We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderbar” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 9 Muses Hotel Skala Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added 9 Muses Hotel Skala Beach to your Saves list
9 Muses Hotel Skala Beach
Skala Beach, Skala 28082, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Skala
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderbar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Everything has been said about this hotel, its truly fantastic. 6th time in Skala 1st time in the 9 Muses definitely best yet. Special praise to pool bar staff Athena and Manilos both exceptional, and the room cleaners who do an excellent job, Hope you enjoyed the red wine Manilos!
Oh there was one wedding party (mostly from Rothesay?) while we were there, and before any whinging, these folk were great fun and were only enjoying the bear necessities of life!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    72
    15
    4
    4
See reviews for
69
325
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Have stayed in scala before at lovely hotels but first time at 9Muses and must say this is the best. The complex itself is set out in small blocks and made to look like a small village with the prettiest flowers and walkways I have ever seen. We were with friends and we had two rooms at the back near the little church where weddings were held. (2while we were there) There was also a small quiet pool near us and a larger one nearby, never any trouble with sunbeds either! There's a very relaxed atmosphere, the rooms are spacious and spotless, the staff always cheerful and the food excellent. Breakfast had the most choice we've ever had in a Greek hotel and the two evening meals we ate in the hotel were very good. Manos the evening barman is a star, always so polite and serves excellent cocktails, he even went to the trouble of getting cake and sparklers at the last minute as a surprise for my friends birthday, thank you! Angelos the owner is always around and makes sure everything is as it should be, don't know when he sleeps, he laughed all week after we had a key incident very late one night and he popped up from nowhere and helped us out, but maybe that's enough of that!!!!!!!! The location is perfect just a short stroll from scala centre where there is a wide choice of bars and restaurants to suit all tastes. There are plenty of trips to go on locally especially by sea, we went on the snorkelling trip which was 20 Euros for a couple of hours and we saw turtles and loads of fish...bargain, we booked with Dolphin on the beach. To finish cannot fault this hotel and will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We were staying a different hotel but popped in to the 9 Muses because we plan to get married there next year. We were immediately impressed with the place & the atmosphere. We got some helpful details from Koula, the wedding co ordinator. We had a bar snack one day & were impressed with the bar staff who never stop ! - One night we also called in for a drink & got talking to another couple, had a couple of drinks & then Manos the bar man gave us a drink on the house !!! ... now THAT is customer service !!!! Cant wait to go back next year & get our marriage blessed outside the beautiful little Chapel ....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stalybridge
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Got back from 9 Muses a few days ago after an excellant two week stay and our first trip to Kefalonia.

We arrived by taxi, checked in and by the time we had walked to our room and closed the door we had already decided we would be returning.

The staff were more than helpfull especially Manos at the Avra Pool Bar, who always had a smile and was ready for a chat at anytime. He put us onto a great little bar hidden away in the rocks at Poros that we would probably have missed when we visited.

The Avra Restaurant is very modern but the buffet style breakfast was more than adequate with plenty of choice, in the evening the food and service were as good as anywhere else we ate and the prices were similar to those in the village. The pool is pleasant, but not being pool people we only skirted it on the way out or in. Our room was lovelly just slightly old world with a high wooden ceiling, the bed was real comfort, the bathroom was nice and the balcony overlooked the pool with a view out to sea. What we liked was the feeling of walking through a village with little alleyways meandering between the blocks of rooms, with flower beds and arches of flowers everywhere, finally taking you up to the chapel and smaller pool. The whole place is immaculate and the cleaning ladies arrange the towels so that when you come back to your roo, there is a nice picture or message waiting on the bed.

The walk into Skala village was very flat and took about ten minutes along the road. However it is fairly steep walking up to the village square which is very nice and the main street continues up the hill. The beach is very pebbly, but we bought some beach shoes and didnt find it a problem.

All in all we loved the hotel and the resort and will definately return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed at the 9 Muses from 28 May for 2 weeks and had a wonderful time. There is nothing we could fault with this hotel; accommodation, food, location, cleanliness and especially the staff who were always warm, welcoming and helpful. They really made a difference to our stay especially 40year old Manos at the Vesta Pool Bar, who makes the very best Mojitos on the island! What a lovely young man! Athena was also very attentive and couldn't do enough for us. We recommend hiring a car from Greekstones and seeing the island (Assos, Fiskardo and Sami are a must). We will be returning hopefully next year......

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whyteleafe
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Just arrived home after a blissful week at 9 Muses. We came here to celebrate our 25 th wedding anniversary with our 2 sons-22 and 23.
This is our first visit to this hotel but our 5th to Skala and this is by far the best hotel we have stayed in. The position is perfect, 5 minutes walk from the centre of Skala with all it's lovely restaurants and shops, and just over the road is the beach.
Our room was perfect, cleaned to perfection every day, fresh flowers picked from their gardens was a really beautiful touch. I have never slept in such comfy beds!
The Avra restaurant where we ate breakfast is excellent and we enjoyed sitting in the sun every morning with an excellent cup of coffee and some pastries looking out over the beach.
We are already planning to come back for our 26th wedding anniversary !

Room Tip: We stayed in 110 which was lovely. Back of the hotel so lovely and quiet. 2 balconies and a 2 minute...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portrush, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We have just returned from our 7th visit to the 9 Muses-booked again for next year.This is a little gem of a hotel-it is clean,friendly,fantastic staff and with a wonderful location.The fresh flowers are everywhere.Amanda and Manos in the bars were brilliant(although I miss Mickie).As I said we are voting with our feet-and money-and returning next year.On another point-all the restaurants are family owned and are all of a similar standard-so why eat in a restaurant overlooking the Main Street.We always ate at the restaurants overlooking the sea-Paspalais was our favourite but Evra and Akoukri(sic) were also great.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 9 Muses Hotel Skala Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 9 Muses Hotel Skala Beach

Address: Skala Beach, Skala 28082, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Skala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Skala
#3 Family Hotel in Skala
#5 Romantic Hotel in Skala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your 9 Muses Hotel Skala Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
9 Muses Hotel Skala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 9 Muses Hotel Skala Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.