We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family friendly, clean, comfortable and enjoyable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crystal Palace Studios

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Skala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crystal Palace Studios
Save
You added Crystal Palace Studios to your Saves list
Skala, Skala, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Skala
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Family friendly, clean, comfortable and enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Service
The owners and his wife are very friendly and run the resort extremely well. Together with their staff they are up before the guests and still up when we have gone to bed, and 'the girls' are always cleaning - and always had a smile.

Room
I went with two children and shared a twin room expecting the third bed to be a fold away / put me up, but we all had very comfortable beds. All the rooms had a balcony. Our view was 70% hillside and 30% sea with a pink glow in the room as the sun came up over the sea.
The room was spacious with a table to eat at, a dressing table, two bedside tables and a wardrobe. We had a mini kitchen unit with two hot plates and a microwave as well as a shower room.
We didn't pay for aircon the first night - big mistake!! Just book the aircon, it's worth it.

Location
Less than 5 mins to the beach meant I could have an early morning dip on my back from getting breakfast supplies at the closest shop which was another 2 mins away (run by a lovely couple) - and if the children woke (don't worry, they are secondary school age) they could see me on the beach from our room.
The route from hotel to beach was magical and lined with bamboo trees - lit up at night :-)
Earlier reviews suggested a scramble to the beach and a need for torches however that is not necessary.
The walk to town is an easy 10-15 mins along a promenade, depending upon how hot it is, and how much you have eaten!

Amenities
We spent a lot of time playing chess on the oversized set on a hillside overlooking Skala beach. It is testament to the quiet, friendly and peaceful nature of this resort that this was an unattended but well cared for bonus.
The town has many restaurants and bars but does not attract the 18-30 party crowd.
The Pool at Crystal Palace is lovely and clean and never overcrowded, the bar food / grill is very tasty.
We went on a couple of trips booked through Thomson but there are plenty of independent trips and boat hire / water sport opportunities available locally.

Best bit
Location and atmosphere

Worst bit
Sometimes ran out of loungers (so we nipped to the beach instead), there was also a sun terrace adjacent to the pool so it wasn't really a problem

Room Tip: The only room you don't want is 403!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    27
    10
    1
    2
See reviews for
69
174
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We have just left these apartments and really enjoyed it.The family that own it are lovley and very welcoming. It is not that far from the beach and main shops and resturants. We will definately be visiting it again. The views are great and the whole place was well looked after and very clean. The greek night they have is great fun.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Just got back from a week at the Crystal Palace in Skala. Read all the reviews prior to going and was not disapointed. The owners are a lovely couple and make you feel very welcome. We had an apartment that sleeps 4, very spacious and great views of the sea and the hills. Our apartment was cleaned every day and the rest of the resort was well looked after. Great holiday, will be booking early to go back next year as this place is very popular.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Just returned home and missing the sun already.
Our first trip to Kefalonia and all the reviews are spot on.
Excellent value for money, wonderful studios, plenty of space.
Spotless and cleaned daily.
Friendly, wonderful team of staff.
Pool clean and safe for children.
BBQ night great fun, be prepared to join in with the dancing!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrow, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Hi there, we stayed at the Crystal Palace studios in May 2011. It was our frist time to the island of Kefalonia, and our choice of accomodation was spot on. Nick, the owner and his wife and all thier staff, were the perfect hosts. We arrived in the early hours, due to a flight delay, but Nick and his staff were on hand, waiting to greet us. They had even kept thier kitchen open for all the arrivals incase we were hungry, although it was almost 02.30am! Nick will tell you all you need to know about the island, and his story of how his family were very lucky to survive the great earhquake that hit the island in the 60's, and how they eventually emigrated to Australia, only to return in the 90's, and then Nick and his family became hoteliers, opening the Crystal Palace some 8 years ago. The whole complex is clean and compact. The rooms are spacious, with either sea views, or if not, then view overlooking the pool, etc. The linen is changed daily. You have all you need in your rooms to make yourself at home, shower, comfy beds, microwave, cooker, tv, etc. The pool area is excellent, with a weekly bbq, nick and his family lay on a good spread. The pool area has a grass section with sunbeds and chairs for a relaxing sunbathe. There is a bar and snack bar, that serves lovely food, and great milkshakes!! It is only a 5 minute walk to the beach, and to the main street where all the bars are. The beach is a bit stoney, but acceptable. There is a good selection of bars and restaurants in the high street. I reccomend either, Bonnie and Clydes bar, run by an english girl from Nottingham and her greek husband, the music is good, and the atmosphere calm and friendly, or you can visit The Captains bar, for great cocktails, (this bar is visited "most" years by the actor Simon Pegg, and has his photos everywhere!) I toured the whole island, and found it to be 1 of the most scenic of all the Greek islands i have visited. Fiskardo is a lovely place to visit and chill for the day, and the beach at Sami is excellent, with stunning views from the cliff tops as you head down to the beach, and the scenery from the beach is beatifull, with crystal clear, calm water. A visit to Mellasani lake is a must, although the boat trip is only a few minutes long, it is beautifull. and the Drogarati caves are also a stunning sight. Entry to both is very cheap. We never had a bad meal or expirience on this lovely, friendly, stunning island. Enjoy!

Room Tip: All rooms are in a quiet location, away from any hustle and bustle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Stayed here at the end of July 2012. We've stayed self catering in Greece a number of times and been to Skala before (9 years ago) but not at these apartments.This was our first holiday as a family, we were a little nervous about taking our 7 month old abroad for the first time. We couldn't have chosen a better place! Our appartment (103) was spotless, had access from the ground floor, two balconies and the aircon (extra 40€) was well worth the money. The travel cot provided was immaculate, our room was cleaned every day. The people who run and own the accommodation are lovely and were very helpful. The accommodation is up a steep hill abou a 10 min walk out the town, this is not unmanageable with a small child in a buggy. We took the path from the apartments down in to town of a evening at the flight of steps we would had to take our daughter out of the chair and carry her and the buggy separately. The slight inconvenience of the accommodation being on the side of a hill was worth it for being immaculate, the best accommodation we've ever had in Greece!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PETERBOROUGH
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Aiithough this resort is set in mountain side the owner has made a pathway down to the the beach which is lighted after dark and it makes it an easy walk to the beach. Only 15mins tothe centre of Scala. Bars and resterantsare closer.The appartments are excelant and are very clean. Staff are very helpful andfriendly. The bbq night is very good with entertainment. Would reccomend this resort

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crystal Palace Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Palace Studios

Address: Skala, Skala, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Skala
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Skala
Number of rooms: 38
Also Known As:
Crystal Palace Studios Hotel Skala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crystal Palace Studios, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.