We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 9 Muses Hotel Skala Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added 9 Muses Hotel Skala Beach to your Saves list
9 Muses Hotel Skala Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Skala Beach, Skala 28082, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Skala
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2014

We stayed at 9 muses in june 2014 and have to say that we could not have had a nicer stay at this resort.The staff are very pleasant and helpfull especially athena!! who worked tirelessly . The hotel is very well maintained and clean to a very high standard and is ideal for a relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    72
    15
    4
    4
See reviews for
69
325
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
mansfield
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
202 helpful votes 202 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

Booked this hotel the day before flying paid around £770 for a suite for one week with breakfast included. Its about a one hour drive from the airport and this was second to last week before hotel closed for season so discounts were being given for food. All but three rooms in the hotel are booked through Thomsons but you can book flight only and a suite in high season is 160 euros, 130 mid-season and 110 low season b&b. The suite was two-storey, bottom level had shower & wc, separate sink, microwave, two hobs, full size fridge, kettle and all pots/pans, utensils, etc. There was a dining table & four chairs, large settee, coffee table & two chairs and an iron. There was a TVand also wardrobe & drawer space and a large balcony with table & two chairs.

Upstairs there was a kingsize bed, corner whirlpool bath with shower attachment, hairdryer, large wardrobe & drawers, desk & chair and a smaller balcony again with table & chairs. Every door & window in the suite had mosquito net covering (very good). There was a safe but it cost 18 euros per week. 5 sockets upstairs and 1 downstairs.

Breakfast was from 8am to 10.30 am buffet style with lots of choice and was good.

There are two pools, the larger main pool next to reception was very cold and deep - 1.3m to 1.6m. No pool towels provided. The hotel has a policy of no reserving of sunbeds but as someone else stated this does happen. Pool bar opens at 11am until late. Coffee 3 euro, cappucino & fresh orange juice 4 euros, cola/sprite 2 euros, large water 1.5 euros, red bull/corona 3.50 euros. Small beer 2.70 euros, Magners 6 euros. Food available - sandwiches 3.50 euros, tuna salad 5.50, chips 3 euros, ham & cheese toastie 3.50. They do a happy hour 6pm - 8pm. There is also a restaurant attached to the hotel for food at lunch and evenings.

Taxi rank about 100 yards from hotel. Mini-gold nearby. Lots and lots of places nearby to eat.

Sunbeds & umbrellas available on the beach at a cost of about 5 or 6 euros per day.

Wi-fi only available in reception area.

Staff at reception very helpful and open until midnight. Special mention to Maria. We borrowed an adaptor from reception during our stay. Money exchange available at reception similar price to in town at 1.25 euro to a pound but 2% exchange commission.

Rooms cleaned exellently daily. Lovely complex.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

This hotel did not disappoint. The rooms are set out in a villa style complex. Our room was spotless and cleaned thoroughly every day, it even had a decent sized balcony. The staff were helpful and friendly and the food for breakfast was varied and properly cooked. The pool area was clean and there was room for everyone, although the pool wasn't heated so was really very chilly.The beach is literally across the road and the sea was warm even though we stayed at the end of September/start of October. It was a short walk away from the bars and restaurants. We only stayed bed and breakfast but the evening meals looked very good. The restaurant bar was a great place to just relax and down a few excellent cocktails! Everything looks very well maintained and we will definitely be going back. A great place to stay on a beautifully scenic island.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back of the complex with no pool or beach view. But don't let that put you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

Just arrived back from a week bed and breakfast, we were not disappointed!

Even arriving at hotel late at night in the rain, the reception area was welcoming and gave a good feel about the standard of the hotel.

The room we were allocated was on the ground floor in a courtyard area. We had a lovely terrace to sit out on which had a sea view. The room was ample size with plenty of storage, extremely clean and well maintained. The beds were comfortable and the use of air conditioning allowed use to have a good comfortable nights sleep. The bathroom area was clean and had a good powerful shower that always had hot water, and for the first time ever in Greece we had a shower cubicle. The maid who cleaned our room did an amazing job, was very pleasant and efficient.

The outside areas were vibrant with flowers, well maintained giving a small village feel. These areas were also well lit at night. The small chapel half way up the complex is lovely and worth having a look at! The pool areas were very clean, comfortable sun beds and parasols always available, (only negative pool was a little cold for us, sea was warmer). The hotel is right across the road from the beach, beds and parasols available at a small charge.

The restaurant was lovely with sea views inside and outside seating. The food was very good and inexpensive along with the wine. Breakfast was provided in restaurant with good selection and time window served 8am til 10.30 am, so no need to rush down. There is a bar at the side of the restaurant which is a good place to hangout, Andrea who works at the bar always made you feel welcome. The other bar near the main pool was also great and we enjoyed a good night at the 80's disco on the last night joining the staff for some late night dancing.

The hotel is a short walk from the centre were there are restaurants, bars, supermarkets, bakery, and shops, the area was very quiet at the time we went.

The hotel has a really friendly atmosphere, we met some great people, but the holiday would not have been as good without the amazing job that the staff do. If you are thinking of visiting skala we would definitely recommend this hotel. We will hopefully be returning the 9 muses as we had a great holiday!

Room Tip: I think any room would be lovely, our preference would be a room with a balcony or terrace facing ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

Can not recommend this hotel enough...staff so friendly and helpful. Rooms were cleaned everyday. Food at the restaurant was lovely...big portions though definitely worth going half board. The hotel was so peaceful and only a short walk away from the main shops and bars/restaurants. Even got a lift in the golf buggy by one of the managers to our apartment block!
The hotel was recommended to me and I will definitely be recommending it...Kefalonia is so beautiful...will definitely return to this hotel and island again!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

My wife and I visited this hotel for a week's b & b in early October on the recommendation of our travel agent, our first visit to the island, and we weren't disappointed. The position of the hotel across the road from the beach, with superb views of the sea from the open fronted restaurant, were wonderful and the short stretch of road to the town centre was quiet. The rooms have all that's required, are set out in low level villa-style buildings, and the pools and bars beautiful. We took dinner at the hotel twice and found the food excellent, as was the service from all the staff. We would visit again and have no hesitation in recommending it. Our only gripe might be that towels for the pool and beach are not provided.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

The 9 Muses Hotel is a pretty picture of a hotel with two great bars, two great pools and a perfect beach side location.
The rooms are clean, spacious and comfortable and the staff always pleased to greet and serve you. A must if you love Kefalonia, Skala is a laid back resort with all amenities needed for the perfect beach holiday. Restaurants are plentiful and of high quality in the main.
A walk up to Old Skala to view the strait between Kefalonia and Zante is also something not to be missed.

Room Tip: High rooms in rear blocks are quiet and have great side views of sea and landscape. Also they are ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to 9 Muses Hotel Skala Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 9 Muses Hotel Skala Beach

Address: Skala Beach, Skala 28082, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Skala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Skala
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Skala
#3 Family Hotel in Skala
#4 Romantic Hotel in Skala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — 9 Muses Hotel Skala Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your 9 Muses Hotel Skala Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
9 Muses Hotel Skala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 9 Muses Hotel Skala Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.