We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melidron

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Skala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Melidron
Save
You added Melidron to your Saves list
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Skala Beach, Skala 28082, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Skala
Llandudno Junction, Wales, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Amazing holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

My partner and I spent a magical week at the Melidron, 13th - 20th October 2013. We arrived Sunday evening and were greeted at the entrance by Zeffie, the owner and her brother Theo the manager. We had room B4 which overlooks the beautiful pool and has a sea view. The room was large and very comfortable with the added bonus of a fridge and kettle. The Hotel and grounds are spotless and well maintained. A five minute stroll along the seafront and you get to the centre of Skala with a selection of bars, restaurants, shops etc.
Theo and Zeffie prepared us some salad, bread and tzatziki when we arrived which was much appreciated and totally delicious. We found out we were the only guests but we were treated so well and made to feel so welcome that it really didn't matter!
Their mother cooks and made us some amazing food during the week, traditional Greek cuisine and so tasty, she makes an amazing salad dressing too! A lovely Lady, who would come and say hello daily.
Nothing was too much trouble for Theo or Zeffie, they made our holiday so special and we were genuinely sad to leave and they made us feel like they would miss us too!!!
Kefallonia is a beautiful Island and we were lucky enough to get on the final Island tour of the season, well worth it too. We would recommend the Melidron to anyone who wants a chilled holiday with a personal touch.
Collette and Phil, North Wales ( Booked through Olympic)

Room Tip: B3 & B4 forward facing over pool and seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    8
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
21
62
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
chesterfield
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This hotel and staff is worth its weight in gold,
All the staff are amazing especially Soula who is a total treasure and nothing too much trouble.
Quiet location only a couple of minutes from the beach and about a five minutes walk to the centre, excellent position.This hotel is beautiful lovely swimming pool padded sun beds and lots of them no need to put towels down here. Comfortable tables and chairs to eat and have a drink.
Try the pizza its great we shared one a couple of times.
Rooms spotless, we had an apartment it was huge complete with FREE air conditioning in both bedroom and lounge. Had two balconies from which we could see the sea,tv, table and chairs. settee fridge and kettle.
Maids visited every day and we had clean towels and bedding every third day.
Breakfast enjoyable the orange juice was just squash as previously reported and the coffee luke warm on a few occasions and there were a lot of wasps but compared to everything else this was insignificant.
Loved every minute didn't want to go home.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We spent the first two weeks of September at the Mellidron where we had a wonderful holiday. It was our first visit to Kefalonia and we couldn't have chosen a better hotel to stay.On arrival we were shown to our room not just given a key with instructions where to go. This family run hotel was exceptionly clean and well looked after.The ever present Sula who never seemed to sleep must be the hardest working woman on the planet and a lovely person to know.We give this hotel 10/10 and would highly recommend it.
Pauline and Ian Cumbria

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Really don't want to tell people about this place as its very special but can't be selfish.Spent a week @ the Melidron end of September.From the moment we arrived until we left nothing was too much trouble for the wonderful staff.Large room with small balcony with a side sea view was great,small kitchen area with sink,fridge,kettle @ dining table & chairs.Lovely pool with cushioned loungers,there were always plenty avaliable.Breakfast was O K,lunches @ the bar were very good & BBQ dinner was excellant.2 minutes from beach & 10 minutes from Skala.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We have just spent a week at the Melidron.
On arrival we were shown to our room, the room was large and spacious with a large balcony over the reception area. We did have a view of the sea. I had emailed previously with my requests but received no reply but all requests were met on arrival. There was plenty of wardrobe space and drawers/storage. The bathroom was very small but the shower was good. The air con worked well and was free of charge. The beds were two singles but were put together as a double and they were very comfy. The room was very clean and remained so throughout the holiday.
I was pleasantly surprised with the room as it looked better than the pictures I had seen before we went. It also had a TV not sure what channels it had as we never turned it on. We were told that fresh towels were every three full days, which meant we had one change of towels in a week’s stay. Not enough I felt.
The room was also very quiet and we had uninterrupted sleep every night until 8.30 as the room next to ours was the cleaners room and she started about that time. There was no noise from the bar and you woke refreshed.
I think food is a personal choice and I felt the breakfast to be disappointing, although there was a decent choice of bread, sliced ham, cheese and cake every day. Also boiled eggs, some tinned fruit and yogurt. I didn’t like the tepid coffee or the orange juice which was just watered down squash. This was served on a tray to you. No fault to the hotel but wasps was a problem even whilst eating inside and the honey/jam was covered but wasps were already in there. This was also a problem in the day at other places too.
The pool/ bar area was exceptionally clean and of a very high standard with great sunbeds with thick mattresses and a nice comfy sitting area. The pool was clean and a refreshing temperature. The bar prices were fair. It was a lovely and relaxing place to be. There was also a good book swop library available. The whole area was not lively but about relaxing in a chilled environment.
The hotel is situated in a good location and a ten min stroll to the main skala area where there are plenty of restaurants to choose from. There are pavements so you can stroll along side the sea safely. Skala is typical Greek but is not the most scenic resort, we hired a quad bike for four days and felt we saw more quaint resorts but Skala had a good all round feel with plenty of eating/drinking options. In general we felt Skala was a good choice as a base.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Stayed at the Melidron the first 2 weeks of September. The Melidron is situated a leisurely 10 min walk from the centre of Skala 50 metres up a small lane between the Akrogiali taverna and The Villa Costa which means only 50 metres from the beach.

We received a genuinely warm welcome from the staff and was allocated a lovely spacious one bedroom apartment which was kept spotlessly clean for the whole of our stay.The apartment had a small kitchenette which had a fridge and a kettle, but no cooking rings, and also cutlery and crockery. Also the air conditioning was free which was a big bonus has it was essential with temps in the 30s.

Breakfast was continental/Greek with a good selection which could be eaten outside on the terrace, what a great way to start the day .

The pool area was lovely with comfortable padded loungers and garden furniture and surrounded by a lovely well kept garden.

This was the first holiday in a long time where I have not wanted to go home at the end of the 2 weeks. I have fallen in love with Kefalonia, Skala and the Melidron.

Many thanks to all the staff for a wonderful stay and hopefully we will be back next year.

Sharon & John.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This was our third visit to Skala and our first at the Melidron. After this we wouldn't stay anywhere else.
The service was excellent. Nothing was too much trouble and you were made very welcome by all the friendly staff. Cleanliness and quality of rooms second to none. Breakfast was good as was the BBQ evening. Pool area spotless with plenty of room for all, though we prefer the beach which was a 2 minute walk away (and with a €1 discount for Melidron residents).
Less than 10 minutes to the village where there are more than enough excellent tavernas to keep everyone happy.
All in all a wonderful holiday destination.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melidron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melidron

Address: Skala Beach, Skala 28082, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Skala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Skala
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Melidron 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at the friendly family run Melidron Hotel in the unspoilt island of Kefalonia, an island full of stunning scenery, which includes mountains, pine forests and beautiful beaches. Charming and modern the hotel is situated on the famous Skala beach and offers accommodation comprises of studio rooms, which are clean and spacious with living area and modern bathroom and facilities. There is an on site restaurant and bar offering some authentic tasty cuisine and local drinks. Guests are invited to relax at this retreat either by the pool with a cool drink, the terrace area or beautiful surrounding gardens or why not hit the beach and take a dip in the crystal clear water of the sea. For those who wish to be a little more active watersports, mountain hiking and excursions are popular or why not hire a car and discover more of the island. The centre of Skala is a pleasant walk away and has many shops, bars and restaurants with traditional home cooking. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melidron, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.