We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply, but clean and with great service.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mi Abeli Apartments

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Skala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mi Abeli Apartments
Skala, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 25 hotels in Skala
Malmo, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Simply, but clean and with great service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

It's a simple standard room, but it's cleaned 5 times a week. The staff and service is great and the location is superb!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    3
    0
    3
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki,Finland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

What a disappointment this "hotel" was! We were greeted by a teenager in shorts, evidently the owner's son, then shown to a room just above the kitchen - the smells!! Okay, when we complained, through the holiday rep though, we got a room facing a lovely private garden next door and the sea. At nights the karaoke from a horrible noise factory called Captain's bar was heard in our room. Luckily Skala is not a nightlife hot spot. The room was so ill planned that you couldn't fully open the fridge, the top of the closet was half nailed close - otherwise you would have knocked down the curtains. I don't think anyone can cook there, there was just one spoon, one glass, a mug, and a fleemarket sortiment of other kitchen utensils. With all this we could have coped with- hey it is only a two star place, but what is totally unforgivable it that they don't clean the rooms! The cleaning lady certainly had time to hose down and sweep the yard EVERY DAY, but didn't touch the rooms. The bin was emptied- fine- but nothing else- not before we complained again. Then we got fresh sheets and towels but other than that the room was not cleaned. Being so cramped it got very unpleasant during our one week holiday. Mind you- the hotel was advertised as cleaning 5-times a week. What a joke! Don't stay here, the lovely village of Skala is filled with rooms to let so there is plenty to choose from.

There is a great beach, 2 sunbeds and an umbrella 6 euros a day. Good restaurants ( don't eat at Mi abeli - if the rooms aren't clean - I can only imagine what the kitchen is like!) we ate once at mi abeli, just average Greek food. Try restaurant " The old town" little further up the hill- were there twice: lunch &dinner- both excellent with super service. For ice-cream and light snacks we headed for Sugar Lemon - five visits- super service and delicious ice-cream and waffles. We got fresh rolls every morning from the bakery- the bigger one closer the hill top, lunch meat and everything else you can ever think of needing from Solomon's supermarket.

A car rental we used was Etam- across the street from the hotel . Yiannis loves his island and gives good advice what to see and do. The cars were little so-and-so but trust me- it is safer to take wheels with less power when you hit the curvy roads. Don't waste your time with Argostoli- unless you want to shop.For Skala shopping try ValArte for fun bags and jewellery. Fiskardo, and little fishing village Katelios are worth visiting, Katelios especially if you want to have fresh fish for lunch/dinner. The beach is sandy in Katelios and not deep so it is ideal for kiddies.
Kefalonia is fabulous, people friendly and it is generally very clean- Mi Abeli excluded.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristiansand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

We LOVED Kefalonia, and Mi Abeli had a perfect location.
BUT the hotel was dirty when we moved in. There was black hair all over the floor, sand in the shower, toothpaste on the mirror and the sink, and mosqito blood all over the walls.
The shower was very dangerous. You allmost got burnmarks because the water turned HOT before you knew it.
But Skala is a wonderful village. I LOVED it there.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2006

Booked a deal to Kefalonia only one week before departure. Accommodation was allocated on arrival at Kefalonia airport. I was very nervous at not choosing our own acommodation but at the price we paid I was prepared to take the risk.

On arrival at the airport, our tour rep advised us we were booked into the Mi Abeli apartments in Skala. The Mi Abeli is a smal complex of about 15 studio apartments each sleeping 2, with a balcony, situated above the Mi Abeli restaurant.

Accommodation is fairly basic however it was meticulously clean which in my view is the most important thing.

Cooking facilities were limited (2 hobs) however I don't go on holiday to cook. I did manage to make a cooked breakfast on a few ocassions though without any major problems.

The only drawback was that there was no pool. Not much of a drawback though seeing that the Mi Abeli is about 500yds from the beach and the neighbouring properties allow you to use their pool as long as you buy a drink!

I'd recommend this place to anybody who is just looking for a clean place to use as a base for their holiday.

Stayed June 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mi Abeli Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mi Abeli Apartments

Address: Skala, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Skala
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 25 hotels in Skala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mi Abeli Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mi Abeli Apartments to your Saves list