We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Costa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Skala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Costa
Scala Beach, Skala, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 25 hotels in Skala
west sussex
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Having just returned from Villa Costa with my husbandI can honestly say this is one of the nicest hotels we have stayed in. The rooms and ground of the hotel are immaculate and Mario and his team keep everything running smoothly. Six rooms all have sea views and the town is only a short walk away. The food was superb and the "greek night" and barbecue with wine tasting was very enjoyable. The only negative point I would make is that the pool was very cold, but as the beach is just across the road this wasn't too much of a problem for those of you who want to swim. We hope to return to Villa Costa soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in Persephone which was very comfortable and had a large shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    91
    11
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
16
76
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I have reviewed Villa Costa before (July 2011) but felt I had to add another...
We have just returned from our second visit to Villa Costa - and yet again it was absolutely amazing! We spent 2 wonderful weeks being so well looked after by Mario and his wonderful team; Tashula our waitress, Theo the best ever cocktail barman, Dimitrius the chef & Vassa his assistant who produced the most exceptional food for breakfast, lunch and dinner, and Alona who kept our room immaculately clean.
It is an oasis of peaceful relaxation whether you spend your time in your room or patio/balcony, at Sophias Terrace having a fab cocktail or by the pool. And being fairly central to Skala all facilities and the town are close at hand.
The weather was perfect for most of our stay however we did have rain on our last 2 days. So although we couldn't spend time on the beach or by the pool we passed 2 very pleasant days in the company of some of the other couples (and staff) from the hotel we met whilst on this holiday. We laughed, joked, drank, read, did crosswords and generally had a great time.
We have fallen in love with Kephalonia and Skala is the perfect location to enjoy this beautiful island. We will definitely be back and Villa Costa will be the place that we stay.

Room Tip: all the rooms are lovely - 6 have a seaview whilst nausicaas is at the back and has a garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Villa Costa is definitely one of the most beautiful hotels we have ever stayed at. I am not one for writing reviews and never have done so before, however our holiday was so enjoyable that I felt compelled to put "pen to paper". All of the reviews regarding this fabulous hotel really do "tell it as it really is". Mario has put together an excellent hardworking team who throughout the week made our stay very memorable. This was enhanced by the lovely fellow guests that we met whilst there.
Don't hesitate, just book it and you will not be disappointed.

Tony & Kate, East Yorkshire



Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield(UK)
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Villa Costa is located along the main beachfront of Skala towards the northern end of the beach. The beach itself is no more than 15 steps from the front gate. The accommodation is set back from the road with 6 of the 7 rooms having a sea view. The gardens and pool are immaculately kept. It is a five minute walk into Skala town.

We stayed in Helene which is on the first floor which overlooked the sea ....amazing views of the sunrise! The room had every convenience, wi-fi, safe, fridge, air-con, sink, tea & coffe making facilities which were re-stocked on a daily basis. Maid service was daily. Towels are provided for the pool and for the beach on a daily basis. A bottle of water and a bottle of wine will be waiting for you in the fridge.

Meals and drinks are served on Sofias Terrace which is a wonderful place to sit and enjoy the cooling breeze that flows through terrace. Breakfast is a 'served breakfast' not the usual buffet, everything is prepared to order. There are two choices for each course at the evening meal. If you stayed for two weeks you would be able to select from the menu without eating the same thing twice.

Villa Costa is a haven of tranquility where satisfying your holiday needs are the central most important element of each of the staff team's daily concerns. You will not experience better food, wine or cocktails anywhere in Skala, probably not anywhere on the island. The experience is gastro dining at its best, a perfect blend of old and modern Greek cuisine.

We thoroughly enjoyed our two weeks at Villa Costa and we were lucky enough to enjoy the wedding of tuppence1p. In our opinion this was a 'special' experience. Twelve different people invited to the wedding of a couple unknown to them..........what a risk! We had a great time dancing until the early hours of the morning.

I couldn't finish without mentioning the staff by name along with their specialisms at Villa Costa. Dimitri and Vasiliki are the engine room of the kitchen producing consistently high quality fine food, Theo who mixes the best cocktails anywhere in Skala, Tasula who smiles like the sunshine every day as she attentively waits on table, Sofia who ensures the gardens are immaculate and who picks fresh flowers for your table every day, Elona who cleans your room every day - you never see her because she is so careful to do this when you are out of the room, and finally Mario the maitre'd who mows the perfect lawn but who has a great knowledge of Greek wine and will ensure you get the best that Greece has to offer.

The high level of service and attention to detail means that you cannot help but return from holiday refreshed and rejuvenated.

Don't hesitate to message me for any further information about Villa Costa or Skala.

Room Tip: First floor have an elevated sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

From the minute we walked through the gates of Villa Costa until the sad minute, two weeks later we had to leave, we had the most wonderful time. The taxi transfer is always a good start to any holiday and when the taxi pulls up Mario meets and greets you to show you personally to your room. No dissappointment there, the room (Maia) was exactly as it says on the web site, clean, comfortable everything you need, lovely view over gardens and pool and a bottle of water and wine in the fridge!
We was not just in Villa Coata for our holiday but to get married and what a day we had. First of to Poros to do the legal bit and in the evening our own vows and personal ceremony at the Villa Costa. We can not thank Mario and his team for the most amazing, perfect day. It was everything we could of wanted or dreamt about. The immaculate gardens were decorated with an arch with the most wonderful flowers. Chairs set out for the hotel guests (who all joined in the evening).. then a delicious meal cooked by the very talented chef Dimitris. We all sat on tables set out on the grass and the wine flowed. Mario made sure the music we wanted was played and although on the whole this is a quiet hotel we all had an amazing evening of dancing and laughing. We cannot thank Mario, Theo the barman, Dimitris the chef and his assistant, Tashula the always smiling waitress and the beautiful gentle Sophia for making this day so special.
The wine tasting evening is a great night it brings the guests togeher and Mario's geat knowledge of wine is very interesting. The wine list is also very good and Mario and Theo will always help you choose. Theo's cocktails are also not to be missed, I think we tried them all in our 2 weeks. His Mohito's are wonderful and not forgetting the Vodka Maritini's!
Tashula the waitress always serves you with a smile and nothing is too much trouble. Sophia keeps the gardens immaculate and cut a beautiful bunch of flowers for the table on our wedding night.
The Villa Costa is a place that we will most certainly go back to.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stayed for two weeks at Villa Costa in July 2012 and would definitely recommend the hotel. As you walk along the coast road Villa Costa perhaps looks a little smarter than the other buildings but does not particularly stand out, but once you pass through the VC gates you realise that Mario has created something special. The hotel combines an informal and friendly atmosphere with high quality service and facilities.
There are only seven rooms, three each on the ground and first floors facing the pool area and one, the Nausicaa, on the ground floor at the side of the building. At the time we booked we were slightly concerned that only the Nausicaa was available but that did not prove to be a problem. All rooms appeared to be of a similar good standard and although the first floor view may be preferable if you are on the ground floor the loss of view is offset by the added privacy of the side situation.
We were half board and the food prepared by Demitris and his assistant was excellent in quality and presentation; much of the experience might be lost if you did not eat at the hotel. The hotel has an intimate and friendly feel and we found ourselves in the unusual position of knowing the names of all our fellow guests. In our two weeks we met some lovely people with varied and interesting life experience.
Mario meets and greets all guests and maintains a quiet presence overseeing a quality service and to some extent leaves the front of house role to his excellent bar manager Theo and the ever smiling waitress Tashula. We found the entire team professional and efficient; there is a real focus on service. Mario’s mother, Sophia, can be seen gardening, tidying and overseeing the housekeeping but again as a quiet and unobtrusive friendly presence.
Scala is a small resort and relatively quiet. The beach is a mix of grit and pebbles and is at its best towards the main village (south west – look out for Milos beach bar).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

The title really says it all about Villa Costa! This beautiful family home now offers itself as a home to all of its guests. Mario along with his mother and his great team @ Villa Costa have created a sanctuary within the beautiful grounds and private setting. (please see my recent images!)

From the moment you arrive you are greeted by Mario and his mother, straight away you feel welcomed and respected with Marios very relaxed but professional manner. This feeling continues during the entire stay, with an inobtrusive presence Mario ensures that the standards of service are always maintained. His complete team, from the room maids who seem to slip in and efficiently clean your room every day to a superb standard, to his staff at the dining/ bar area, Tashula who is always smiling and the charming Theo (oh my god!) who will always be ready to knock you up a superb quality cocktail or Frappe!

The final part of the Vila Costa team, probably the least prominent but undoubtably the most influential on your stay are the amazing chef Demetri and his kitchen staff. As a lover of fine food it was amazing to know that every day would bring superb evening meals, perfectly balanced menus, fresh ingredients and an equally enjoyable selection of fine kefalonian wines from Marios cellar. With a modern and refined take on Kefalonian cuisine, you will not want to eat elsewhere, even with Skalas abundance of good restaurant & taverna.

Breakfast and lunch are also served on the lovely garden dining area, which is cool and comfortable even in the midday heat. Breakfast is a great selection served to your table to order, from hot full breakfast to cereal, to our personal favourite, pancakes with apple, honey & cinnamon!

Villa Costa is finished to an amazing high standard which photos cannot do justice! From the comfortable and clean rooms with lovely views and doors opening on to private patios and balconies, to the immaculate pool and jacuzzi with the highest quality most comfortable sunbeds! The gardens which are maintained beautifully and lit in the evenings to create a perfect holiday atmosphere.

I really wanted to include Lots of great feedback on Villa Costa with plenty of pictures, as I really believe that this is Skalas greatest asset! I cannot reccomended highly enough! Thank you to Mario & all the team, we look foward to staying again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Costa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Costa

Address: Scala Beach, Skala, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Skala
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Skala
Also Known As:
Villa Costa Hotel Skala
Costa Hotel Cephalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Costa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Villa Costa to your Saves list