We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SHAME ABOUT THE HILL” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zephyros Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Skala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Zephyros Hotel
Save
You added Zephyros Hotel to your Saves list
Skala 28 086, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Skala
Oldham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“SHAME ABOUT THE HILL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

just arrived back from a week at the zephyros lovely hotel very friendly and very clean linens spotless breakfast ok ran out freahs fruit after 4 days we had room 105 good views over pool and sea bath very small we very good company in the hotel so thanks to any one of any of you reading this special thanks to SARA---- JONATHAN for the a lovely day out we had a wonerful lunch the at the NEFELI--ANAIT over looking the most restauants where closed for the winter wee enjoyed all our meals at SCANDINVIA RESTAUANT on the main street in skala no local buses this time year to see best of island you need to hire a car the only draw back for me and my wife was the going down ok get a taxie back up KINGSLEY PAT MILLS (OLDHAM)

Room Tip: get a room in the block if you can alot bigger then older part rooms 200 up words
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    41
    14
    2
    2
See reviews for
26
120
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed here as a couple in late September 2012 and we had a great time. The weather was still very hot, but it was the end of season, so not as many tourists as you would normally expect.

The hotel was brilliant, the owners were very friendly and couldn't do enough to make sure you are comfortable and are having a good holiday. We ended up chatting to them most days and learnt a lot about Kefalonian history and people. They were also very helpful in recommending places to visit outside Skala. They have two very friendly and sweet dogs, who will keep out of your way if you don't want to be friends with them, but they would never refuse a stroke and tummy scratch.

The hotel's bar serves cold beer, cocktails, snacks, ice cream and a small selection of dishes for dinner. We have stayed for dinner once because we enjoyed the view of the moon over the water so much from the terrace of the bar, we just couldn't get up to leave to go to town. The food was nicely cooked and tasty. The selection of music is also excellent.

The rooms are clean and tidy, towels and sheets are changed regularly, and the room cleaned daily. Most rooms have great views from their balconies, either overlooking the sea or the equally gorgeous surroundings. The rooms have two single beds (pushed together for us), a desk and chair, a stand for your suitcase and the wardrobe, as well as an ensuite bathroom with a shower over a (small) bath. There is no tv (which was great) and no kettle. There is air conditioning (extra) as well as a safe (extra, at €10 a week). However, at the end of September, the evenings were cool enough to sleep comfortably with the window open, so we did not need the air conditioning.

The swimming pool was very inviting, clean and refreshingly cool. It was an infinity pool with spectacular views over the sea one way and the mountains the other. There are plenty of sun loungers either side of it and we ended up having a little afternoon swim every day after our return from the beach. There is also a small children's pool next to it, suitable for young ones, although there is no lifeguard on duty so parents have to supervise their children. When we went though, there were no kids around as they were back at school.

The hotel itself is about 15 minutes uphill walk from the village, however, unless you have mobility problems, it is well worth the trip for the amazing views from there.

Skala is a great place to base yourself when visiting Kefalonia. We hired a car from a local car hire (which was much better value than Thomas Cook's partners) and drove around the island, exploring Assos, Fiskardo, Myrtos beach, Melissani lake, Sami, Antisamos beach and the villages around. This island is so spectacular and so photogenic that anywhere you go, you will see breathtaking views, so it's worth having a look around. We found the local people incredibly friendly and helpful, and very hospitable people. We felt very welcome there. May they keep their habit of keeping their pint glasses in the freezer!

Room Tip: Choose a room higher up to take advantages of the fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We have just got back from a very enjoyable 2 weeks in this great little hotel. The rooms are a good size, they were kept very clean, changes of bedding every two days.
Voula and Andreas and their lovely daughters are such friendly people and nothing was to much trouble for them. Missing Pluto and Lilli the lovely dogs.
The sea views were wonderful and the pool and the pool area were spotless (the pool was cleaned every night). We will be going back very soon (the hill will not stop us!!!) A great holiday with some great people (Kath & Chris and Bernard & Irene). Weather was great and the food very enjoyable. Thanks Voula and Andreas for a lovely time.
Janet and Kevin

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OLDHAM
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I can only endorse what all the other reviews say-this is simply a wonderful place to say.
The hotel is spotlessly clean, comfortable and cosy.

The owners Andreas & Voula are such lovely friendly people. Nothing is too much trouble for them and they go out of their way to make sure that guests are well looked after.

Rooms are well appointed with modern furniture, comfortable beds & pillows and plenty of drawers & coat hangers.
We had room 208, on the second floor, with a side view, but could still see the sea.
Kettles are not provided as standard, but Andreas said that if guests wanted one they would happily loan one out-but we always take our own.
Rooms cleaned every day, towels changed every other day, sheets changed every 3 days.
Room facilities are fridge (free), air-conditioning 30 Euros per week , safe 10 Euros per week.

Breakfast consists of bread/toast, cheese, cold ham, fresh fruit, cereals, yoghurt, honey, tea & coffee. A cooked breakfast is available for a small supplement.

Pool is nice and clean with plenty of sun-loungers. Food is served from noon until 10pm and is of a very good quality.


Just a mention of the location of the hotel-it is at the top of a fairly steep hill-so people with severe mobility problems may find it a bit tough. However, it only takes about 10 minutes to walk down and about 15 to walk up. During the day, walking up is a little bit of hard work, but then you’ve got the rest of the day to flop around the pool! At night, although it is a little dark, with only a few street lamps, it doesn’t feel dangerous or threatening.
However, a taxi from the town centre only costs 4-5 Euros (well worth it!)

We went on 2 excursions, with “Panem” tours in the village and they are really good-especially the island tour by bus which includes Drogarati cave & Melissanai lake-not to be missed. The tour guide is a lovely lady called Esme, who is English, but has lived in Kefalonia for 20 years. She talked about everything on the island from its history, culture, food, flora & fauna, wildlife, weather, traditions etc. It was a fantastic day out-highly recommended.

We ate in the village most evenings, then headed back to the hotel for a drink. A lot of our fellow guests did the same and it was really nice to all sit together having a chat and a laugh with Andreas the owner. He really is a lovely guy.

Many of our fellow guests were people who had returned for the umpteenth stay and it is easy to understand why.

All in all-a lovely town, a great hotel, and fantastic hosts. Would we return? Definitely!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

I have just returned from a week at Zephyros hotel in Skala and can only say that it was fantastic!
Booked through Thomas Cook for one week on a B&B basis. Andreas and Vula were fantastic- really warm welcome and they really look after you when you're staying (even when I'd drunk a bit too much on last night!)
Hotel is in a beautiful location up a little hill with views over the bay and the luscious green scenery of Skala.
Always plenty of sun loungers and the pool and hotel area were maintained beautifully.
Maid service in rooms was top notch- every day room was freshened up and given a 'once over'.
Would recommend Greek sandwich at hotel for lunch- lovely and fresh and good value (compared to resort centre) and for a meal out the best place is down the hill turn left- the Paspalis. Lovely food, have the Mousaka and a Baklava for dessert- yum!
This place is not a 5* hotel but its not meant to be. It is a well priced, clean, comfortable hotel for a 'travel solo' get away (as I did) or a base to see the rest of the island I cannot recommend highly enough. Lovely atmosphere and lovely people- already thinking about when I can go back!

Thank you so much!

Ps weather was very good even this time of year- 31c daytime, 23c nighttime.
:)

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We enjoyed a lovely week at Hotel Zephyros. It's elevated position provides great sea views, but may not suit those who'll be put off by the short hike up the hill, which really isn't that bad. it helps to sober you up after a few drinks down in the resort!

The owners are very friendly and welcoming, so it feels like a real family-run place. Plus all the basics were there: good showers both hot and cold, comfortable beds, big, clean rooms.

I've knocked off a star only because the metal shutters which keep the heat out are pretty noisy, and the rooms aren't very well insulated from each other, so you can hear what's going on next door fairly clearly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shrewsbury
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Just returned from another break with Vula, and Andreas and the family at Zephyros, weather was a little mixed, but the hotel and welcome offered was again simply great, a clean tidy room, lovely food, and a stunning pool, all complimented by the way our hosts made us welcome again, oh and the lovely gogs, Plutu, and Lilly who were barking
Scala remains a lovely village with some great tavernas.
Will we return...Cant wait

Ian & Kim

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Zephyros Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zephyros Hotel

Address: Skala 28 086, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Skala
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Skala
#9 Romantic Hotel in Skala
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Zephyros Hotel Skala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zephyros Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.