We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for couples” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 9 Muses Hotel Skala Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added 9 Muses Hotel Skala Beach to your Saves list
9 Muses Hotel Skala Beach
Skala Beach, Skala 28082, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Skala
London, England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great hotel for couples”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2007

If you are looking for a holiday destination that has a reasonable number of restaurants , good beaches and is mainly adults I would definetly recommend Skala.

The 9 Muses was really great. It was a little out of the main area of town but everything was in easy walking distance. The staff were great and it was a really relaxing holiday. The room was really nice and very clean.

The beach in Skala is mainly sand ans small stones. It is a very large beach that extends for miles. You can easily find your own little area out of ear shot of other beach goers. Check it out on Google Planet to get an appreciation of the size of the beach.

There are plenty of restaurants around. Our favourite was the one in front of the 9 Muses. They treated us great. The house white wine was the best we had on our holiday.

One world of caution--- do not go to the resturant "Pines". My partner's meal was not edible and he is pretty easy going about food. I came down with really nasty food poisoning from my meal. I would recommend staying away. It wasn't a nice looking restaurant anyway.

Loved the holiday. First location that I thought I would go back to in the near future. It was great for a couple with out children (of any age). I would not recommend it for young families. We had brillant weather and the people of Skala were so kind.

  • Liked — Great people, wonderful location and beach
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    72
    15
    4
    4
See reviews for
69
325
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, England
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2007

Nine muses IS the best hotel in Skala and the whole of Kethalonia. Get booking. Read on if you need to know more.....
Our freinds came to 9 Muses last year and recomended it. Combining that info with the great reviews we booked for 2 weeks B&B. It was our wedding anniversary when we were there so I e-mailed the hotel hoping to get a room with a view of the sea or pool. On arrival at the hotel our cases were taken off us straight away we were given our keys and then taken to our rooms fastest check-in ever. We were very pleased as we had been given a room with a view of the pool and sea and a complimentary bottle of wine and flowers, nice touch and a great start to the holiday. The room was on the second floor and had air-con, twin beds, shower bathroom ( the shower was brilliant you won't miss the bath), fridge which was great to have for your own drinks and a kettle. You can pick up the small packets of coffee, tea-bags and sugar at breakfast and just buy a carton of milk from the supermarket. The balcony was small but big enough to sit on and have a drink in the evening before going out.
The bus transfer from the airport with First Choice took over an hour each way as there were other drop-offs and pick-ups, but the views of the coastline are amazing. One tip though if you get travel sick take some sickness tablets its a winding road, felt sick as a dog on the way back to the airport and I'm usually ok.
The Nine Muses is a fantastic hotel the staff are amazing and all very polite and could not do enough for you. The food in the Aeolos restaurant on site was brilliant and we ate there twice in the evening and once for lunch on the beach. As other people has said I have never seen a more boring selection of food for breakfast unless you pay for the extras. There was meat, cheese, boiled eggs, fruit salad toast jams and honey and tea and coffee. Sound ok but try it for two weeks. I made it to the 10th day then started to have the extras which are cheap anyway 2,50euros for bacon and egg or 3,50 for full english, there was also scrambled eggs french toast. Its a shame about the breakfast as everything else was amazing. If you go on the beach its 6 euros for two sunloungers and an umberella which is the same charge all the way down the beach. If you want any food or drinks a waiter comes to the beach throughout the day to take your order. The beach has a blue flag award and is spotless and is right accross from the hotel, don't worry about the road inbetween you hardly ever see a car. The pool bar serves great cocktails 5euros at happy hour up to 8 o clock served by Mike and Amanda who are great. Other info large beers 3euros, a large bottle of water and ice is only 1 euro they also make special coffee's and there's soft drinks too. Every 2 weeks they also have a greek night with dancing and free ouzo and small meze.
Skala has one main street with lots of bars and restaurants. Top ones for us were 1st Symposium, 2nd Flamingo, 3rd Penelopes (not on the main straight its on the way to Poros, its a large boat perched right on a cliff top over looking the sea nice for the sunset), 4th Pines, 5th Aquarius. But all the food was brilliant didn't have a bad meal at all.
Car hire - go with the rep we had a ford focus WITH a/c for 4 days - 130euros.
Top things to see :
the Drogarti caves, the melissani lake
Day trip to Ithaca (If you plan to go by car the ticket office is near the bank in Sami, the ferry leaves at 8-30 get the for 8-00am and buy a return ticket, it comes back at 4-30 I think but check also when coming back get there early when its full its full).
Fiskado (millionares playground)
Myrtos and Assos beaches
Argastoli - see it at night if you can
Agia Efimia
Mount Enos and all the hills and coastal views.
The whole island is amazing we did the lot in the car over 4 days, don't worry about a map you get one from the hire company.
We also did the Zante trip through first choice for 46 euros each, we saw all the main places but it is a long day over 12hours door to door.
Get booking for Kefalonia you will love it, we will be back for sure.

  • Liked — The staff, the cocktails, the evening food, the pool
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aussie
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2007

I stayed at 9 muses with my husband and 2 children aged 9 and 12 a couple of weeks ago. We had a family room which was spotless and the cleaning staff kept it very clean during our stay. There were ample towels for the room but no towels for the pool, so bring your own. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful and made you feel very welcome to the hotel. The breakfast I must say was below average and so was the restaurant, we had a very bad meal there even though our waiter was very nice. Our children seemed to be the only kids around the pool and it seemed we were the only non british at the hotel , not very cosmopolitan..... The beach directly across from the hotel was very nice , beautiful water and water sports were also available, chairs were 8 euro for 2. Definantly not a beach for very young children, water became very deep quickly and off course young children cannot play for too long on the pebbled beach. Overall it is a good hotel probably the best in Skala, this was what we were told by some locals. Skala itself is packed with restaurants and bars catering very much for the British. The food we had was not very authentic. There is a great Italian restaurant though called Il Destino, not Greek but wonderful Italian food ,the spagetti marinara is a must! Skala itself was abit of a dissapointment, but if you were to stay there 9 Muses is the best choice.

  • Liked — Clean , roomy, private
  • Disliked — No bath tub
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2007

I stayed at the 9 Muses towards the end of july 2007 and it lived up to it's reputation of being the best on the island. The hotel is split into 9 separate blocks of four apartments, two on the ground floor and two on the first floor. They are joined together by small 'avenues' that stretch back from the pool. If you want a really quiet location I would ask for one of the blocks furthest from the pool as there is some noise that travels up at night from the bar adjacent to the pool. Also, if you want a 'child free' time I suggest you go at least two weeeks before school finishes as a umber of families had clearly taken their offpring out of school early whilst we were there. That said, if you want a family friendly environment, this place provides that as well, with very friendly staff. The Muses is located on the sea front and just far enough away from the road to ensure a quiet environment, whilst being near enough from the town centre to make a vehicle redundant. If you have mobility problems then whilst the hotel itself will present you with no problems, Scala itself is on a gradient and could cause some inconveneience. Would I return to the resort and the Muses? Without a doubt to both and emphatically so.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2007

This really is an excellent hotel. The hotel and staff get top marks for friendliness, efficency, cleanliness and location. The rooms, which are set out in small blocks making it feel like a little village, are very comfortable if a little economic. For example there is tea and coffee making facilities but no tea or coffee is provided. There is a fridge but there's nothing in it. There is a tv but it is very small with the usual limited channels. No pool towels are provided. It does have a decent hairdryer though. If you are late risers you might consider taking some ear plugs as in the morning it can be quite noisy.
My only gripe about this hotel is the breakfast. It truly was the worst I've ever had in a hotel let alone a supposed 4 star hotel. If you want an english breakfast you have to pay for it. Having said that don't let that put you off the restaurant which serves some really lovely food and again the staff are extremely pleasant.
I would recommend this hotel without hesitation to anyone.

  • Liked — Location. Friendliness. Cleanliness.
  • Disliked — Breakfast!
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2007

We stayed here for 2 weeks in May and had a wonderful time. The hotel was lovely and nothing was too much trouble for the staff there. We have a very lively and inquisitive toddler and this didn't faze them one bit. When we stayed it seemed to be a mix of retired and thirtysomething couples, with a few young children as the holiday went on. The location is great as everything is within walking distance (restaurants and shops), although be aware that the one cashpoint may not have any cash and the pharmacy seemed to have closed down when we were there. However, the majority of places take cards and the supermarkets are well stocked.
The hotel itself is spotless, it really is well looked after and the staff seem to work all hours. We had a family suite, which was really well equipped and comfortable. The pool and gardens are also lovely and the Vesta bar was great for lunch and snacks, as well as being very good value (remember to take your own towels for the pool though). There is a restaurant, but I don't think this was owned by the hotel itself. Breakfast is served here - fruit, muesli, yoghurt, etc. We prefer a light breakfast, so this was more than fine for us. It gets quite busy in the evening and has lovely views of the sea.
This is oneof the nicest hotels on the island and we definitely hope to return some time in the future.

Stayed May 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 9 Muses Hotel Skala Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 9 Muses Hotel Skala Beach

Address: Skala Beach, Skala 28082, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Skala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Skala
#3 Family Hotel in Skala
#5 Romantic Hotel in Skala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your 9 Muses Hotel Skala Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
9 Muses Hotel Skala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 9 Muses Hotel Skala Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.