We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melidron

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Skala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Melidron
Save
You added Melidron to your Saves list
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Skala Beach, Skala 28082, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Skala
Oslo, Norway
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

We had a lovely stay at Melidron. The owners were exceptionally friendly and helped with whatever we needed. Large rooms with tv, a little kitchen, sofa, table and a large balcony. The breakfast was very simple and you get it on a tray every morning from 8:30 - 10:30. It's a little "upgraded" saturdays and sundays. :) We wish the towels and sheets got changed more often, but otherwise the room was very clean. Threre was a good selection of food in the hotel-menu and nice to eat out in the hotel-area by the pool. Free internet in the lobby and, if you're lucky, in your balcony. It's a short walk to the beach and up to Skala center.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    8
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
21
63
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tromso, Norway
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

The hotel is gorgeous. The rooms are spacious and clean and the staff is friendly. The swimingpool is great. Calm surroundings, and close to the beach. A pleasant walk to Scala center.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2009

My partner and I have been to the Greek islands quite a few times and the Melidron Apartments are definitely the best self-catered apartments we have stayed in for the price. George & Sula (the owners) are really friendly and the rooms are large and clean with nice bathroom facilities (compared to some self-catered apartments where a shower tray is all you get!). The location is great for a quiet, relaxing beach holiday. The apartments are right by the beach and a five minute walk from the restaurants and bars on the beachfront. The pool at the Melidron is also very nice and the atmosphere is pleasant. We are a couple in our mid-20s and went at the beginning of the season in May so it was quieter than I imagine it would be in July/Aug. Scala is at one end of the island but you can easily rent a car/scooter to see other parts of the island and we ventured all the way to the northern part of the island to see Fiskardo (recommended for a day trip - beautiful scenery but only if you don't mind a three hour round trip). I would definitely stay at the Melidron if I were to go to Scala again

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2008

Well, where can i start!!

The Melidron was amazing, possibly the reason we returned to Keflalonia!

The rooms where so clean, the bathroom was modern
(unusual for greece)
We had all the simple supplies we needed and possibly more!
There was a little dressing table and mirror area which was a godsend for me and my mum haha!
The Food we had at the little resteraunt/bar area was delicious, i personally enjoyed soula's Omlette!!
I could sit by the pool all day, the pool was big enough to swim around in to cool off.
I made a friend during the holiday and she had a little sister who was just turning 6 and she absolutely loved the play area!
The Drive way was beautiful :)
I dont think i had one bad word to say about this wonderful place!!!
Soula and Geogre where so helpful with everything,
The BBQ night we had was extroadanry, it was a chance for us all to stay in by the bar and relax with the friends we had made for during our stay.
I made a friend who i will keep in touch with (hopefully) forever :)
The town it's self was wonderful too, my mum and dad loved to sit and have a drink in the bars hahaha!

  • Liked — everything!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2007

We stayed in the Melidron Apartments in mid september 2005 and had the most amazing week. The apartments are just 2 stories high and are situated about 100m from the beach at skala. Both the Greek owners/managers and the english bar man were exceptionally welcoming and made our stay very memorable. The view from the pool was out of this world looking striaght onto the ionian sea. The apartments were large and well decorated with all the amenities we needed. Bathroom and bedroom were done in a modern style and we had a large balcony. The apartments are situated about a 10 minute walk into the centre past various restaurants and along the vast beach. We hired a car from Greekstones in the centre of Skala for 2 days and again had a great service. We saw a lot of the island inparticular Fiskardo, Myrtos Beach and Sami, although the interior countryside of the island is just as breathtaking as the coastline. There are so many amazing things I can remember about Melidron and Kefalonia, but so as not to bore you probably the best advice is to say go and find out for your self, you will not be diappointed!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melidron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melidron

Address: Skala Beach, Skala 28082, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Skala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Skala
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Melidron 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at the friendly family run Melidron Hotel in the unspoilt island of Kefalonia, an island full of stunning scenery, which includes mountains, pine forests and beautiful beaches. Charming and modern the hotel is situated on the famous Skala beach and offers accommodation comprises of studio rooms, which are clean and spacious with living area and modern bathroom and facilities. There is an on site restaurant and bar offering some authentic tasty cuisine and local drinks. Guests are invited to relax at this retreat either by the pool with a cool drink, the terrace area or beautiful surrounding gardens or why not hit the beach and take a dip in the crystal clear water of the sea. For those who wish to be a little more active watersports, mountain hiking and excursions are popular or why not hire a car and discover more of the island. The centre of Skala is a pleasant walk away and has many shops, bars and restaurants with traditional home cooking. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melidron, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.