We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, fabulous views, lovely staff.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Asteris Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Asteris Hotel to your Saves list
Asteris Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Skala 28082, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Skala
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great hotel, fabulous views, lovely staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Just returned from yet another fantastic week at the Asteris...3rd year in a row its that good... The staff are so friendly and accommodating...nothing is too much trouble. The food is fantastic... lots of homemade treats!! The rooms are clean, modern and spacious and the views from the huge balconies are outstanding...
The common areas are spotless as is the pool area... they even provide you with towels which you can just help yourself to and change each day if you wanted, although we're conscious of the environment so chose not to change them quite so regularly. We used to pop off to the beach each day for a few hours and the hotel even provides you with an umbrella to take with you to shade you from the sun.
The hotel is about 5km outside of Skala but the early evening walk is lovely, although alternatively the hotel has a courtesy bus or its only 6 Euros in a taxi. The location of the hotel perched up on the hill outside of Skala was one of the most appealing aspects for us - peace, tranquility and outstanding views.
Each member of staff deserves a personal mention for the fabulous job they do... Marita during the day and those fabulous Frappes; Makis later on for a little nightcap; Yiannis for his friendly smile and courteous ways: Sofia for the lovely food and cakes; and of course Costas for his cheeky charm and generosity. With the fear of having missed anyone out, I will just say that they all do a fantastic job... friendly, courteous, asset to the hotel.
Its a bit like being caught between the devil and the deep blue sea when writing a review on such an excellent place... you want other people to experience the hospitality of the Asteris and you want the hotel to be successful and busy yet you don't want it to be fully booked when you want to book again.... however it deserves its success so I don't really mind it being full.
Hopefully we will be holidaying in Kefalonia again in September .. Skala and the Asteris will definitely be our first choice.....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    23
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
18
59
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

one of the best places my husband and I have stayed at. Brilliant hotel, staff so attentive and always keen to help. Food also excellent, great views from the Hotel, good apartment very clean and tidy. quite a long walk from the centre of Skala but that seems to add to the charm of the place as it was very quite and relaxing. Would have no hesitation about booking there again. Thanks to everyone at the Hotel especially Marita.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I've just returned from a girlie holiday with my two friends to Skala. Having looked at Google maps, we thought the hotel was closer to the town centre and were initially disappointed to find that it's about 3 miles out of Skala centre. However, we found we thoroughly enjoyed walking the coastal road into town each day or evening and hopping in a reasonably priced taxi to get back! We also realised that if it had been in the centre, we would have missed out on the breathtaking views we were treated to at almost every angle! Our room and the poolside area looked out across the coast toward Skala, in the distance was Zante, to the left Greece and behind was Ithaca!

The room was basic and very spacious, although lacked storage a little for three girls! There were plenty of plug sockets, good facilities as it was a self-catered apartment: a hairdryer, kettle, microwave, crockery & cutlery, fridge etc. Towels for the bathroom and poolside were provided, although we only discovered the poolside towels on our last day! It would have been useful to have had blankets stored somewhere as the nights were cold and we forgot to ask for some. We had a problem with the shower but Yannis came immediately to fix it and it was a little difficult opening the bathroom windows as they required a pole which wasn't there but we found a way. A/C was available but at an extra charge per night. Otherwise a great room with a huge balcony overlooking the sea. There were plenty of sunbeds and parasols everyday.

The staff were incredible - nothing was too much trouble, they were extremely friendly and chatty if we wanted. Marita was always very accommodating and answered our many questions; Makis looked after us for the two evenings we chose to eat at the hotel (it was very quiet being low season) serving us food and cocktails, bringing us free cake to try always with a smile and quip! Yannis bid us a good evening with a smile every evening as we went on our evening outings! The owner was around regularly always with a smile and a coffee, playing with the resident cats and the cook (Sofia?) made delicious food.

Continental breakfast was available everyday (cooked items available at a small extra cost). It was very nice, particularly the mini croissants with home made jam or marmalade. We liked the peaches in juice but it might have been nice to have a change of fruit occasionally.

We had an excellent time and have all said we would gladly return to Asteris.

Room Tip: Ask for the self-catered apartments on the second floor on the ricky outcrop!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I have just returned from a week here. The place is lovely and we would highly recommend it. We intend to return next year. No complaints at all. Loved it. The breakfast is delicious with homemade jams and cakes. Tried several of Sofia's cakes as the staff simply brought you sampled without even asking. Lovely people

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

what a amazing week my husband and i had there this sept. It is in a beautiful situation on the hill overlooking the sea with zante over the other side..the accommodation was very good, apartment was on the corner with one of the best views, very clean, very spacious with kitchenette, with very helpful staff. It was so relaxing and quiet at this time as they closed for the winter the day we left, but we did enjoy 32 degrees all week and it was a couples dream at this time if you were wanting a chilled week together ..You do really need a car, it is a good 45min walk to town (skala) going down hill but a much harder walk back. Costas (the owner) does have a mini bus which goes into the town (skala) every night (except sunday) at 6pm and 8pm free of charge, you just need to get a taxi back approx 6 euros.. We went for a day trip one day to poros, sami, and upto fisckardo (fishing village) where we had a fabulous fish lunch and came back down to asos (stunning) and myrthos beach...(WOW) so glad we did that trip.. We paid for breakfast at the hotel, which for the money was excellent.. cereals, yog, fruit and jams... toast, hams, cheese, toms and hard boiled eggs with tea, coffee, juice etc but we eat out every night in skala... Our absolute favourite was the "scananavian" as the locals know it, the food was amazing... i can't tell you how much kefalonian meat pie i had there.. which you couldnt get at many of the restaurants, but we tried 5 diff dishes, and all were top dollar.. The captains bar is great for cocktails and music and "my way" bar is good for any of you sports fans for the tv. I really think you would struggle to complain about anything here... Costas and his staff are very good and we will definately be going back in 2013

Room Tip: book one with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BLACKPOOL
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

My husband and I visited this hotel in May 2012 and have just come back from a second visit there this year. That in itself says a lot about the place.
The room was excellent - decent size with a lovely big balcony overlooking the sea with table and chairs out there to take a glass of wine and admire the view.
The room was well equipped with air con (extra charge) a full bathroom - complete with a bath and also a shower curtain. Mini kitchen with enough crockery, cutlery and pans if you wanted to make an odd snack - or even a small meal in the room. A microwave was provided in the room too - great if you couldnt finish your meal and brought home a bit of left over greek food !
Breakfast was included in our booking and I have to say it was well worth paying the little bit extra for this. Plenty of choice including the ever popular cheese, ham, cereals, toast, fresh fruit
juices, teas and coffee - but also some nice touches like feta cheese, tomatoes and olives, also some lovely home made apricot jam.
You would probably benefit from having a car - but there is a bus service that the hotel runs down into Skala.
If you go down the main road into Skala you will pass the hotel Tesoro Blu - next door to this there is a place that sells wonderful cakes, pies chocolates - and my favourite - multiple flavours of ice cream. I would recommend the ice cream - cones or cups at one euro had to be one of the best bargains of the holiday. Seating area were you can sit facing the beach and just eat your ice cream and watch the world go by

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are wonderful as the hotel sits higher up on a hill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

could not fault the hotel for cleanliness, but found it was such a long way from the town or anything else, also although the staff were very pleasent i did feel a little put out after being there for 3 days and drinking in the eves there , when a german couple were given a bowl of crisps with their drinks, which we were then given too " so as you don't feel jealous" were the barman's words. also beware of ants they were all over the kitchen most of the time

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Asteris Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asteris Hotel

Address: Skala 28082, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Skala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Skala
#4 Luxury Hotel in Skala
#7 Romantic Hotel in Skala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Asteris Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Asteris Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asteris Hotel Cephalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Asteris Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.