We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect for a stress free relaxing holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 9 Muses Hotel Skala Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added 9 Muses Hotel Skala Beach to your Saves list
9 Muses Hotel Skala Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Skala Beach, Skala 28082, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Skala
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Walsall, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“perfect for a stress free relaxing holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

just returned from our second honeymoon trip,superb hotel,just like a little village complete with its own little chapel.Staff cannot do enough for you,immaculate kept gardens,spotless clean rooms and all public areas kept to a very high standard.We celebrated our silver wedding anniversary whilst we were,though we had not told anyone at the hotel about this.On the day of our anniversary we went out for the day on a trip around the island,on our return the maids had obviously noticed our cards we had opened and placed on the table because in the middle there was now a large vase of freshly cut beautiful arranged flowers.This sums up the hotel completely,always thinking of their guests,even the maids!
We have decided to return to the island again in the future and we will definately stay at the nine muses

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    72
    15
    4
    4
See reviews for
69
325
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

If your idea of a vacation is Going to the beach, having a meal and a drink and then going night night at 10:30 then this is the place for you. The seedy and creepy owner Angelos and his equally creepy brothers --Greek Americans not from Skala-- are so up their own fundaments and what is going on in other places around them that you just feel like you are in a really nice mausoleum instead of a Hotel/Restaurant. However, should you want to sleep beware the awful Greek nights that go on until 2:00am. I was horrified during one of these Greek nights that Angelos ordered the DJ to turn the speakers towards the Anassa complex and also went around after Anassa's music night to all of his guests asking if they were annoyed by the singer going on until 12:00.. The look we got when we said we had spent the evening at Anassa dancing to that singer was priceless..

There is no doubt that this is a pretty place and a lot of money has been spent on it and Angelos and his brothers never let you forget it with their terrible attitude and petty jealousy of other places, but it is sterile and boring and strictly for people who are many years past pensionable age or utter bores..

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

Its hard to sum up the best holiday you have ever had in a few sentences! I stayed at the 9 muses with my mum and sister for a week and we could have stayed for a month. From the pool, restaurant, room, bar, entertainment....it was all fautless. But what really makes this place special is the super friendly and caring staff who would do anything to make your stay perfect. A special metion must go to Christine who is a complete star! It was my mums birthday whilst we were there and she came in on her day off to help me decorate her room with banners and balloons! She is such a kind lady.

Im sure you can tell we love this place, we will definitely be back and can assure anyone that they will have a great holiday if they stay at the 9 muses.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedfordshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

this was my 3rd time to the island but 1st time in skala. We stayed at the nine muses and got married there ont he 23.06.2010. As we had not physically seen the hotel prior to arrival i was a bit nervous but must admit i was blown away with the beauty and relaxed atmosphere. The staff really were a* and customer service was above and beyond expectation. We cannot wait to return in the future for anniversarys Tam and Dan Tearle

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

Comfort, cleanliness, location, friendliness.... the list goes on! Perfectly placed for the beach (across the road); close enough to Skala's centre; quiet enough for complete relaxation, with lovely pool areas as well. Small and very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Can't recommend it highly enough for couples, especially.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2010

Just returned from a weeks stay at the 9 Muses. If are have booked to go here you are soooooo lucky. It's simply beautiful. Everything from the room, the service, the food, the people and the island just blew us away. Booked through First Choice and got what i can only describe as a bargain for the level of friendliness and service we received.

We chose to hire a car, 150 Euros for 4 days with fully incl insurance through the rep. The service was excellent, car delivered to hotel and picked up there also and there was a zero excess. Beware, the roads are bumpy and the local drivers love the centre of the road but the freedom and views you get are worth every penny.

Skala has many lovely and inexpensive restaurants and the Avra restaurant at the hotel is certainly worth a visit or two, especially as you're given a voucher for a free bottle of wine which wasn't half bad!

We will certainly be returning as will so many others we spoke to. It's a gem of a place.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carshalton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

An odd name for a hotel I thought when I was about to book a week here, but looking at the reviews it seemed this place could do no wrong and they can't all be from members of the owners family can they? As soon as we arrived I realised it was all true - the reviews that is - the reception staff were happy and looked as if they were genuinely pleased to see us and after a swift check in, our baggage was whisked away to our rooms by a porter in a golf cart. The accommodation is made up of separate houses in the style of an Italian / venetian village each with balconies and terraces and set within well tended gardens and little courtyards. There's even a small church to add to the village effect. The rooms are neat & tidy if a little compact but with a good size bathroom. There are two pools, the main one benefitting from a large bar which also serves snacks and backs onto the reception area and a smaller more private one on its own but also equipped with a bar. There are ample good quality sunbeds with parasols and shady areas if you don't like full sun. All are free to use by the hotel guests but don't put your towels out to reserve the beds before 9.00am otherwise they will be removed by the staff and left in the reception. The shingle beach is just across the road if you prefer and sun beds with parasols cost between 6 -8 euros per day.

The main restaurant is positioned at the front of the hotel and looks directly out to sea providing an enjoyable breakfast experience (we were only on a B&B basis) although it is also open to the public in the evening with a full a la carte menu and has a classy cocktail bar attached to it. Great for a drink or two on the way out or a nightcap later on.

The main area of Skala is around 150 metres or so from the hotel and is a pretty laid back affair with a several shops and a dozen or so restaurants and bars but surprisingly without anyone pestering you to come in with the promise of best food or drink etc.
Most seem to be family owned and as well as the more standard meal options, all served good traditional Greek food each offering their own take on ingredients and presentation which for one or two also translated into huge family size portions!

The staff at the 9 Muses (and I mean from the cleaners right up to the managers) were always friendly and cheerful and made us feel so welcome we really didn't want to leave.
This is quality 4* accommodation and perfect for a relaxed and undisturbed break.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 9 Muses Hotel Skala Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 9 Muses Hotel Skala Beach

Address: Skala Beach, Skala 28082, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Skala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Skala
#2 Luxury Hotel in Skala
#3 Family Hotel in Skala
#4 Romantic Hotel in Skala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — 9 Muses Hotel Skala Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your 9 Muses Hotel Skala Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
9 Muses Hotel Skala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 9 Muses Hotel Skala Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.