We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simplicity with excellence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 9 Muses Hotel Skala Beach

Save Saved
You added 9 Muses Hotel Skala Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
9 Muses Hotel Skala Beach
Skala Beach, Skala 28082, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 25 hotels in Skala
Elstree, Herts.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Simplicity with excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2007

A hotel designed more like a village (also a chapel), gives the 9 Muses a really intimate feel. The simple things that make a holiday enjoyable are catered for. It has two pools, one at the front of the hotel and one at the back which we used. I must give a mention to Athina who served us drinks round the pool, she was such a friendly, lovely lady. The prices in the hotel for food and drinks were very reasonable. In an ideal location facing the beach and about a 10 minute walk to the town and restaurants. Our favourite was the Symposium, but as with all restaurants it depends on what you order. If you like after dinner drinks go to Captains House Hotel and sit on the soft white sofa's drinking punchy cocktails. Skala is a very relaxed resort on a pretty island.

  • Liked — Locdation, friendliness and cleanliness
  • Disliked — TV
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    318
    58
    11
    4
    4
See reviews for
56
280
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
South Devon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2007

Just returned from a lovely week on Kefalonia staying a the 9 Muses Hotel. Everything about the hotel was excellent from the check in where your bags were taken to your room for you to the finish of the hotel and the grounds.

Unlike other Greek hotels the bathroom was excellent, with proper walk in shower. We had a double room & staying B & B, with a sea view. The hotel is split into different blocks & there are some steps, but nothing unmangeable.

Air con was included - you did not have to pay locally. Towels were provided but for the room only & not for the pool.

Breakfast was served at the resturant at the front of the hotel (but not part of the hotel) over looking the sea. The only down side was that it was a simple breakfast of cereal, toast, ham, cheese, fruit, tea/coffee. The only hot thing was boiled eggs.

Even though the hotel was full it did not feel crowded at all. Would recommend for couples wanting a relaxing holiday, there was only 2 lively bars in the resort of Skala but lots of lovely places to eat & watch the world go by.

  • Liked — Our Room
  • Disliked — Having to go home
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2007

Nine Muses is wonderful. I could write the same as everyone else on the site, its a lovely hotel on a beautiful island.
The staff are all so friendly and as a travel agent I reccommend it to all my customers.
If you are going to Skala then dont stay anywhere else.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, staff, location!
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2007

The staff at the 9 Muses Hotel are exceptional - we had a lovely welcome with cases being sent directly to our room from the coach. The atmosphere is very relaxed with a friendly feel. Everywhere is clean and attractively set out with plants and flowers. There are two pool areas both kept very clean. The main pool is quite deep but the pool on the upper level is not so deep and is quieter. We were always able to get a sun bed whatever time of day.

Although the beach opposite the hotel looks lovely it shelved very quickly and it would be easy to get out of your depth very quickly. We went to Kameni Beach as recommended by the Rep and this was superb - sandy, shallow and lovely!! You could walk out for ages.

Our main criticism of our holiday would be the breakfast. Not of 4 star quality. Although there was fruit, toast and cereal you had to pay extra for anything cooked. Very little choice - disappointing.

Our only other slight criticism would be the charge for the safety deposit box of 18 euros for one week - non-refundable. Quite expensive really.

All the members of staff were so helpful - particularly Angel.

There are many good restaurants within easy walk of the hotel. We particularly liked Symposium. They had a very good pianist playing in a lovely atmosphere. Food was excellent. We also enjoyed The Pines and The Aeleos next to the hotel was also fairly good and you can get 10% discount if you stay at 9 Muses.

On the day of leaving our cases were taken from our room to the coach and then the owner and members of staff shook hands before we got on the coach!

Kefalonia was beautiful and we will definitely be back. We would recommend the 9 Muses to anyone.

  • Liked — Village atmosphere
  • Disliked — Breakfast!
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2007

The Nine Muses is the place to stay if you are looking for a place to relax and unwind. Having been to greece many times, we were very surprised at the high standard of accommodation. Yes, there are power showers in each room - a bonus for any greek bathroom!!! We stayed in room 304 and loved the view of the sea and mountains. The staff were exceptional. They could not do enough to help you - especially Athina in the smaller pool bar area. Whatever we wanted, she got!!! The owners have managed to provide the perfect balance for a truly wonderful stay. We loved the peace and quiet of the hotel.

We ate a number of time in their restaurant Aeolos and would recommend it to anyone going to Scala. In fact, we did not have a bad meal at all in the resort.

The beach in front of the hotel is lovely but we found it difficult to get in and out of the sea because of the deep slope of pebbles. Having said that, it didn't stop us because once you got in, it was bliss!!!

The staff at the hotel did an exceptional job in stopping the fires affecting the complex. As said previously, they worked all night to dampen down the flames and we were informed that all staff were on hand that night. You can see that this is a close team of staff and I think that is what makes the hotel so special.

Thanks to you all for a wonderful stay - we will certainly be back!

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2007

I am not one who would usually write a review about a holiday but this time i felt i had to make an exception.The 9 Muses Hotel in Scala was just wonderful, from the moment we arrived we were made to feel very special, Angel the owners daughter was superb she took care of everything, our cases were taken to our room by a golf buggy which was great we were on the top floor these are 2 storey buildings. I was thrilled our room was spotless and fresh flowers made the room smell heavenly, we requested a pool view it was better than that we had a view of the sea aswell. It had a spotless fridge and tea and coffee facilities ample wardrobe space and lots of hangers(most unusual) lots of drawer space too, sky tv a power shower plenty of hot water at all times. The balcony was very nice had a clothes airer very useful, we watched the sun go down with a bottle of local wine very cheap about 4 euros. The bar at the hotel was well stocked and inexpensive,and the staff were super, we found Scala to have everything we needed, great restaurants and for the best cocktail we tried the Captains Bar i reccommend the drink called English Man in Scala. The beach was very nice and the sea was stunning but it drops very quick. Part of the beach was for the hotel yellow umbrellas and very comfortable sunbeds for 6 euros all day, also a waiter to serve you drinks and food from the hotel just fab. If you fancy a stroll during the day there was a beach bar a short walk along the path to Pianos 2 bar for a lovely lunch breathtaking views and shade. At night the choice of restaurants was great, Galleria was our favourite and Scirocco,This hotel is excellent for couples, the pools were superb and clean, we arrived after the fires which had devastated the landscape and we saw a video of this the staff worked tirelessly to make sure this had not spolit any ones holiday a credit to Scala and its people. I would like to say a big thankyou to 9 muses because we had the best time. The only fault was the breakfast which was at the front of the Hotel Aerleous the waiters were lovely but the breakfast was basic if it had been varied more that would have been brill, however we went on a couple of trips that left early and they made us a lovely packed breakfast to take with us so thank you for that. Kafelonia is a stunning island and i reccommend the grand island tour it is a long day because you do have a few drop offs. But i have never felt so relaxed and rested in a long time. So thankyou First Choice and 9 muses hope to see you next year! Please Note:
I do feel this Hotel caters for couples young and old but not for young children so much although this is a plus side it was so peaceful, also i would like to add i saw the owner attending to the gardens every day they were stunning full of colour. It was spotless every where. But i would also like to add i am a mum of 3 who are all grown up had i took young children to Kafelonia i think they would have been bored after a few days this island caters for mature adults and honeymooners perfectly and i think this is what made it so special for us no noise late at night please note in Scal it is very low key if your looking for very late nights doing night clubs etc then Kafelonia is not for you it is a very tranquil island the perfect haven.

  • Liked — LOCATION
  • Disliked — NOTHING
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mid lands
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2007

what a fantastic place, the 9 muses was every thing we could ever of wish for and more, not only did 24 of us stay at the 9 muses but we got married in the chaple there ,the staff are the most helpful and friendiest ever nothing was to much trouble. we loved it so much as soon as we got home we booked for 6 weeks later,yes 6 weeks later!!! for 2 weeks still fantastic. just booking again
The whole place is spotless,loction is perfect,food in the bar and resturant out of this world,staff fantastic.
Reception staff 10/10.
It was our best holiday we have ever had ,will never go any where elsa
thank you 9 muses, mandy and mick

Stayed May 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to 9 Muses Hotel Skala Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 9 Muses Hotel Skala Beach

Address: Skala Beach, Skala 28082, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Skala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Skala
#3 Family Hotel in Skala
#4 Romantic Hotel in Skala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick and HostelWorld so you can book your 9 Muses Hotel Skala Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
9 Muses Hotel Skala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 9 Muses Hotel Skala Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.