We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely relaxing hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 9 Muses Hotel Skala Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added 9 Muses Hotel Skala Beach to your Saves list
9 Muses Hotel Skala Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Skala Beach, Skala 28082, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Skala
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lancashire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Stayed at the 9 Muses at the end of September. Heard good reports before we went and were not disappointed.
Rooms set out in blocks, ours was at the back, but was very peaceful and only a short walk to the pool and restaurant.
Breakfast good, plenty of croissants,pastries etc. Hot dishes available.
All staff very efficient and helpful,especially Athina who seemed to work all day,every day.
Amanda in the bar very chatty and welcoming,lovely bar for a post dinner drink.
Restaurant served very good food. We were only bed and breakfast but ate mostly in the hotel restaurant.
Enjoyed a trip round the island, choose the premier option, Anne our courier very informative and knowledgeable.
Skala fairly quiet,( it was almost the end of the season)
A lovely holiday. Kefalonia is beautiful.

Room Tip: All rooms comfortable. Windows have mesh fitted to keep out insects.!!!! Air conditioning very w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    72
    15
    4
    4
See reviews for
69
325
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Our first visit to Kefalonia and definitely not our last. The hotel exceeded all expectations as previously told to expect' basic but clean' accommodation in Greece. Can't speak highly enough of this amazing hotel with wonderful views from all angles. The cleanliness was impeccable, the layout of the hotel beautiful and the staff so very friendly. The ladies who cleaned our rooms were so friendly despite having limited English skills. The waiting staff were helpful and knowledgeable about the menu and wine choices and the barman -Manolis - a pleasure to know. We are already planning a return visit next year and hope to see some familiar faces.
We had little need of the services of the travel reps though were very pleasant on the occasions we interacted.
Skala itself is a lovely town with just enough of a mix to keep us all happy. All restaurants were excellent and we had good meals everywhere we ate.
If there is a negative point to speak of, it s the fact that sun beds can be reserved by the pools with the 'usual' towel and despite the management asking that this not be done before 9am ,the majority were reserved much earlier.
One last word has to go to a little 'star' called Harry - if you were there you know who he is - he's going to have a charmed life and was spoiled rotten by all who met him.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This is the first time that I have traveled to Kefalonia,and our first stay at the 9 Muses but not our last.The hotel has a lovely location over looking the most beautiful blue sea,the hotel is spotless,with everyone of the staff attending to our needs,the food was so good we ask to take the chef back home with us.The gardens were so beautiful and well looked after as were our rooms.We met some really nice people and had such an enjoyable time all credit must go to the staff and the owners who spend all their day walking around the complex making everything that little bit special ,Cant wait to return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We spent two weeks on this lovely island I would like to thank all the staff at the 9 muses for all there work the room we had was fantastic.Manos bar in the evening was great good banter great cocktails you must ask for his signature cocktail THE TOP BANNANA.We will visiting the island again soon and will stay here enough said.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

A first visit via a recommendation this hotel was far above any we have encountered in Greece thus far. Everywhere was well maintained including the delightful plants, pots and shrubs adding wonderful colours to the enchanting shades of blue of the sea and sky. Rooms were cleaned daily with fresh towels depicting different patterns left on the bed.Our room overlooked the sea and was near the upper small pool. Perfect for a very relaxing and quiet time. The staff in all areas of this place are very friendly with efficient service.The owner keeps an eye on operations and is prominent in all areas of the hotel. He is very amenable - welcoming and wishing us well as we left. We stayed half board and were pleased with the choice and quality of food. Breakfast is buffet style with plenty of choice- evening you can choose from the whole menu paying a little more if you want the most expensive dishes. There are amazing views across the beach and horizon.
The main resort shops and tavernas are a short walk away. Arranging boat and coach trips in town is easy via travel shops. It is a quiet and laid back place - certainly at the end of the season. If you want to unwind in one of the delights of the Greek Islands then come here.
We will return and know that a comfortable, clean and relaxing welcome awaits.

Room Tip: We stayed upstairs at the far edge in room numbers 300 onwards
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

First time to the 9 Muses which we chose for the good reviews and location and we weren't dissapointed.
Everywhere was clean & well maintained.
Staff freindly and helpful and we could always get a pool seat even tho some were reserved before 9am - against the rules.

The Thomson rep was on site alot and not pushy about the trips.
We has a ground floor patio which was roomy but the surrounding vegatation attracted mosquitoes which bit alot of people and I commented that we should have been warned about them!
Buffet breakfast excellent, restaurant was ok but there were better ones around.
'Greek night' a bit disapppointing with the audience doing most of the dancing and the dancers taking alot of fag breaks. Also it was just the ordinary menu. Good service at the pool bar.
Overall would recommend this hotel for couples who want a quite relaxing time (very few children). We saw the whole island which was beautiful, escpecially on Captain Vangelis boat trips from Skala beach.
Come on 9 Muses, how about some double beds as most of your clients are couples ?

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotinthesouth
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

First time to the 9 Muses.Like most people there we will return. From the minute you are met off your bus by the reception staff to the minute they are saying Good bye to you they could not have been more attentive. This goes for every single member of staff they were all delightful. The hotel is just across the road from a shingle beach. If you have beach shoes that you can swim in it might be an idea to pack them. The water was very clear and lovely to swim in. There is no need to leave the swimming pools though both have beds umbrellas and bars. Breakfast is buffet style in the delightful dining room overlooking the sea. We ate dinner in one night which was lovely as we were on B & B we wanted to go out each evening for dinner. There are plenty of places to choose from. We did have a cocktail at Mandys Avra Bar before we left the hotel for the evening. Not to be missed.Dont go here looking for wild nightlife and wall to wall entertainment but DO GO for a lovely peaceful holiday in gorgeous surroundings.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 9 Muses Hotel Skala Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 9 Muses Hotel Skala Beach

Address: Skala Beach, Skala 28082, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Skala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Skala
#2 Luxury Hotel in Skala
#3 Family Hotel in Skala
#4 Romantic Hotel in Skala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — 9 Muses Hotel Skala Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your 9 Muses Hotel Skala Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
9 Muses Hotel Skala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 9 Muses Hotel Skala Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.