieta, and it was a great birthday! Staff and tourists knew it was my birthday, and were very kind and pleasant!
Skala town was 3/4 minutes walk away, and this was where we ate every night, although it wasn't very lively there was enough to do every night.
Every Wednesday there is a quiz (which we happened to win two weeks running!) and that is fun, plus you win a bottle of wine!
The cats and kittens were adorable and I loved them! There is a mother cat and her 4 kittens downstairs, and a mother and father with their kitten upstairs! We couldn't resist feeding them!
Our only complaint would be the smell of the bathroom drains! Only one of our two bathrooms smelt, but it was bearable, as you couldn't smell them in the main room. If it wasn't for the drains we would have rated 5 stars, but despite that we would be back in a shot.
Had a fab time!

Room Tip: we stayed in rooms 43 and 45, and 43 is the room to be in! It has one of the best views of the apart...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Having just returned from two weeks at the Marietta we thought we would share our thoughts about our holiday. Our apartment was number 28 which slept four and was a split level apartment connected by a spiral staircase with the bathroom on the 1st floor. The kitchen area consisted of a sink and kettle 2 rings for cooking and enough plates etc if you wanted to cook anything. The balcony had a lovely view and overall we were very happy with the cleanliness and standard of accommodation. We didnt take up the option of air con and soon got used to the heat as we could leave the doors open - although the Cockerel did make for some early morning alarm calls!! Overall a lovely holiday the hotel was helpful the staff friendly - you really couldn't fault it. Try Kaliva for excellent food and friendly service. We hired an open top jeep for a day to see the island which is stunning and alot cheaper than the organised trips and the best day out. Enjoy your holiday

Room Tip: we had room 28 which had a lovely view and slept four.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I loved it here & loved Skala, i cant understand some of the other reviews as I could only fault 1 thing (more on that later)
The marietta is very very clean & it is spotless & well looked after. our apartments was one of the cleanest i have ever stayed in.
The rooms are very spacious, we were located in room 3 so quite close to the main building etc & i must say some of the rooms do go really high we were suprised how high they were. looked like they had fab views & fab balcony though. we had a terrace with a table & 2 chairs & was quite good too as you seen everyone passing everynight & was fun who would say hi & who wouldnt & pretended you wernt there!!
in the room we had 2 single beds a wardrobe a dressing table with a mirror and the kitchen area (we only used the fridge so this didnt matter to us)
the bathroom was very clean too and unusually for greece you stepped into it & even had a shower curtain. the shower curtan was a bit short but done the job.
the air conditioning was 7 euros a night but it was really good & there was no way we could of managed without it as it was very hot plus there is mosquito's so could never of left the window open. also what i was impressed with is we couldnt get it the 1st day for the time we arrived & the next day they knew this straight away & only charged us for 6 days. this has never happened to me in any apartments before.
the only thing i would have a little moan about was how hard & lumpy the pillows were so if i went again i would buy some cheap pillows & take them. I def would stay again too no hesitation at all.
safety deposit box's are in the reception which is open something like 9-1 then 6-10 & you can only use your box then but we found it ok. it was 10 euros for a week too which again i think is ok.
the pool was large, we were there in august & always got a sunbed. also it was again very clean immaculate.
yes the pool does have a lot of signs up & i do think its strange you cant take plastic floaters in the pool as they are fun. however they do allow bat & ball in the pool !
there was a few chiildren when we were there & all seemed ok & def not bored, however from a couple without children i quite liked not lots of screaming going on. (sorry)
the pool bar was just for basic snacks but they were ok. we prefered to have a walk down to the beach for lunch as there was some amazing beach front restaurants. however prices in the bar at the hotel was ok 2.80 a bottle of mythos 3 euro a large beer, omlettes about 4 to 5 euros & sandwiches 4 to 5 euros.
it only took us 5 mins to skala centre & it was a ok walk , you came out of the hotel crossed the road & then went left along the path.
the beach took about 10 mins & again was a ok walk
i think skala is more for people who like traditional greece & a village feel. i loved the fact there was no karaoke bars & no entertainment. i loved that it had some lovely bars (and i would say there was at least 14 or 15 bars & thats not including some along the beach where you can drink too. there is def quite a few & a mixture of trendy ones & traditional ones.
then there is all the restaurants on top of that & there is loads. yes there is 1 main street but there is lots of side streets off it & if you explore you will be supprised what little gems you find.
i honestly loved skala i thought it was amazing & could not fault it in anyway. also the prices were the cheapest i have seen in greece in a long time. we could get a large mythos for 2 euro 50, kilo of white wine 4 euro 60 red was 6 euros. glasses of wine in bars was 2 euro to 2.50 euro & cocktails ranged from 3.50 to 5 euros.
honestly thers is so many nice bars & restaurants.

some other tips
it take about 1 hr 40 from the airport & the bends can be a bit scary as a big bus trying to get around them is a bit mad, i think the tour operators should just use small mini buses.
when you return back to the airport it is tiny so you check in & then go to a cafe/bar over from it & then back to the airport about 1 hr before you fly. the cafe is on the left side & does lovely pizzas very well prices too. make sure you dont go back to the airport too soon though as the departures is tiny as is the duty free.
when you check in too they do even weigh your hand luggage so check your def not over as they make you put it in your case if over 5 kilo & then its about £17 a kilo over.
any tips or anything you want to know just ask

Room Tip: dont think you can choose your room as we asked for a high floor but got a lower one, so go with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Lovely apartments and grounds, very clean, Pool area not open until 9am, this stops the towel run starting too early. We had a 5 year old with us, there were only a handful of other children there, mainly teenagers, who were all bored. Too many rules around the pool area, No ball games, No plastics (lilos etc or toys) .No peeing in the pool !!, No Diving. There was a small park, but no other amenities for children. The only entertainment was a Quiz night run by Georgia the rep. No food after 4.30pm. Which means you have to walk into town every night to eat.
I would not recommend for families with children, as very quiet. Mainly couples who want to sit reading all day and not be splashed or hear any noise.
Breakfast was ok, a choice of 6 things if on B & B. Self ctering facilities were very poor. It was a 10 minutes wak into Skala where there are 2 main streets with restauirants on. Enough choice for 2 weeks, No entertainment, apart from the odd restaurant on the beach road with a singer on (suitable for over 50's). Not many shops to browse, apart from the supermarkets and around 6/7 other touristy shops. I was told by another rep on our departure that Kefalonia is not for children.

Room Tip: Ask for room in block A if you struggle climbing stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marietta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marietta Hotel

Address: Skala, Skala 28086, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Skala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Skala
Number of rooms: 48
Also Known As:
Marietta Hotel Skala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marietta Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.