We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel Ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anassa Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Skala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anassa Hotel
Save
You added Anassa Hotel to your Saves list
Skala 28082, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Skala
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best Hotel Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2010

Have just returned from our 3rd stay at this wonderful hotel.The staff cannot do enough for you.Rooms are lovely and clean, and food is very good. There are plenty of sunbeds and the pool is lovely (if a bit cold). A short walk brings you to the main street with a large selection of tavernas, we eat in a different one most nights, but our favourite was The Flying Horse(it poured with rain one night we were in there and the owner took us home in his car)George and Effie are rightly proud of their hotel and Hercules and his bar staff are second to none. We came home feeling like we had had a really relaxing holiday and have already booked for next year.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    28
    10
    6
    2
See reviews for
72
186
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
newcastle
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

This is the 1st time been to Skala looked at the Anassa on Trip Advisor and read great reports and was not dissapointed,, What a fab hotel.. Effi and her husband George are boht lovely people,, Hercules behing the bar is a fantastic host along with Clare and Alice, Rooms are clean and very comfortable, breakfast is buffet style and there is plenty of choice, pool area is clean and well maintained. Was made to feel really welcome by the regulars that go there and was very sad to leave. Will be booking for next year asap. What a jewel of a hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2010

Glad we stopped here as a lot of the other places we looked at were dead and nothing going on . I looked on Trip Advisor before we booked it as the general public are a pretty good judge and they were right . They had a barby on one night and a greek night on another - both a good laugh and plenty of drinks with the regulars who seem to go every year . The cocktails made by Claire and Hercules were the best - went to Sally's bar one night - what a joke ! may as well drink orange juice . Efi and George will teach you how to dance the greek way - another great night . After reading all the reviews on the restaurants I can say that we thought that Galera , Apostilis, Socrates and the Old Village were the best but I think by talking to everybody at the hotel it depends on the night you go and how busy they are - so all the reviews on restaurants I would take with a pinch of salt . The area is definitely for the 40+ gang as it doesn't make any effort to attract the younger end , which in a way is a good point as you don't bump into any drunks on the way home - well you wouldn't do even if you had been to Sally's bar and gone through the entire menu ! The Island is a great place to explore - need a car for 4 days if it is your first time as it was ours . Assos , Fiskardo , Sami , Katelios and Argostili - all worth a visit , easy driving , not much traffic at all .Tips - take plenty of cash - beer is dear 3 euros a pint , house wine is cheap 6 euros for a litre - decent stuff . Meals - depends where you go , all the menus are outside anyway . Had a great time here , will definetly go back . Depends whether you book with Thomsons or Thomas Cook concerning the type of room you get - seems Thomas Cook have the edge - extra room and flyscreens on the door - ours was okay (Thomsons ) good shower !

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2010

Just returned from another great holiday in Skala at the Anassa. Still the same lovely welcome from Efi and George. Rooms are good, with adequate kitchen facilities, as we eat out only needed it for breakfast. They are kept spotlessly clean and nothing is too much trouble. Hercules as usual ran his bar to perfection, his sister Alice is a little treasure. New addition Claire is a lovely girl very friendly and always smiling. Can't wait till next year to return.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2009

All the other reviews have said it this is a great place to stay Hercules and Lynda at the bar cant do enough for you Effie and george great hosts we will be back in 2010 cant wait

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

Just got back from the Anassa, what a place!!!! Had a superb relaxing week pity we couldn't have spent two weeks there. The location was excellant, right on the beachfront with the pool area overlooking the sea. The rooms were well apointed and spotlessly clean and the staff were really friendly and couldn't have been of more help.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
algra
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2009

We have just returned from a lovely holiday at the Anassa.
The hotel is in a beautiful location and although there is a road between it and the beach it is not very busy or noisy. You can walk into Skala in 5 mins.
You are met by the owners who after a complimentary drink take you to your room.
The room was big enough for the 3 of us and the beds very comfortable. I had e mailed ahead for extra pillows and as agreed they were there already,
Good bathroom with a powerful ( for Greece) shower. We were self catering , and although I had no intention of "catering" found the kitchenette area very restricting. There is a full sized fridge, toaster and kettle though. Rooms cleaned to a high standard and air conditioning effective.
Meals in the snack bar were very good, excellent service.
Bar is good and Hercules makes the best margarita !
The pool area is clean and well maintained and the view is spectacular. Good quality sunbeds and parasols, even in July there was no crowding and we always found a good spot. The gardens are lovingly tended and lovely to sit and enjoy drink.
The beach is pebble and the sea shelves quickly but very clean and good for snorkeling.
For anyone who dives Aquatic World are now operating out of a hotel (Apostolata) 5km or so outside of Skala - very good
We enjoyed Skala very much and also enjoyed exploring the Island and would recommend the resort and the hotel. The attention, love and care put in by the owners and staff shine through .

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anassa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anassa Hotel

Address: Skala 28082, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Skala
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Skala
#2 Family Hotel in Skala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Anassa Hotel Cephalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anassa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.