We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bliss.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 9 Muses Hotel Skala Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added 9 Muses Hotel Skala Beach to your Saves list
9 Muses Hotel Skala Beach
Skala Beach, Skala 28082, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Skala
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Bliss.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stayed at the 9 Muses at the end of July. Fabulous week, complete relaxation with some great meals in Skala, we weren't disappointed anywhere. The hotel is quiet, and once we got to our rooms, the staff were friendly and welcoming. The only slightly sour note was the arrival. We were almost lined up by a very dour lady, who distributed keys, then almost marched us to our rooms. A short spell in charm school would not go amiss. Other than that, wonderful! Don't miss going to Yucca Bar for the Tamla and Soul nights, or Hollis if you like a bop.

Room Tip: We were right at the back near the small pool. It is slightly further to walk into town etc. but pea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    71
    15
    4
    4
See reviews for
69
324
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed here for a week over the august bank holiday weekend- it was a return visit as we had stayed here last year. Location is perfect for us- every where is clean and tidy staff all friendly. This hotel suits us as it is adult focused no screaming kids- bliss. Yes it is quiet but this is what i want from a holiday- if i wanted children, loud music and a pool full of inflatables i would go elsewhere-simple!
This venue gets my vote of 10 out of 10- grounds are beautiful location perfect ideal for a base to hire a car & travel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

The 9 Muses is a lovely hotel in beautiful surroundings with themed buildings, small walkways and secluded courtyards. Two pools, both with bars and the Avra restaurant at the front of the complex facing the sea. It's exceptionally clean and very well run. It's the only hotel where the tour coach reverses up the driveway to the entrance and your bags are at your room before you are.

The rooms are to a high standard, being of good size, with excellent beds, fridge, good storage, TV, hair dryer and aircon all included. Those near the main buildings can reach the free wifi too. The safe deposit boxes are an extra €36 for two weeks and you're charged automatically unless you take the key back within 48 hours of arrival.

The staff are excellent, from the cleaners to the restaurant staff, Amanda in the Avra bar and especially Athina and Manolis in the Vesta bar. My only negative observation would be that they employ a young English meet/ greet girl in the restaurant who spent her entire time entertaining her own family and friends rather than focusing on guests so I'm not too sure she's value for money!

Entertainment is reasonable - Hollis the (Meat Loaf look-alike) Rock Singer is very entertaining (although expect wedding disco, rather than AC/DC) and the Greek Night gets people dancing, although there's no actual live music or traditional costumes. Or traditional food or drink for that matter. So less 'Greek' and more 'Night' then, but fun all the same.

The place is popular for weddings as it has a pretty chapel. We witnessed one whilst we were here and it was lovely, with the reception being in the Avra restaurant. Be warned though - if there's a wedding when you stay, chances are most of the guests will be here too so the hotel will be taken over by these large groups. They can then be a little intimidating. Early September seems popular. Don't get me wrong I have no issue with this but the arrival of a group can completely change the atmosphere. If you want it peaceful and quiet, maybe see if you can check whether a wedding is due and whether the party is in the hotel as the chapel is used by non hotel guests too.

It's not a place for young families with small children really - the clientele seem to be, wedding parties aside, 50 year old+ couples returning for the n'th time which explains previous reviewer's comments around being on the Cocoon set. I have to agree with him in the main, though the arrival of a wedding party provides a bit of atmosphere.

The sunbed-reserving mentality remains strong with this 50+ age range so you'll see lots of sunbeds 'reserved' at 8am (the rules say not before 9am but rules are made to be broken) by towels, books, hats and knitting patterns. The occupants will arrive for a 30 minute spell during the day then disappear again. Best go to the beach instead which is 30 seconds away and has wifi and bar/food service from the hotel. Splendid.

Skala as a resort is wonderful and the number of high quality restaurants means that B&B is the only sensible option even though the Avra food is of a good standard. I'm not going to review the resort as there are plenty of other reviews doing that.

All in all an excellent hotel but make sure it fits your requirements. It's marketed as four star but I guess we all have different opinions on what four stars actually mean. If you want two weeks of free coffee making facilities, shower gel, and towels for poolside use you're going to be disappointed, but if you want a clean, pretty, well appointed and well run establishment then the 9 muses fits the bill.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Well now you can in the lovely resort of Skala. Beautiful location, superb village feel with many splended restauraunts. You get a real feel of Greece. That is until you return from the town and hit the coast road for the stroll back along the beach road to the 9 Muses (Gods waiting room).
All the way along the front strolling back, you pass the sounds of tacky Rat Pack Geriatrics howling to empty Garden bars and one man rock singers with backing tracks belting out well known ditties such as "photograph" by Ringo Star.
Then you get to Gods waiting room just in time for the "Greek Night" (about as Greek as a Melton Mowbray pork pie!
Not a Bauzouki, Lavta or Mandolin in sight. Just a laptop plugged through a PA.... Nice! Hey but at least its more Greek than the restaurant (or library should I say)
No splashing, diving, noise, inflatables, balls, fun in the pool.... You'll wake the dead!
Positives......
Lovely rooms, nice friendly staff, lovely pool and pool bar. The owner, who bares a remarkable resemblance to Chief Inspector Jacques Clouseau is a very friendly chap. Amanda works her socks off delivering excelent coctails and good conversation every night.
I Recomend the boat trip to Ithaca from the beach opposite.
Just a real shame about the whispering, quiet punters recovering from tripple fun bypasses.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Arrived home yesterday after a very relaxing two week holiday at 9 Muses. The hotel has a village feel because the rooms are located in a series of separate buildings set in fabulous gardens. I agree with all the positives explained in other reviews - location, cleanliness, comfort, breakfasts, and staff are all excellent. I had an accident whilst there and was confined to a wheelchair for the second week. The already excellent staff became super excellent! Nothing was too much trouble, for the staff - reception, bar, restaurant and Tamta our room cleaner were all brilliant, but I must say that if you are infirm this hotel is not easy - there are ramps as an alternative to steps in most places, but the hotel is on a steep hill, and you need a healthy person to push! Dr John is fantastic, if you are unfortunate enough to need his services, as was the Thomson rep Vikki who made a big effort to keep me amused while I was 'parked' in reception.There is no official disabled loo, but I was shown to the staff facilities on the level in reception which made life much easier. Not much to do for children or teenagers, but perfect for a quiet relaxing holiday for couples.A gym area for those who like to be a bit more active, and padded loungers in the 'top pool'area would be my two suggestins for improvement. I hope we will return next year

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floors have the best views, but do have a lot of steps. Ground floor rooms have lar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed at the 9 Muses between the 6th and 13th of August 2013. We booked a package using Thomson. After a long day of travelling with an angry and bored 1 year old, we were relieved to finally arrive at our hotel. We were greeted by the owner and some of the reception staff, who took our bags to our rooms and checked us in really quickly.

The location is fantastic, overlooking Skala Beach, whilst near enough to the town to walk in for dinner and nip to the supermarket.
Breakfasts at the hotel were great, a huge selection, and the Avra restaurant has a stunning sea-view, especially first thing in the morning.
The hotel was immaculate, every morning, there were gardeners and cleaners, preening the place to perfection, the staff really took pride in making sure that the hotel looked great.

The main pool seemed to have all the loungers taken by 9am (9am is the earliest you can 'reserve' a lounger), but we preferred the smaller, more private pool further up the hill.

The staff were incredibly accommodating, especially Maria at the pool bar, our son was besotted with her!

We would definitely visit the 9 Muses again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield Notts
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

My husband and I were going to visit this hotel last year but had to cancel due to family circumstances. Anyway we managed to grab a week here 8th-15th August booking about 6 weeks prior. And we are so glad we did!
It was lovely!!. We had a double room on the ground floor no106 and it was perfectly situated for our needs, just in between both pools with a lovely view of the little chapel on the site.
The bed was the most comfortable I have ever had on holiday it had a memory foam mattress and must of been 6ft square. The bedding was clean and soft and we had clean towels everyday and they were like new all fluffy, not like some I have had in 5* hotels that are like emery boards!!The cleaning lady is very pleasant and puts fresh flowers in our room that she got from the hotel grounds. The flowers here are beautiful and when the breeze is in the right direction the aromas are wonderful.
We stayed on a B&B basis and they were great, I am dairy intolerant so I'm limited to what I can eat so I usually had poached or scrambled eggs but there were cereals, cakes, Greek yoghurt ,nuts fruit, cheese, cakes, muffins ect...loads to suit everyone.
The restaurant on the front overlooking the sea was nice too. We had a couple of evening meals and lunch was good too.
Both bars on the site are good and its Happy Hour on cocktails between 6-8 in the evening.We always had a couple before heading into the village before our evening walk.
The weather was excellent and we have amazing tans and the sunbeds around the main pool are the best we have ever had ,so much so that Ive ordered two for ourselves for the garden and a good thing about this Hotel is the fact that no one can reserve sunbeds before 9am , not like some hotels we have stayed in where we had to take it in shifts to get up at 6.30 to get them.
The staff are absolutely wonderful ,so friendly and helpful and a credit to the hotel.
We absolutely loved this little hotel and have very fond memories of our time here and the wonderful people we met.
This is our first visit to Greece in 10 years- We have fallen in love with Greece again!!!

Room Tip: If staying for two weeks or more a high room would be best. But for a week anywhere will do. They a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to 9 Muses Hotel Skala Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 9 Muses Hotel Skala Beach

Address: Skala Beach, Skala 28082, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Skala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Skala
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Skala
#3 Family Hotel in Skala
#5 Romantic Hotel in Skala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your 9 Muses Hotel Skala Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
9 Muses Hotel Skala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 9 Muses Hotel Skala Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.